We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel with 1 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CHC Galini Sea View
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“5 star hotel with 1 star service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A "5 star" hotel missing the appropriate service in every aspect!
Not only is the staff incapable of smiling, the restaurant staff in particular is everything but well trained (or trained at all). During lunch and dinner times one has the choice: either the empty plate is being ripped off the table, without a word or smile from the waiter, the second you have finished your last bite or the waitresses are so apathetic that you even have to get your own glasses, water bottle and cutlery to be able to start eating.
We stayed in a family room - the wardrobes are showing heavy signs of usage. The sliding wardrobe doors hardly open (or only with lots of force - not very easy to open for our six year old girl) and the wood is heavily chipped. The beds headboard was so badly ripped that it was replaced half way through our stay.
The shower unit is a fancy multi-choice experience shower system with more selections of water spray than you can imagine, but it too shows all signs of heavy wear. Because of this complex system, don't expect any repair of any broken shower anytime soon. So in our case, only 30% of the shower nozzles were actually working - making showering an experience of a different kind. Who cares if that thing has lights and a radio (and yes, it DOES) - all I wanted is a plain good shower after a day at the beach to wash off the salt water and sand. However the thick grime and limestone around the shower, the blocked shower drain and the shower doors that don't close properly (leaving the bathroom flooded every time you take a shower) do nothing to make you feel fresh and clean again.
So off to a good night sleep - one might hope. I do like it a bit fresher during the night. So the aircon is a welcome piece of equipment to be found in the room. However it has only two modi operandi: On or Off. Leaving the room either freezing cold at 18C or warming up to 26C. However I could change the fan speed and after a few nights of testing (I did have enough time to do so, as to why, you will read that a bit later), I managed to find the right sequence of fan speed settings (which had to be done manually of course) throughout the night to have a balanced 21C (and yes, I AM proud of that!). But a good night sleep not only requires the right temperature, the right lighting - or better, the right lack of light also counts for a lot. Curtains are the solution to that under normal circumstances. Not so ate this hotel. The curtains are badly damaged. Not hanging properly in the railings and closing them is a bit of a fight. One might say that non-closing curtains shouldn't be such a problem as it is night and dark outside - if it wasn't for the balcony lights that are switched on/off centrally and cant be controlled from your room. After all - the hotel should look good and well lit, rather than giving its guest a good night sleep. But then a good night sleep wasn't anyhow possible. Did I mention that we stayed in a FAMILY room? One could assume that this usually involves a certain number of children occupying this room together with their parents. Well, in our case there were two of them. So assuming that these rooms might be located in an area where it is usually quiet (after all, kids do need their sleep), might not be the wrongest thing to do.
Well, guess what! Wrong assumption! Our room (and the other "Family rooms") are located right above the lobby area, which is ... right next to the lobby bar, which is .... where the nightly discotheque is being held. So imaging the surprise of being able to enjoy the heavy beats and bass together with your two little kids until the early hours right from the comfort of your beds. We even once had the pleasure (after a yet again heavy night of disco action) to be woken up at 8:00 by the lawn mower - who would want to sleep on a holiday anyways??
Talking of kids: On its website the hotel boasts its child friendliness. MiniClub (where kids are being supervised by professional, trained staff) is being offered daily from 10:00~19:00. Well, not quite. We first had a hard time finding what was supposed to be the "MiniClub". Hidden away next to the gym was a room with filthy carpets and worn out toys. The hotel was grateful enough to open this room from 10:30-11:30. However this was unsupervised and parents and kids walked in there in their shoes (adding to to filthiness of the carpets), whilst small kids were crawling on these carpets. Not only seems to be there a mismatch of information stated on the hotel´s own website and the situation on-site, throughout the hotel were flyers with MiniClub information stating yet again different opening times. When we addressed this information mismatch with the reception staff, we were told that the person doing their website didn't know what a MiniClub was and therefore the information on the website is wrong. So when we the told them about the flyers hanging in the hotel stating again different times, the receptionist was a bit lost for words. In the end and after asking to see the General Manager they organized a girl from the restaurant to supervise the kids from 11:00-14:00 - so much to well trained staff looking after your children, one would expect from a 5 star hotel.
And by the way ... we never managed to speak to the General Manager as it seams he is a very busy man and spending lots of time in the other hotels he is managing.
I am not much of an animation fan - I do prefer my peace at the pool instead of being forced to watergym or darts. But the animation team in this hotel is worth being mentioned here. If you DO look for animation during your holiday - look ELSEWHERE.
The team - well a duo in fact - was lead by a narcissistic guy resembling Sideshow Bob (from the Simpsons). Not only was he incapable of animating the guests, he didn´t even show any interest in doing so. His little helper (who only joined the animation duo 2 weeks earlier), was doing all the work from carrying the sound equipment around, to setting up the evening shows and drumming up the audiences. All whilst Sideshow Bob was Whatsup-ing with the female guests and arranging dates for the evening (I had the "pleasure" of sitting next to him during dinner and being able to follow some of these conversations - multiple at the same time I must add!)
I must add that the time of writing this (it is midnight at the hotel - but thanks to the disco, the whole family room is wide awake) our holiday still has another 3 days to go. So, dear Mr General Manager, should you despite your busy workschedule manage to read this review within the next three days, we are still waiting to have an appointment with you, as we would love to give you the opportunity to comment on some of these points.
All there is left for me to hope for, is to be able to upload this review before the internet connection is dropping out again (an unstable WiFi is to be expected - but I am using a cable connection on my laptop which is anything but stable).

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the lobby area (and lobby bar) as possible for a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Al_Tsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    229
    108
    82
    36
See reviews for
199
374
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Ok so most of the reviews give out negative points of this hotel . Some of which are true. It is not a 5 star . But please remember this is Greece. Yes we were given the wrong room, but this was soon rectified.
The food in the restaurant is good plenty of choice, especially breakfast, we did not have lunch so I cant comment. Chinese restaurant was excellent, do try and go although you have to book in advance. Keep away from the Italian it was not good, my husband dis not like his starter of crepes far too dry with no sauce, my seafood spaghetti was lovely, main courses were bad so we just left everything. Food in the restaurant for dinner was good lots of greek and Cretan food to choose from, isnt this why you come on holiday to try the local food!!! Wine was warm, hey ho just ask for ice problem sorted.
Our room was good double level with plenty of space, good view of the pool and the most amazing sun rise. we were in room 4105 on the 3rd floor.
The roof top is a great place to catch the last of the evening sun and a perfect sunset,.
Yes there are lifts and stairs but honestly they are not a problem. The hotel is on a hill for god sake!!!! How are you to get about.
Sister hotel on the beach is good, good range of snacks and cold cold beer, with a nice pool and we never had a problem getting a sunbed even in the afternoon, anyway it was so hot we spent most of the day in the beautiful sea.
Entertainment was rubbish, and the animation team dont even speak to you, although he did play some Bob Marley for me when i asked him.
Pool area is far too small for the amount of sunbeds. be careful when walking to the pool bar as it is full of water from the overspill from the pool.
As it was our anniversary we were out for most if the day, we went to Balos, which was very beautiful,also the little fun train was great, we did two trips , seven villages, and western adventure, well worth going,also we went on a sunset cruise from Chania harbour, it was the evening of our anniversary and we had the boat to ourselves, the captain and his ship hand made it a very unforgetable and romantic trip.
Please if you have booked the Gallini dont be disheartened, the hotel is not 5 star but we had a great week, just use it as a base, eat out a few nights if you get bored with the food, its cheap to eat out, we had a couple of nights in the local tavernas at around 40 euros with drinks.
I work in hospitality management, and i just took the hotel at face value and just enjoyed my anniversary holiday with my husband.
Hope this helps you decide whether this is the kind of hotel you want to stay in .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Karen,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for your excellent rating! It’s nice to hear that you were satisfied with your room and also with our Chinese and Main restaurant. We are glad that you could enjoy your time with us and we look forward to welcome you again at our hotel, whenever your travel plans lead you back to Chania.

Best Regards

Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have spend a really nice week at the Galini Sea View
The food is really nice, the chinease restaurant is great. Rooms are big and clean.
There is 3 bars in total, the one at the beach is really great as you never have to bring drinks with you.
The only bad point was the entertainment : the staff doesn't do it when they doesn't want to
For exemple 3 days without aquagym for no reason given!!!
And during the evening it is quite boring too.
One of the person working at the Eden Spa (the blond one, the one who is never happy) is really really rude and I am very unhappy of the work they have done : pedicure done and the next day my vernish was falling appart!!!!

Otherwise everything was great we are really happy with this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Agios Marina Galini Sea View Review

Bad:
Quality overall - poor. Not a 5 * hotel or atmosphere.
Staff: not welcoming, no friendly hellos or welcoming smiles.
Reception: unable to deal with issues swiftly, and general confused work ethic
Restaurant staff not attentive to detail. Eg waiting for cutlery and table amenities.
Slow responses to requests and an air of 'do I have to do it' attitude
Bar staff - beach bar: slow and inept
No clean supply of beach towels. First day no beach towels at all

Wrong room: asked for a double room, given a family room, 3 beds...
When finally in a double bed, turned out to be 2 single beds pushed together.
Rooms not cleaned to 5* standards. No shower gel in room for 2 days
Pool sun loungers and beach sun loungers: crammed together to try fit as many as possible together. Literally not enough loungers for a comfortable day at the beach. Very small section of beach with too many sun loungers
Usual towel reservation crap of sun loungers
5* service and management would stop this practice and encourage 2 beds per room.

Food: repetitive. Oily. And low quality. You can taste its cheap ingredients despite creative cooking methods (add oil...)
All inclusive alcohol drinks: awful! Watered down wine. Poured into 'fancy bottles' that say 'South african' wine when in fact informed by staff it's box wine that is poured into bottles.
Red wine, white wine, rose wine all watered down and taste awful and cheap
Selection of cocktails very limited. All pretty much either based on ouzo or raki.
Poor quality and selection

Hotel management quite confrontational with other guests. They clearly don't actually walk around to observe the overall atmosphere or service

Wifi: non existent. €50 deposit for an antennae for room wifi that just wasn't reliable and had to be restarted all the time. Free wifi in lobby and bar very poor quality and hardly worked for more than a few minutes at a time

Good:
Monica - restaurant waitress, amazing Romanian girl who went out of her way to make you feel welcome and chatted to guests. She was always willing to help.
Chrissi - reception staff. Despite problems, was helpful and wanted to make us feel happier.
Theo - barman, main bar. Great with guests and good cocktail mixer. We ended up buying €5 cocktails, for better quality.
Lovely views and location. Nice little port town with things to do and sea views

Lasting thoughts: crete and chania are lovely. But don't be fooled by promise of a 5* experience and hotel when in fact you are treated to 2* or less experience
We had a lovely holiday but we ended up 'settling' for mediocrity, because 5* simply didn't exist.

Room Tip: Depends on what u want. Most rooms pool views. Change rooms until you're happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Craig v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just got back after a great, sun filled week at the Galini Sea view. Where to start? We originally booked a a land view room and were pleasantly surprised when we got onto the balcony overlooking the pool and beautiful sea. We had two rooms, both were very clean and spacious. The food and drink was good, however at times got a bit 'Samesy', but there's nothing much they can do about that. The Chinese restaurant is a fantastic and is a must! The pool was extremely clean and the area was cleaned each night. The all inclusive was good. Beer was much better than in England!! Kristina behind the pool bar was so friendly and did as much as she could for us! Yes the sea is a short walk away, however if you use the lift down, it really isn't that far!! The beach was lovely, the sea was warm and clear and it was great that you could use the bar at the Galini beach hotel right on the beach! It's worth taking a trip to falassarna and balos for other fantastic beaches with crystal clear seas. Also worth taking a trip into Chania in the evening as it's fascinating and bustling. If nightlife is your thing then Platanios is only a five minute taxi journey away with buses running regularly. The only thing I could criticise would be the fact that the wifi isn't great, however who goes away to stay on their devices all day?! All in all a good 5* hotel! and would go back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Luke S,

Thank you very much for your nice review! We really appreciate your positive words about our Hotel and am very glad everything was to your complete satisfaction. It is our intention to make guests feel at home at our property and therefore we are always working on the quality of our rooms and our services.
Hopefully we will again have the chance to welcome you when you are back in Crete. I remain with my best regards.

Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Let's begin with the good. Staff are very friendly and helpful apart from room issue. I will return to this. Hotel is clean...and that's about it. What didn't impress me? Well, despite the fact there's a nice beach, it's spoilt by the fact there's a walk to it. Fine going but when you come back there are a great deal of steps to negotiate. My wife found this problematic. We booked a junior suite side sea view and didn't get it. Original room was a family below the level of the swimming pool with no view. Manager less than helpful and we had to take a double room because what was offered as an alternative was worse. Other side of pool and clearly suffering from damp, Took matter up with travel agent and got response but clear hotel management are being economical with the truth. Believe me, I'm not letting it lie, Food poor in terms of variety and quality, although Chinese restaurant is excellent so book it if you are at this hotel. Very little entertainment and what there is amateurish and that is being kind. It was like watching a combination of real-life Chuckle Bros doing Play School. And don't get me started about sunbeds and towels. Avoid this hotel if you can, certainly nowhere near 5*, more like 3* at best. You will certainly get more bang for your buck elsewhere. Loved Crete itself and would definitely go back. But not within a mile of Galini. Still, we still ensured we had a decent holiday...by spending our day at the beach!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanmelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sanmelito,

Thank you very much for sharing with us and other travellers your latest experience here at the Galini Sea View Hotel. Feedback from our guests allows us to constantly improve our service. First of all, we feel glad that you were satisfied with the staff and we certainly we pass on your words to them.Thank you also for your excellent comments about our Chinese Restaurant! As per the entertainment, we provide a light animation during the day as it is written in our description. Regarding your disappointment on the food, I would like to point out that we only use high quality products for food.Our hotel always seeks to maintain the very highest standards of quality and service. Nonetheless you will hopefully take into consideration to visit us again soon.

Best Regards

Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I'll start with a few good points. The food is quite good if you do the half board. Things to know before booking. It is not on the beach. You need to use 3 elevators, 70 stairs and a long road to get to the beach. They take your money before you get to see your room as soon as you check in. It gets worse. If you book a sea view room or jr suite you may not get it when you arrive. Instead they may choose to give you a land view or a room in the basement that looks at an old car, weeds and some buildings. If you complain to the front desk, they will tell you forcefully that they don't deal with rooms and you need to speak to the manager. They will always say the manager is not there until tomorrow. He is there though and you can walk around the corner and knock on his door. He will explain that the hotel is overbooked and no rooms are available, but if you insist he will move you to another room that somehow appears. Then they will tell you you have a sea view room, but it looks at the solar panels of an energy plant, but you can turn your head just right and sea the sea over their roof and others. When we went to the lobby that night we found that two other couples had the exact same experience. One even got the cockroach room on the bottom floor for their kids. It seems to be standard practice. No apologies or compensation are offered. We had to settle in the end for a side sea view room which was pretty decent, but we had to pay the increased rate for the sea view room anyhow.

I gave it a terrible rating for service because of how they treat and cheat you with the rooms, but the kitchen staff are great and work hard.

The rooms are mostly in good shape, but the headboards are peeling.

Room Tip: Maybe a good bribe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank will w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALEFIOUDAKIS M, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at CHC Galini Sea View, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mr. Will W,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share with us and other travellers your latest experience at the Galini Sea View Hotel.All guests’ comments, positive or negative, help us improve our services and offer our guests better quality. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it`s apparent in this case, we fell short.Nevertheless, we hope to have you back at Galini allowing us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you expect.

Best Regards
Noura Mouslek
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
1.6 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#7 of 31 in Agia Marina
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.1 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
2,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iolida Beach Hotel
Iolida Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Agia Marina
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHC Galini Sea View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHC Galini Sea View

Property: CHC Galini Sea View
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — CHC Galini Sea View 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With excellent views towards the endless beach of Agia Marina, the Agean sea and the beautiful Cretan landscape, guests find themselves in an idyllic natural setting. Add the heated swimming-pool, fitness center, sauna, steam bath and massage room with a la carte restaurants, bars and friendly atmosphere and you have a luxurious environment to match a perfect holiday. Contact our Web Marketing Expert, Kostas Papahatzis -“KostasP”- for help, great discounts on reservations and more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your CHC Galini Sea View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galini Sea View Hotel Agia Marina
Galini De Luxe Hotel
Galini De Luxe Chania
CHC Galini Sea View Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing