We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,nice,and a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CHC Galini Sea View
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Hafnarfjörður, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean,nice,and a good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I and my husband,and 2 children 10 and 14 years old. stayed for 10 nigths. It is sold as a 4 star hotel from the travel office we went with..And it is. We were very happy with the room 4103, the food was excellent ,,very nice salat and fruit and a lot to chosse from. The china restaurant was great but the Italian was very bad,That is the only thing about this hotel I was not happy with.
the was a fight about benches at the pool and over at the beach.But it cost only 2,5 euro to rent a bench at the beach. we had a very good days at the pool :)
The staff was very smile,helpful and polite.The hotel was very clean,the beds was good.
A very happy family after 10 nights in Kreta and we would want to stay for longer next time.
We sure will come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hrefna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Hrefna P.,

Thank you for your nice feedback. We are glad you shared your experience with other Trip Advisor readers.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and you will definitely visit us again. It is always a pleasure to receive such warm remarks.

Your comments will help us to improve our services and make your next stay even more special.

We hope to see you again for you next holiday in Chania.

Yours sincerely,

Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    208
    98
    76
    33
See reviews for
179
307
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had a good holiday at this hotel, the reception staff were both pleasant and always helpful, nothing being to much trouble. Theo in the lounge bar was a great guy always ready to smile, shame we could not change him from a Man Utd fan to a Man City fan. The restaurant again was very good with a great breakfast selection and various main meals with a great salad section as well as a varied selection of hot food to suit all tastes. The restaurant theme nights ( Italian and Chinese ) made a nice change with our favourite being the Chinese, but both were very good. A suggestion would be both could have done with extra staff. The rooms were checked and cleaned every day and the standard of cleanliness through the hotel was first class.
If we had to find a negative it would be that whilst the pool was very good and clean, the sunbeds were limited due to space around the poolside ,of course it would better for all if people stopped putting towels on the sunbeds before most people were awake, how sad are these people, the same applies the beach area where at seven thirty am, all Gallini beds were taken !!!!!!
Our other moan was that when hotels have a dress code that states that men must wear smart casual trousers when going in to the restaurant in the evening why don't they insist people wearing shorts abide by the rules.
All in all a great choice of hotel.
Lynne,Keith,Vicki&Brian Manchester.

Room Tip: All rooms were of the same standard 2108 was over the pool and overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Restaurant is the best. I have great time. Clean and comfortable are perfect. Food in restaurant are always fresh and delicious. Every day new have new meal and kitchen ( Greece, international, Turkic. )

Room Tip: rooms on the sea side are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Mina,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share with us and other travellers your latest experience at the Galini Sea View hotel.We really appreciate your positive words about our Restaurant and we are very glad that the food was to your complete satisfaction.
Thank you very much for this great recommendation and it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at our hotel, whenever your travel plans lead you back to Chania.In the meanwhile I remain with my best regards.

Noura Mouslek

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Went here I have been before no childrens entertainment had to walk to beach my mum had a towel taken from her room more entertainment for adults than children food rubbish not five star very dissapointed as was my four year old child

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara3156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We had the all inclusive deal.
The good things:
Very clean and comfortable rooms, very nice staff at the restaurants, a fantastic chinese restaurant, the food was one of the best I have tasted in a chinese restaurant.
The "not so good" things:
The internet is a scandal. The wifi was not working all the time and when it did, it was in a few squaremeters in the lobby that you could connect.
The various of food, which matters alot when you are all inclusive, were very poor. Same food every day for breakfast, for lunch and for dinner. The breakfast was best, but both the lunc and the dinner included a cheap and overcooked meet. They have 3 restaurants, but all inclusive includes only one time in other than the buffet restaurant.
The "sunbed's culture". To have a sunbed, which is included, was impossible if you didn't put your towel on one early in the morning although most part of the day, people did only use 1/3-2/3 of them. This is something that I have not seen in a 5 star hotel before.
The drinks in "all inclusive", specially the wines, were cheap and not good. In the beginning I was afraid that this was simply the quality of wine in Crete, but that is not so, they have very good wines.
The rooms. We had a room nr 4201 wich has a "parking view". The hair dryer was very bad.
Included in all inclusive, is a beach towels. To get it, you have to give 20 euro deposit which I think is not a 5 star. Also, when we complained about the wifi, they offered to fix it so we could connect in our room ...... For 50 euro deposit!
It is always so good when you get more than you expected, this was on the contrary. The hotel is mostly 4 star and not even so and all inclusive is a bad deal for the guest.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Katla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our second stay at Galini Sea View the first being in June 2012. Nothing much had changed: the rooms were decent enough but worn out with a ridiculously small flat-tv, the staff mostly friendly (they say the Greek are very fond of children - I didn't witness this once!), most of the equipment & aircon at the gym was still broken, most of the "animation" program (ie. water gym etc., all taken care of apparently by one single person) still annoying, the wi-fi still horrible. This is not a 5 star hotel by any standards. However if there's one thing worth 5 stars it has to be the food. Good variety, mostly tasty (fish is something they never seem to get right) and plenty to choose from. The desserts were amazing! We tried the Italian restaurant (basically the terrace of the pool bar) once and were not very impressed. Most of the times they had only one waiter or bartender working in the bars (by the pool and in the lobby), which meant you had to wait for 10 minutes to get a drink at worst. Not unusual in a regular pub, I know, but this is allegedly a 5 star hotel we're talking about. One reviewer already mentioned the bars offering various LIDL products as "Fanta" or "Coke" - I wonder what the Coca Cola Company would say about this?

The all inclusive -feature is mostly ok, you also get free drinks & snacks from the Galini Beach Hotel beach bar. Don't count on getting a free sun bed though - most of them are reserved by 9am (same goes for the pool at the Sea View, at least during our stay).

We will certainly go to Crete again, but most likely Agia Marina area nor Galini Sea View Hotel won't be our choices anymore. Been there, done that.

Room Tip: We booked a side sea view room which was actually facing the parking area and had an ok sea view. Wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaroldTheBarrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

To our amazement dinner was included as well as breakfast. There is a large pool with deck chairs. Every room has a sea view. Hotel is a five minute walk to beach and ample parking available.Staff very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Get room closer to the top of the hill an near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzastrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.4 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#8 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iolida Beach Hotel
Iolida Beach Hotel
#7 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel - Chania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHC Galini Sea View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHC Galini Sea View

Property: CHC Galini Sea View
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — CHC Galini Sea View 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With excellent views towards the endless beach of Agia Marina, the Agean sea and the beautiful Cretan landscape, guests find themselves in an idyllic natural setting. Add the heated swimming-pool, fitness center, sauna, steam bath and massage room with a la carte restaurants, bars and friendly atmosphere and you have a luxurious environment to match a perfect holiday. Contact our Web Marketing Expert, Kostas Papahatzis -“KostasP”- for help, great discounts on reservations and more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your CHC Galini Sea View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galini Sea View Hotel Agia Marina
Galini De Luxe Hotel
Galini De Luxe Chania
CHC Galini Sea View Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing