We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Los Suenos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at Los Suenos”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a very nice resort and the staff was great, especially Douglas the bellman and bar waiters Melvyn and Roman. The beach at the hotel is not really very nice, but pool area and adjacent restaurants/bar were great. We used Piko tours on the beach for multiple excursions including Manuel Antonio, monkey tour, canopy/zipline, and waterfall. Gerald and Piko were very friendly and helpful. They also got our private ride back to SJO for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana D, General Manager at Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your review of our resort. We are happy to know that you had a great time in our incredible pool and also that you visited all the local attractions nearby.
We will give your message to Melvin, Roman & Douglas!

We hope to see you soon.

Diana de Rojas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    584
    172
    68
    38
See reviews for
730
787
53
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family recently completed an 8 night stay at the Los Suenos Marriott. Let's get right to it-

PRO's

1. The swimming pool is the best we've ever had at a hotel. It's HUGE, with bridges to swim under and many nooks and crannies to explore. They put out a volleyball net everyday. The view from many of the lounges is right out onto the beautiful ocean.
2. The grounds are lush and beautiful and very well maintained. You'll see plenty of iguanas!
3. The hotel is impeccably clean from top to bottom.
4. The breakfast that was written about by so many did not disappoint. So many selections each day that you have something different each day. The dulce de leche filled swans were my daughter's favorite. Hector, the head chef of the breakfast and his staff - David, Gilberth, Christian, Warner, Mario, Gustavo & Irma are people who stood out as being friendly and helpful.
5. The customer facing hotel staff was great across the board. Friendly and helpful and always willing to help you enjoy your time there. Other names - Juan Carlos the bell supervisor was a friendly face that greeted us on our arrival, Andres at the pool bar was conversational and friendly and remembered my name after just one time at the pool bar. Katelyn was also great there!
6. Susana was amazing! I don't recall her exact title, but she is basically the Concierge at the hotel, with her desk next to front desk. She is so helpful and friendly.
7. Beautiful views from our room, high floor above the pool.

CONS

1. One reviewer described the hotel as High Priced Jail - and that came through with the prices at the restaurants. $19 for a Chicken Quesadilla? Plenty of restaurants in the town of Jaco, and a couple of options to walk to at the Marina.
2. As mentioned in previous reviews, the beach here is not appealing. It isn't developed, it's very rocky and not great for swimming. We didn't care, but if you are a beach person then you will have to go off resort for that.
3. If you don't rent a car or you don't get to know a local red taxi driver, you'll be forced to use the high priced 3rd party on-site travel service to get you places. After a few days we got to know a taxi driver and we used his service to get into Jaco. Just make sure to negotiate all of your prices upfront with the taxi drivers so there are no surprises.
4. After 5PM, you are required to get towels for the pool up at the front desk.

Also, if you are going to do any excursions I HIGHLY recommend PIKO TRAVEL - who you can find right across from the pool in front of the beach - which is technically public space. Piko & Gerald are great and will be able to help you get anywhere you want to go, at very good prices - the volcanoes, National Parks, Zip Lining, etc. The hotel will not endorse them, as they have a high priced 3rd party on-site travel service that they recommend.

Another piece of advice - if you are using the high priced 3rd party on-site travel service to get you to the hotel - do not let them talk you into stopping anywhere along the way - especially the crocodile bridge. Trust me.

All in all, this is a beautiful resort and the customer facing hotel staff was tremendous. These minor issues along with one larger issue, which has finally been resolved, kept me from giving it a 5 star.

Room Tip: High Floor - over pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CTNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
169 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent a weekend to attend a wedding celebration. The various events.....cocktail party, dinner, dancing and a Recovery Sunday by the pool bar and in the pool were done in typical Costa Rican style......with genuine warmth and smiles, professional service, delicious drinks and foods that featured local foods, especially from the sea.....the ceviche was great!!!! All in all, the staff made us very comfortable, answered all questions and never stopped smiling.

Room Tip: Our room faced the garden/front entrance to hotel, but there were views of the hills and lush tropic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdofMaineSoCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel has something for everyone and the setting is very peaceful and full of lovely views and incredible people. We enjoyed watching world cup soccer with the locals. Passionate sports fans and so polite when the team did not win.
If adventure is your thing then you came to the right spot. But if you like feeding iguanas and watching the local parrots arrive daily your ocean front room will make you very happy.
The excursions are endless. On my last visit I visited Poa volcano and was not disappointed with all the fun stops we made. You will be blown away!. Enjoy...see you all next year

Room Tip: Top floor over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abigalevanevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Tx
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

3 years ago my wife and I went to Costa Rica, stayed at this property for a week and had a very pleasant experience.

Please note we travel somewhat frequently and are Platinum members with Marriott (5 years) and Black (highest) with Omni/GHA.

Since the last stay went so well we thought we'd go back and bring some friends and family.

WHAT'S CHANGED?
Service was substandard from before our stay. Event staff would not return calls, we couldn't get coordination to hve small gifts awaiting out guests as a token of pur thanks for their company on the trip. When hving issues with the prior I called the GM's office and NEVER RECEIVED A RETURN CALL.

Check-in was pandemonium as the clerks were trying NOT to give the options (breakfast, $100 resort credit, free WiFi) that were included in the sandollar package which was purchased by everyone in the group.

When we arrived in our room, there were ANTS everywhere.

The casino is no longer open!

No more complimentary rides on the golf carts to take you to the Marina, restaurants and stores. Cart fees range from $55 - $155 per day.

As you may imagine, this will be the last time we stay at this hotel property.

And just like we told people how great it was and they received various visitors as a result, we will now explain how horrible the property was and I'm sure that will save others the type disappointment and frustration we have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingTexans14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana D, General Manager at Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear TravellingTexans14

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback.
We are very sorry for the inconvenient, we are happy to know that you did enjoy our delicious breakfast as well as your $100 resort credit.
As you mention our casino is know our social events room with beautiful views of Herradura Bay and our gardens are a perfect for a 5 min walk to the marina.
We are very sorry.
We hope to have you again with your friends.

Warm Regards
Diana de Rojas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

One of the finest resorts in the world by my account. Incredible views of Costa Rica mountains and beach. Just 10 minutes walk along the beach to some tremendous local restaurants. The wrap-around pool and the golf course are world class as well.

Room Tip: ask for a room with walk-out balcony, facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our teenaged boys loved this place, where we stayed at the end of an 8 day trip that took us first to Arenal and Monteverde. No question the hotel is lovely, but it could be anywhere in the US, and that's not what I want when traveling in Costa Rica. It was in close proximity to Manuel Antonio, which was a big bonus. And it allowed us to easily get to the airport on the day of our departure because the drive is so easy. The restaurant was a disappointment - VERY loud if you sit inside and the service was lacking. Glad we did it for the kids, but I doubt I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herradura
2.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
24.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.9 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Property: Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing