We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Stay In Costa Rica / Los Suenos Resort(Herradura)(Great Value!)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Suenos Resort Villas & Condos(Herradura)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Herradura(Herradura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Villas Majolana(Herradura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (2,439)
Filter reviews
2,439 results
Traveller rating
1,487
642
193
73
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,487
642
193
73
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courselos suenosswim up barcosta ricabreakfast buffetkids clubswiss travelpiko travelsan josezip liningbeautiful propertyamazing poolrented a carherradura beachla vistaall inclusive packagerainy season
Filter
Updating list...
1,431 - 1,436 of 2,439 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Went for a real vacation and it was. Amazing property on the west coast. Very friendly staff, locals, amazing grounds. We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this fine hotel. One observation is that it is quite elaborate, especially considering the surrounding community. We found ourselves longing to be with the locals so took cabs into town to truly enjoy the local flavor.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. If you want to take in the pool action, there are plenty of rooms that overlook the massive pool.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idahotraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I came to the Los Suenos Marriott after spending five days in the mountains in a small town called Atenas. I say this because our arrival at the Marriott, after living a truer Costa Rican lifestyle with local Costa Ricans, came with a bit of culture shock! Having said that, this is a fine American style luxury hotel complex and golf resort that is part of a larger planned residential community and marina called Los Suenos. It's located just outside of Jaco, a beach town that is fast becoming a Spring Break mecca right out of the pages of South Beach. The resort's staff is very very friendly and totally attentive to every need. The bars and restaurants are great and feature specials every night that are priced to make them hard to turn down. In particular, the Barbecue Night is a steal and the food is delicious. The adjacent marina, a short walk away, features a number of other restaurants to choose from while you're looking at the big white yachts!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We have stayed at many Marriott properties over the years but found this one to be somewhat disappointing and very expensive. Our room was two queens with a view of the tennis court (not what we requested) and should probably be put on the remodel list. While the grounds and pool area are beautiful, the customer service was only so-so. There aren't a lot of choices for accommodations in this area so I feel 'stuck' if we were ever to return. Requested an early check-in but they weren't able to accommodate and didn't do anything to make the wait more pleasant. Restaurants were expensive, but we expected that. There are only 4 restaurants at the marina, which is a beautiful 10 minute walk away, but not a lot of choices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

i have used trip advisor for years and felt compelled to share my experience.

Arrived @ 4:30pm and room wasn't ready. Anna at the front desk was super apologetic, walked us personally to the bar and comped our drinks. 10 minutes later our room was ready. Anna arranged for our bags to be brought straight up to the room. 10 minutes later we were lounging in the awesome pool.

Food was good. typical resort fare.

We highly recommend the Auto Mercado (grocery store) at the corner of hwy 34 and the turn off for Los Suenos. It is outstanding.

The beach is ok. Sand is super soft but the black sand makes the water look dirty.

The view of the Marina and the bay with an island in the middle is fantastic.

All in all great great great property.

ps. It is hot here. I mean really hot....90+ every day. Coming from Chicago it was a welcome change.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This is out second visit to Los Suenos Mariott the last visit being 6 years ago. We stayed for 6 days and overall it was an enjoyable visit. Like the title says the grounds are beautiful, and, the golf course is an amazing track. The rooms and decor are definitely showing their age and this property is in need of a rehab and I hope Mariott has that planned.

Breakfast was $50 and I'm glad we had that included in our room rate or I'd be very very unhappy about paying $50 for a buffet especially with the food quality that was served. Drinks are pricey as well. My wife and I do not have kids so it was rather annoying to go to the swim-up bar and find every seat taken by young kids.

We had a room on the fourth floor of the main building directly in front of the pool area so it was a very nice view and I recommend that if you have a choice. The beds are very comfortable and we had nice restful sleeps.

The staff is very very nice at every point along the way. Sometimes the front desk staff could be more helpful but overall the staff is very attentive and courteous.

High Speed internet access is very pricey her as well - I just don't get why resorts insist on that extra cost - I work in IT and providing that service is very cheap these days - they just use it as a revenue generator and Mariott is no different unfortunately.

The location is phenomenal and very close to the shopping and nightlife in Jaco if that is your thing and there are many excursions close by the resort.

In closing would we stay there again? Probably not until Mariott refurbs the rooms/common areas. On our next visit we will be staying at the Four Seasons Papagayo - little more money for a lot more luxury and I don't have to fight kids for a bar stool :) If you are looking for a couples/romantic property this isn't it - families far outnumber the couples.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the fourth floor in the main building if you have a choice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aztravelcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews