We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CHC Galini Sea View
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We went to this hotel with my boyfriend for a one-week holiday in June. We were recommended to go close to Chania city. The location is really very nice. It is close from beautiful beaches such as Elafonisi or Balos (you can reach them within max 1,5 hours by car), there are many typical Greek restaurants within walking distance from the hotel as well as small food stores.

As for the hotel itself, it is very clean, with a nice view on the sea, clean beach with beautiful sand (although it is not big enough for the hotel), nice staff, some basic animation program during the day such as water polo, salsa lessons, aqua aerobic, table-tennis and some mini disco for the kids.

The only thing we were kind of dissapointed by was the food. It is not bad but absolutely not good enough for a 5* hotel. The offer is ok but the taste of the food was sometimes really bad. For example pasta is not eatable - they simply dont know how to make it. I would also except bigger variety of fish and sea food and good meat. Also desserts were still the same and I really enjoyed just 2 kinds out of about 15 of them.
Drink: wine is terrible (maybe it is better to pay for a bottle of wine), beer is good, Cola is not real Coca-Cola but some cheap one (not that bad though), the same with Sprite and Fanta. I recommend to pay for the alcoholic coctails which are really nice and cost only 5 Euro (on the bar at the reception). The typical local alcohol they put in coctails included in all-inclusive are not very tasty. Original is original.

Overall satisfaction with the hotel: great place to spend a holiday at but is it definitely the best to have just the breakfast there and enjoy the rest of the food out of the hotel (in Agia Marina or Chania - 20mins by local bus which goes every 20mins)! Also it is worth hiring a car and going for a trip to discover this beautiful island.

Room Tip: If you dont get a room with sea view just ask for a change at the reception immediately the day of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tereza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Tereza B.,]

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are glad that you find our hotel to be a great place to spend your holiday!.
Moreover, we feel sorry that you are not satisfied with our food and desserts. However, I would like to assure you that we always offer our guests food of high quality and our biggest priority is to provide them with different choices every day.
I would like to thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    208
    97
    76
    33
See reviews for
179
306
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were transferred from the airport by A to B transfers in the dark and dropped in a small square. We were told our hotel was just over there on the right. What was ACTUALLY MEANT was we had to pull our suitcases up a long steep cobbled hill. Thank goodness it was night and cooler for it would have been impossible if it had been hot.
On arrival at our hotel we were told that all transfer buses were supposed to phone the hotel and a mini bus would be sent down to pick us up. There was few English people but all we spoke to were just dropped off by different companies and even very young people found the hill with luggage very difficult. Hotel arranged transport on return if asked.
Our large seaview suite below the Chinese resturant was excellent with a large wrap arround balcony. We could sit in sun or shade at all times. We would have liked loungers as there was certainly room instead we had just two upright metal chairs which were not very comfortable. We sat on the chairs with the spare bed pillows.
The rooms were very large with two sets of french doors however the bathroom was an awkward shape. We are not large people but the toilet was positioned opposite and so close to the washhand basin it was only possibe to sit sideways on the toilet and very difficult to reach the hairdryer.
Beware this hotel has very steep flights of marble steps. The resturant and main bar is near reception . However the main bar does not serve drinks before 6pm of any kind and the resturant is open set times. This means to have snacks or drinks any other time you have to go down approx 69 very steep slippery steps to pool bar or to swim in the pool In the heat or as some of the time we were there in the rain.
There is then further walking down to a lift which goes down a short distance and then you walk down a long slope, then walk between possibly staff slightly shabby houses, accross the road between buildings to good clean long beach
Do make sure you are on correct section for the hotel free lounges which very good and grassed parasoles. Flat sandy long beach with some rocks. We enjoyed long walks in both directions. Toilets at sister hotel behind beach bar.
The hotel will arrange transport down the hill near to the beach not sure how return works. EXCELLENT bartender and nice ladies enjoyed snacks could not face uphill struggle for lunch.
We always found something to enjoy in the resturant. MANY MANY THANKS TO NANA in the resturant. and her staff.
Enjoyed chinese resturant good view over the sea.
Enjoyed watching animation team fire juggling etc which was held on a roof terrace accross from our balcony. We waited to see a delayed show in main bar but it became very noisy and crowded we gave up.
We did find the steps difficult and planned our days CAREFULLY NO dashing back to our room for anything forgotten.
We did go on the tourist train trips they were very good. Possibly can book through hotel.
We do think that we would have been very worried had we had children that they might have fallen down the steps or walked straight into the unguarded swimming pool.
Staff very good, lovely views, good room, But definately would not return

Room Tip: Wherever you are you have to walk up steep steps Rooms above main reception area bar are noisy for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfwidowKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear GolfwidowKent,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
Your kind words on the restaurants, the rooms and the staff are much appreciated.
Moreover, regarding the hotel's location, I would like to inform you that it is clearly written that our hotel is located on a hill overlooking the town and seafront below.However, we provide to all of our guests our mini bus on their arrival at the hotel and also on their departure independently of which company they have arranged their transfer.
We truly look forward to welcoming you once again in Galini Sea View!

Yours sincerely,

Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This resort is very good for people of any age. I won't give 5 stars to that hotel, but 4 is absolutely for this. The staff is very friendly, always try to find a common language with clients. Rooms are clean. One problem that I faced was a broken conditioner in my room, but it was repaired at once. The beach is clean, there is a good bar. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, but not in all rooms (there were no Wi-Fi connection in my room). Animation team could be better. They did their job well, but not in time. We always needed to wait for the beginning. Anyway shows that they made were very interesting and good. I think that problem was in the place of animation. People wanted to spend time in the bar, but there were no bar near.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, the view from all rooms is very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalja945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Natalja94,

Thank you for taking time out to share with us your comments about your recent stay. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we will take your comments into consideration as we continually work to improve our services. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Regards

Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The Galini sea view resort is an excellent resort for relaxation and best summer holidays. The rooms are great and best with sea views. Dally cleaning of towels and linens. Huge selection of food. We are very happy..!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Αριστεα Μ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Aristea M.,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review from your visit to our hotel. We appreciate the comments on our cleanliness, rooms and food. Your feedback is very much appreciated!
We look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Regards
Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hafnarfjörður, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I and my husband,and 2 children 10 and 14 years old. stayed for 10 nigths. It is sold as a 4 star hotel from the travel office we went with..And it is. We were very happy with the room 4103, the food was excellent ,,very nice salat and fruit and a lot to chosse from. The china restaurant was great but the Italian was very bad,That is the only thing about this hotel I was not happy with.
the was a fight about benches at the pool and over at the beach.But it cost only 2,5 euro to rent a bench at the beach. we had a very good days at the pool :)
The staff was very smile,helpful and polite.The hotel was very clean,the beds was good.
A very happy family after 10 nights in Kreta and we would want to stay for longer next time.
We sure will come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hrefna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Hrefna P.,

Thank you for your nice feedback. We are glad you shared your experience with other Trip Advisor readers.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and you will definitely visit us again. It is always a pleasure to receive such warm remarks.

Your comments will help us to improve our services and make your next stay even more special.

We hope to see you again for you next holiday in Chania.

Yours sincerely,

Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had a good holiday at this hotel, the reception staff were both pleasant and always helpful, nothing being to much trouble. Theo in the lounge bar was a great guy always ready to smile, shame we could not change him from a Man Utd fan to a Man City fan. The restaurant again was very good with a great breakfast selection and various main meals with a great salad section as well as a varied selection of hot food to suit all tastes. The restaurant theme nights ( Italian and Chinese ) made a nice change with our favourite being the Chinese, but both were very good. A suggestion would be both could have done with extra staff. The rooms were checked and cleaned every day and the standard of cleanliness through the hotel was first class.
If we had to find a negative it would be that whilst the pool was very good and clean, the sunbeds were limited due to space around the poolside ,of course it would better for all if people stopped putting towels on the sunbeds before most people were awake, how sad are these people, the same applies the beach area where at seven thirty am, all Gallini beds were taken !!!!!!
Our other moan was that when hotels have a dress code that states that men must wear smart casual trousers when going in to the restaurant in the evening why don't they insist people wearing shorts abide by the rules.
All in all a great choice of hotel.
Lynne,Keith,Vicki&Brian Manchester.

Room Tip: All rooms were of the same standard 2108 was over the pool and overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Restaurant is the best. I have great time. Clean and comfortable are perfect. Food in restaurant are always fresh and delicious. Every day new have new meal and kitchen ( Greece, international, Turkic. )

Room Tip: rooms on the sea side are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Mina,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share with us and other travellers your latest experience at the Galini Sea View hotel.We really appreciate your positive words about our Restaurant and we are very glad that the food was to your complete satisfaction.
Thank you very much for this great recommendation and it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at our hotel, whenever your travel plans lead you back to Chania.In the meanwhile I remain with my best regards.

Noura Mouslek

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.4 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#8 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iolida Beach Hotel
Iolida Beach Hotel
#7 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel - Chania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHC Galini Sea View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHC Galini Sea View

Property: CHC Galini Sea View
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — CHC Galini Sea View 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With excellent views towards the endless beach of Agia Marina, the Agean sea and the beautiful Cretan landscape, guests find themselves in an idyllic natural setting. Add the heated swimming-pool, fitness center, sauna, steam bath and massage room with a la carte restaurants, bars and friendly atmosphere and you have a luxurious environment to match a perfect holiday. Contact our Web Marketing Expert, Kostas Papahatzis -“KostasP”- for help, great discounts on reservations and more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Bookgreece.com so you can book your CHC Galini Sea View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galini Sea View Hotel Agia Marina
Galini De Luxe Hotel
Galini De Luxe Chania
CHC Galini Sea View Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing