We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

Iris Restaurant Coffee Bar
Ranked #40 of 98 Restaurants in Agia Marina
Price range: US$7 - US$23
Description: If you want a quiet, warm atmosphere surrounded by nature and including delicious traditional (or not) delicasies, then visit IRIS for a well deserved dinner in our garden, followed by our special cocktails and delightful music. Playground also available for our little friends.
Restaurant details
Description: If you want a quiet, warm atmosphere surrounded by nature and including delicious traditional (or not) delicasies, then visit IRIS for a well deserved dinner in our garden, followed by our special cocktails and delightful music. Playground also available for our little friends.
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Lovely court yard location to eat in and the food is excellent. Shame Ai found this so late into the holiday, would definitely recommend. Very good cooking of local dishes with friendly service.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelledGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Second night in Agia Marina and what a find. Couldn't believe how quiet it was but it was a change-over day, and they've not been open too long. These folk are enthusiastic about the restaurant, the food is good but beware the portions, esp the starters, are big. Boss does his own raki and from next October hos own syrah.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

This had to be one of the Funniest Restaurants we had been to. The Restaurant wasn't busy at all, we were greeted by an over excited waiter who when asked about the Wine really hadn't a clue to what was what, but it actually turned out to be a nice wine at 18 Euro so it had to be good for that price! Then we ordered the starters which was a dish of cheese and a dish of Shrimp with Tomato sauce and Vegetables ( Both were lovely).Then for mains I wanted Fish, But it seems that they Don't Do Fresh Fish apart from Salmon like Everyone Else. So me and my partner chose to go completely Different from our usual Fish, Lamb, and other choices and opted for a Gyros each and my mother in law ordered a Salad for the Table and Pork shavacki ( can't spell it, But Big Chunks of Pork on a Stick ) Well our Mains arrived all But the Mother in Laws which he had Forgotten and then it was like a Sketch from Monty Python, he went into Panic Mode, Started Saying, I'm So Sorry, My Fault, Checking His Pad, Saying YES You Did Order It, I'm So Sorry Running off To the Kitchen and then Hearing The Chef Shouting at him, And then coming back to the table Tail between his legs, Im So Sorry Again it will Be 10 Mins is that Ok? By now it had become a laughing point, at him! Then our Baby woke up while this was happening so my partner actually got to eat her Main in peace as her mother Rocked and entertained her.Then Finally we all finished ours and the Mother in laws Came out, Which turned out to be CHICKEN Cubes on a skewer, WELL That was it!! We Just Pissed ourselves Laughing and He went off again tail between his legs...But as it was the Food was nice , BUT WE Won't BE Going Back Again!! Nice little Play Area for the kids, but for about 4 Then it's Full Up.VERY EXPENSIVE For what we Had and No Reduction in price for his Mistakes or Mishaps.Avoid is My Opinion!!!!!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We were desperately looking for a taverna that plays Bouzouki on the road from Platanias to Chania, when we heard these enchanting tunes. We parked the car promptly and entered that restaurant. We received a warm welcome and the charming waitress there let us choose the table far enough from the stage to avoid the loudspeakers.
We ordered classic traditional food (gyros, mixed souvlaki and Greek salad) to pair with the music.
All we ate was tasty, and most important we got finally our Bouzouki night. We left almost at midnight while happy local families where still celebrating!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 202antoineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We went on a night where there was live music, which was ok but nothing amazing. We were told to come at 7.30 but the music didn't start till 8.15 and we had nearly finished by then due to the fact that our main courses were brought out the second we had finished our starters. Food was ok.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Familyofthreegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Iris Restaurant Coffee Bar also viewed

Stalos, Chania Prefecture
Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
 
Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Iris Restaurant Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.