We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agia Marina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merabello Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just got round to writing a review for the Mirabello, which we visited late June/early July. Booked through the Coop and had the choice of several destinations for an impulsive week away to unwind. On the basis of the good things people wrote on Trip Advisor, we chose the Mirabello, having been to Crete once before (Elounda) and finding it a charming destination.

Every word we read on Trip Advisor is true, this is a wonderful place. The famous Lefty is great fun and looked after us well. His Greek night is one we will never forget. We made made some great friends that we will keep in touch with.

The apartments are spotlessly clean and all overlook the pool and the bay. The pool and bar area are a great place to congregate and meet other people. Because it is a small complex (less than 10 apartments), it is a very personal experience and you tend to get to know the other guests (all from UK) very well. The owner, Kostas, works very hard to keep the gardens in good order and will sort out any problems without fuss.

It is well situated, with a short walk to the main road and easy access by bus to Chania. This is well worth a visit, the harbour is as beautiful as any we've seen. Supermarkets are within very easy reach, as is the lovely sandy beach. It is also within an easy (flat) 10 minute walk of the old town, with an excellent selection of restaurants that not only spoil you with their wonderful food and friendly family service, but also surprise you with their great value for money. We visited Horatikos and Manolis and loved both, but there are others that we are yet to explore.

In terms of excursions, we went on the Land Rover safari. Fantastic, don't miss it!

All in all, there was only one serious problem with the Mirabello and that was that we had to leave and come home. Wish we had booked 2 weeks instead. Next time we will. Would recommend without hesitation and would return like shot!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank crjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Returned to Agia Marina again this year and would like to take this opportunity to say that these apartments are as good as it was last year. Great location, good rooms and lovely people staffing them. See my review from May 2012

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrypoole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We went for the week 16th July until the 22nd. This was my 1st time in Crete and it did not dissappoint. The apartments are lovely and clean with great views out to the sea. We stayed in apartment 9 and whilst we were told we had an inland view we looked out over the pool, gardens, bar and out towards the sea. Nothing is too much for the owner or the bar manager should you have a problem. Saturday night the bar manager (Lefty) throws on a big traditional Greek BBQ complete with dancers, get yourselves involved, it really is a great night.

The old town is to the right of the Hotel, the main town of Agia Marina is just a few mins walk either via the old town or by dropping down to the main road and turning left. Plenty of Tavernas can be found in both location all serving good quality food, and plenty of it.

Room Tip: Good views from all rooms, but rooms 7, 8, 9 & 10 are all on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of July and it was fabulous. Great apartments, lovely and clean and great views. Friendly people and nothing was too much trouble. Apartment number 8 has a wonderful view over the pool, gardens and sea. The pool was always clean and ample sunbeds. Beach is only a 5 minute walk and is lovely and sandy. Ample choice of restaurants within easy walking distance. Overall a great holiday and I would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

have just returned from spending a week in these fabulous apartments .we were in room 7 in the main block with wonderful views from the balcony of the pool and sea beyond. We cannot speak too highly of the position ,how clean & spacious the apartments are thanks to the owner kostos who also maintains the gardens to a high standard and are a credit to him. He was there to welcome us and also to say goodbye. Cannot say enough about the bar manager Lefteris who has a heart as big as Crete and provided us with hours of fun. ( excuse me) lovely guy .keep playing the Frank Sinatra Leftie missing you already. The old village has some
Lovely restaurants .we ate at Horiatiko were I had the best pork chop ever and also Aletri had beautiful food. There is a BBQ night on Saturdays run by Lefti at the mirabello (don,t miss it good fun and a chance to meet everyone ). We made some lovely friends here . The trip into Chania by bus from the bottom of the hill is not to be missed either. The old town is gorgeous around the harbour especially at night and one of the nicest places we have visited. The beach at agia marina is only a 10 min walk lovely and clean with lots of sun beds. We would not hesitate to recommend a holiday to the mirabello for a quiet and relaxing holiday and has the whole package for a great holiday. Will definitely go back again as missing it already. Just a quick comment about the flight with small planet it was really good . No delays , comfortable and nice staff.we booked our seats before we went on row 12 ( two seats only on this row) really good with plenty of leg room well worth the £30 for both ways. So all in all one of the best hols we have had and for a couple who are 60 plus there's been a few .don.t hesitate book it you won,t be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the main block have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David s S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

First time in Crete, would recommend these apartments lovely and clean. Pool area very clean Costas and Lefty very friendly and made you feel very welcome. Had a very enjoyable time on Greek night with dancers. Ideal for a cheap week away.

Room Tip: Ask for Room No.7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bravo186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The first time back in Crete after many years. The hotel and separate villas (100m apart) are up a slight hill overlooking Chania Bay. Exceptionally clean and tidy. The owner Costas, bar manager Lefteris and assistant Agatha were around most of the day, and well into the evening. Very friendly and helpful people. The number of visitors that we met that had stayed here over many years was testimony in itself to the popularity of this accommodation. A quiet location, 10 minutes max from the sloping sandy beach, 5 minutes from the bus stop to Chania, supermarket selling all basic needs next door. The pool was inviting and perfectly clean, the gardens well maintained and picturesque. The rooms were spacious with all amenities necessary. Highly recommended, and good service from Olympic Holidays. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerallt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agia Marina hotels
0.1 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
438 reviews
1 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elotis Suites
Elotis Suites
#17 of 31 in Agia Marina
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Beach Resort
Thalassa Beach Resort
#2 of 31 in Agia Marina
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#10 of 31 in Agia Marina
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merabello Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merabello Apartments

Address: Ioannou Kapodistria & Voukoleos, Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Agia Marina
Price Range: £46 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mirabello Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Merabello Apartments Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing