We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agia Marina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merabello Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Myself and my friend have just got back from here and is was awesome. Were both 25 year old females so we thought the lack of night clubs may ruin the holiday but we were blessed with a great bunch of fellow holiday makers and also a great bar man (Lefty). I was sad to leave as it was a pleasure to spend the holiday with such good company.The apartments were small and had a very homely feel to them, the size enabled every one to bond which would not have happened in a hotel or large apartments. I would reccomend these apartments to any one who wants to relax on their holidays. The apartments were wonderfully clean, with a cleaner every day coming around. Would reccomend though to take an extra towel and a toaster. Missing the apartments and the friends we made here very much.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rozanne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2011

Good quality accommodation with fantastic views over the bay and island from your bedroom and balcony.
We stayed in apartment 5 opposite the pool. O.K. so the bacony doesn't get the sun until late afternoon, so sit in front of your apartment for breakfast in the sun!
Yes, Lefteris' Greek salads are very good, but whatever you do, DON'T miss his breakfast on your last morning if your flight time permits. You will certainly leave with a smile!
He really provides a good atmosphere around the pool (Excuse me!*) and is a lovely caring man.
Can't fault this accommodation or resort in any way. Kostas, the owner is very friendly and will sort out any problems you might have.
A good taverna is Manolis in the old town, although you would struggle to find poor service anywhere.
We were lucky to share our week with an excellent gang of holiday makers from around the North West of England. They were the icing on the holiday cake.
*You need to visit to get the "Excuse me" gag.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimandVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Just spent a week here at the beginning of October, excellent value as a last minute break.
We were in a 1 bedroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool with a view out to the island and sea. The accommodation is simple, very clean and well situated if you want to be a little away from the busy main coast road. However it's only a few minutes, or 5 if you stroll, down to the main road with the usual restaurants and supermarkets every few hundred metres. Bus stop to Chania is also conveniently at the bottom of the road.
Basic kitchen with kettle and coffee maker, 1 & 1/2 rings cooker, under counter fridge and all the plates and utensils you need. Air con and safe box are extras but not extortionately priced at 55 and 10 euros for a week.
As already mentioned in other reviews the barman Lefteris is fantastic, his bbq night food is really good.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Netleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week at the Mirabello Apartments. We stayed in room number 5. The balcony overlooked the gardens and pool area which a great sea view.

The room was more than satisfactory for our needs. Spacious rooms and the kitchen provided the basic requirements (a hob, fridge/small freezer, sink, kitchen utensils).
The only issue we had with the room was that the towels were only changed once in the week we were there. Although very hot during the day we didn't require the use of the air conditioning as at night a nice breeze was blowing.

The pool area is very clean but very quiet in terms of the number of people using it at any one time. As other reviews have said the guy who works in the pool bar, Lefteris, is great. He can't do enough for you and he told me he doesn't take a day off in the 6 months he works there peak season!! We would have preferred the pool area to be a little busier but if you're there to relax this is the place for you.

The apartments are located at the top of a short hillside walk, approx 2 mins from the main road. There are a hand full to tavernas along the main road and a number of beachside restaurants. The main area of the resort is approx 10-15 mins walk along the main road. The old town is not far and has some very nice tavernas.

Buses run regularly along the main road to Chania and Platanias which offer a more busier resort with greater choice of places to eat and things to do.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but found it a little too quiet. If you are there for the quietness and a relaxing time this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitehotlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed in the Villa, number 3 which looks mostly inland but still a lovely view. No complaints in view of the fact that we paid just over £600 for 2 people/2 weeks - thats a bargain. Good points: peaceful location but minutes from beach/tavernas/shops; lovely pool (although we are not "pool people") and pretty gardens; clean, towels/sheets changed regularly; ample bbq area at villa for all to use; supermarket 50 yds from villa! You need to be mobile as there is a short hill from main road to apts/villa. Bad points: a little dated in the villa - the apts by the pool look more modern; savage prices at pool bar which is why it was empty most of the time (3.5 eu for 500ml beer); not much input from owners (which is not something that would bother us); we did have a prob with the water supply but it was fixed pronto. Places to go: La Rapida beach bar with free beds, looks like its dropped out of the hippy era, chilled! ; La Skala restaurant and the cafe/bar next door, go towards Old Aghia on the same road as the apts and drop down into the village; Gramvousa/Balos boat trip, Elafonisi coach trip - these two are a must along with catching the local bus to Paleochora in the south, a little peace of heaven, it takes 1.5 hours to get there and costs approx 5 eu one way but its worth it. Another hippy hideout that hasn't changed much since the '70s. Visit Chania in the afternoon/evening, its beautiful and I cannot emphasise enough the trip to Elafonisi as the mountains are fantastic. DON'T go on any trips with your tour operator, it will cost you at least a third more than booking locally and they go the same places and have terrific guides. One last thing - shop around for meals/drinks, some places are trying to make a killing. Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SolihullLolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Greeted on our arrival by Kostas the owner. He showed us to our room located in the Villa 100m from the main apartment block. Was very spacious with sea views from every window and large balcony. We stayed a fortnight and the maid visited regularly with fresh linen and towels 6 times or so.

Pool was situated at the main apartment block and proved ideal as it was only used by the residents of Mirabello and was never too busy and seemed very clean. Kostas seemed to show alot of pride in his apartment and area including the Gardens. Nothing was ever too much trouble and he even gave me a lift in his car one afternoon to find a shop open to change my Travellers Cheques.

The pool bar was open all day every day and manned by a top character called LefTherry. He was a great guy and kept us all entertained during the day. Also bringing us fresh Melon and suchlike several times and also played whichever music you like over the speakers.

The Apartments were ideally located in terms of access to Chania and to the many resteruants in the area. Of which I must say the food was excellent wherever we ate.

Anyone who goes here I'd also recommend the Cruise to Gramvousa and Balos island, pretty spectacular.

All in all very relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed in villa 1 and it was very spacious with to outside area's were you could sit in the shade. the apartment its self was just what we needed, we went with my sister and her husband - we were never under each others feet as there was so much room. The gardens were lovely and it was just enough away from the main tourist area so nice and quiet and relaxing. The only trouble we had was the mossies even though we took loads of repellent they still managed to get us funny enough they never bit the men (strange that) I quess we were nicer than them.
The pool was just a little way down the road and was never crowded and a lot of the time we had it to ourselves which was great. The little bar and cafe at the pool was always open and Lefterry the barman was very funny and friendly and nothing was to much trouble for him.
We ate out at different places each night and never had a bad meal in any of them we particularly liked the Cactus and went there several times.
We only came back yesterday and want to go back there as it hasn't stopped raining here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agia Marina hotels
1.0 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elotis Suites
Elotis Suites
#17 of 31 in Agia Marina
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#6 of 31 in Agia Marina
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Beach Resort
Thalassa Beach Resort
#2 of 31 in Agia Marina
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#10 of 31 in Agia Marina
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merabello Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merabello Apartments

Address: Ioannou Kapodistria & Voukoleos, Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Agia Marina
Price Range: £46 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mirabello Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Merabello Apartments Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing