We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great week!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CHC Galini Sea View
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just got back after a great, sun filled week at the Galini Sea view. Where to start? We originally booked a a land view room and were pleasantly surprised when we got onto the balcony overlooking the pool and beautiful sea. We had two rooms, both were very clean and spacious. The food and drink was good, however at times got a bit 'Samesy', but there's nothing much they can do about that. The Chinese restaurant is a fantastic and is a must! The pool was extremely clean and the area was cleaned each night. The all inclusive was good. Beer was much better than in England!! Kristina behind the pool bar was so friendly and did as much as she could for us! Yes the sea is a short walk away, however if you use the lift down, it really isn't that far!! The beach was lovely, the sea was warm and clear and it was great that you could use the bar at the Galini beach hotel right on the beach! It's worth taking a trip to falassarna and balos for other fantastic beaches with crystal clear seas. Also worth taking a trip into Chania in the evening as it's fascinating and bustling. If nightlife is your thing then Platanios is only a five minute taxi journey away with buses running regularly. The only thing I could criticise would be the fact that the wifi isn't great, however who goes away to stay on their devices all day?! All in all a good 5* hotel! and would go back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Luke S,

Thank you very much for your nice review! We really appreciate your positive words about our Hotel and am very glad everything was to your complete satisfaction. It is our intention to make guests feel at home at our property and therefore we are always working on the quality of our rooms and our services.
Hopefully we will again have the chance to welcome you when you are back in Crete. I remain with my best regards.

Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    207
    97
    76
    33
See reviews for
179
304
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Let's begin with the good. Staff are very friendly and helpful apart from room issue. I will return to this. Hotel is clean...and that's about it. What didn't impress me? Well, despite the fact there's a nice beach, it's spoilt by the fact there's a walk to it. Fine going but when you come back there are a great deal of steps to negotiate. My wife found this problematic. We booked a junior suite side sea view and didn't get it. Original room was a family below the level of the swimming pool with no view. Manager less than helpful and we had to take a double room because what was offered as an alternative was worse. Other side of pool and clearly suffering from damp, Took matter up with travel agent and got response but clear hotel management are being economical with the truth. Believe me, I'm not letting it lie, Food poor in terms of variety and quality, although Chinese restaurant is excellent so book it if you are at this hotel. Very little entertainment and what there is amateurish and that is being kind. It was like watching a combination of real-life Chuckle Bros doing Play School. And don't get me started about sunbeds and towels. Avoid this hotel if you can, certainly nowhere near 5*, more like 3* at best. You will certainly get more bang for your buck elsewhere. Loved Crete itself and would definitely go back. But not within a mile of Galini. Still, we still ensured we had a decent holiday...by spending our day at the beach!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanmelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sanmelito,

Thank you very much for sharing with us and other travellers your latest experience here at the Galini Sea View Hotel. Feedback from our guests allows us to constantly improve our service. First of all, we feel glad that you were satisfied with the staff and we certainly we pass on your words to them.Thank you also for your excellent comments about our Chinese Restaurant! As per the entertainment, we provide a light animation during the day as it is written in our description. Regarding your disappointment on the food, I would like to point out that we only use high quality products for food.Our hotel always seeks to maintain the very highest standards of quality and service. Nonetheless you will hopefully take into consideration to visit us again soon.

Best Regards

Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I'll start with a few good points. The food is quite good if you do the half board. Things to know before booking. It is not on the beach. You need to use 3 elevators, 70 stairs and a long road to get to the beach. They take your money before you get to see your room as soon as you check in. It gets worse. If you book a sea view room or jr suite you may not get it when you arrive. Instead they may choose to give you a land view or a room in the basement that looks at an old car, weeds and some buildings. If you complain to the front desk, they will tell you forcefully that they don't deal with rooms and you need to speak to the manager. They will always say the manager is not there until tomorrow. He is there though and you can walk around the corner and knock on his door. He will explain that the hotel is overbooked and no rooms are available, but if you insist he will move you to another room that somehow appears. Then they will tell you you have a sea view room, but it looks at the solar panels of an energy plant, but you can turn your head just right and sea the sea over their roof and others. When we went to the lobby that night we found that two other couples had the exact same experience. One even got the cockroach room on the bottom floor for their kids. It seems to be standard practice. No apologies or compensation are offered. We had to settle in the end for a side sea view room which was pretty decent, but we had to pay the increased rate for the sea view room anyhow.

I gave it a terrible rating for service because of how they treat and cheat you with the rooms, but the kitchen staff are great and work hard.

The rooms are mostly in good shape, but the headboards are peeling.

Room Tip: Maybe a good bribe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank will w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mr. Will W,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share with us and other travellers your latest experience at the Galini Sea View Hotel.All guests’ comments, positive or negative, help us improve our services and offer our guests better quality. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it`s apparent in this case, we fell short.Nevertheless, we hope to have you back at Galini allowing us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you expect.

Best Regards
Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERE
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in middle July as a family. The first impressio was the worst. We have booked a maisonette and as we came at about 1400 hours we had to wait about 1 hour to get to our room,which is innapropriate for a 5 stars hotel.Finally we got to a room, which wasnt a maisonette. I immediately asked to see the booking manager, who told me that there werent any free maisonetes, and when i asked him if he cheated us, ironicaly he tokd me, yes i did, so what?. I immediately called my booking agent who was more than impressive how he tried to help us. One of our agents office communicate to this hotel booking manager and suprisingly the next day we were in the maisonette which we had booked. I forgot to mention that the suite in which they putted us the first night, although it was big with 2 bedroom, was terribly noisy as it was under the dinning room, so we didnt manage to sleep all night and we gad our little girl with feaver..
Anyway, shame to this manager for his begaviour. As i am in the midfle of my MBA, i dont recall anywhere to mention in the books i read or from the teachers i listen, that a mabager must behave in such rude, egoist and appropriate way to guests.
Lets go back to the hotel. It is very big and overcrowed. The pool is small for so many people. The food is very tastegull and i have to give my compliments to the chef. The food variety is quite satisfactory, for a 5 stars hotel. I continue to mention that the hotel is 5 stars because this is what you pay for. The maudonette was not like the picture on the hotels site, but i liked it very much and i saw some wonderful sunrises abs sunsets from my balcony. The bath had a hydromassage chamber, which in the first suite we were been putted was fully functional, but in the maisonette gad some function problem, which were mostly trivial.
The whole hotel facilities were in very good shape and everything ,in general, was ok.
The personell was very polite, with a smile akways abd ready to serve you. They all were great!Congrats to everybody from the personell. The hotel has a breathtaking view to the gulf and is built in a amphithetric spot, which majes it even better.It is not a hotel for people with cinetic dissabilities, because has many steps for anything you wish to do.
The hotel is about 3-4 hundred neters from the seaside and 8 kilometers from Chania. There is a doctor nearby and many restaurants and mini marjets, although the all inclusive program is suficient enough i guess. The animation team, was not tgere. There is no animation team, at least there us not one i noticed, so this is a paragon for not staying at tge hotel at night.
Generally a good five stars hotel, with great personel in a great spot with rude booking "manager".
We had a great time after the second day. I recomend it, but be aware not to have the sane troubke i had.

Room Tip: If is possible choose a room with a sea view. You wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very nice, the "all in" was really good. The food was various and quiet good. The swiming pool was cleaned everyday. The animation team and all the staff were very friendly. Just 2 small remarks: the room was a little bit "old" for a 5 stars hôtel and the white wine was too hot to the restaurant :-) i would come back whith pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Olivier,

Thank you for sharing your nice review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards

Noura Mouslek

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel was a massive disappointment. It is not a 5 star hotel! I don’t even know where to begin. To start with – our room. We booked a sea view room and were astonished to find out that all we could see from the balcony were roofs of other buildings. The sea was only partially visible from the corner of the balcony. We requested a change of the room and were allocated a room with a sea view however the room was located above the car park so the view was not as pretty as we expected. Another big disappointment was the food. We are not fussy but what we found was very depressive. Pork and lamb chops were server every single day, some fish, pasta, and some vegetables all soaked in 2cm of oil. All the salads were warm and not fresh as they were kept on the counter which was not cooled. The cucumebrs were cut 3 cm thick ( I suspect to keep them alive for a longer).There were 2 restaurants in the hotel (Italian and Chinese) after visiting the Italian one we did not even bother with the Chinese one. The portions were small and not tasty, I ordered a Tiramisu for a dessert expecting a cake and received a chocolate muss instead. There were only few tables booked and still waited more than 25mins for our first meal to arrive.
There was no enough sun beds by both the pool and on the beach. We were shocked to see them all booked by 7am. People were getting up at 6am to leave a towel on sun beds to ensure they have a spot for the rest of the day. Also, we booked a hotel hoping to have some kind of animation provided. All that was offered by Gallini was a one person “team” organising water polo and aqua gym during the day and he was also singing in the afternoon. To be fair there was a “Miss Galini” night but that’s still not a 5 star entertainment one could expect. There was a Cretan Night but we had to pay 10 EUR per person, only to see 4 people pretending they are dancing a traditional Cretan Dances. The two guys playing on the instruments were wearing T-shirts, jeans and trainers- not very traditional outfits. We were told there would be tradional Cretan Food served, and all we received were 4 canapes which were dried out and hard as a stone and the same wine that was served in the main restaurant. Not very well spent EUR 20…
Also, we booked a trip to the Elafonissi beach from the hotel. We were told it would take a 1.5 hr to get there. Well, it took 3 hrs as it was not a point to point trip. We were taken for a mountain ride were stopped in 2 “restaurants”. We’ve later learned the both the owners were friends with the driver and he was getting a commission to stop there. Same thing happened on our way back. We were hoping to spend a whole day on the Elafonissi beach, instead we spent 6 hours in the coach and 3 hours on the beach. Again, a very misleading “trip” not very well explained by the hotel staff who sold us the trip.
On the positive side, I have to say that the hotel was very clean, rooms cleaned every day, towels changed on a daily basis. The rooms were decorated in a modern style and they were in a good condition as on the pictures. The staff were really friendly and helpful. But that’s it. We did have a great holiday in the end but we would not go back to that hotel not recommend it to anyone who is looking for a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Agnieszka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We went to this hotel with my boyfriend for a one-week holiday in June. We were recommended to go close to Chania city. The location is really very nice. It is close from beautiful beaches such as Elafonisi or Balos (you can reach them within max 1,5 hours by car), there are many typical Greek restaurants within walking distance from the hotel as well as small food stores.

As for the hotel itself, it is very clean, with a nice view on the sea, clean beach with beautiful sand (although it is not big enough for the hotel), nice staff, some basic animation program during the day such as water polo, salsa lessons, aqua aerobic, table-tennis and some mini disco for the kids.

The only thing we were kind of dissapointed by was the food. It is not bad but absolutely not good enough for a 5* hotel. The offer is ok but the taste of the food was sometimes really bad. For example pasta is not eatable - they simply dont know how to make it. I would also except bigger variety of fish and sea food and good meat. Also desserts were still the same and I really enjoyed just 2 kinds out of about 15 of them.
Drink: wine is terrible (maybe it is better to pay for a bottle of wine), beer is good, Cola is not real Coca-Cola but some cheap one (not that bad though), the same with Sprite and Fanta. I recommend to pay for the alcoholic coctails which are really nice and cost only 5 Euro (on the bar at the reception). The typical local alcohol they put in coctails included in all-inclusive are not very tasty. Original is original.

Overall satisfaction with the hotel: great place to spend a holiday at but is it definitely the best to have just the breakfast there and enjoy the rest of the food out of the hotel (in Agia Marina or Chania - 20mins by local bus which goes every 20mins)! Also it is worth hiring a car and going for a trip to discover this beautiful island.

Room Tip: If you dont get a room with sea view just ask for a change at the reception immediately the day of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tereza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Tereza B.,]

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are glad that you find our hotel to be a great place to spend your holiday!.
Moreover, we feel sorry that you are not satisfied with our food and desserts. However, I would like to assure you that we always offer our guests food of high quality and our biggest priority is to provide them with different choices every day.
I would like to thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.4 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#8 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iolida Beach Hotel
Iolida Beach Hotel
#7 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel - Chania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHC Galini Sea View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHC Galini Sea View

Property: CHC Galini Sea View
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — CHC Galini Sea View 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With excellent views towards the endless beach of Agia Marina, the Agean sea and the beautiful Cretan landscape, guests find themselves in an idyllic natural setting. Add the heated swimming-pool, fitness center, sauna, steam bath and massage room with a la carte restaurants, bars and friendly atmosphere and you have a luxurious environment to match a perfect holiday. Contact our Web Marketing Expert, Kostas Papahatzis -“KostasP”- for help, great discounts on reservations and more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your CHC Galini Sea View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galini Sea View Hotel Agia Marina
Galini De Luxe Hotel
Galini De Luxe Chania
CHC Galini Sea View Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing