We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - we loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Marina Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Marina Plaza
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - we loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel and would strongly recommend it. It is right on a very long stretch of sandy beach with amazing views. The hotel is modern, clean and a super design. All the fittings are good quality including the sun loungers and chairs. Rooms are very nice, most overlook the pool and a few face the sea.

The restaurant is buffet style and you have a lovely view of the sea if you sit outside. We ate in the hotel every night and it is only 10E for a fine selection of food including soup, salads, main courses, desserts and an ice cream bar.

It is a relatively small hotel, which promoted a friendly feel. The staff were all fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. It attracts a cosmopolitan mix of guests from all countries and most spoke excellent English. Many of the guests are regular visitors, which is always a good sign.

Right outside the hotel is a bus stop, supermarket and a good range of tavernas (the best tavernas are one street back from the main drag). The local busses are air-conditioned coaches and we found this the best way to travel. We usually hire a car on holiday but did not need one here. We went to Chania (1.6 E) which has a pretty venetian harbour, Elafonisi beach (17E return) which we would highly recommend for its crystal clear turquoise water and Kissamos port (10E return) where we took a boat trip to Gramvousa island and Balos beach for the day (22E). All the busses stop outside the hotel.

If you are looking for a relaxing beach holiday in a superb friendly hotel….then this is for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheltenhamFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    108
    21
    16
    10
See reviews for
62
253
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

I stayed in the hotel for one night so there is not much to evaluate. Room was big and very clean. Staff was VERY polite and helpful to all my requests for late check in and late check out. Breakfast was average (expected better).
Only one problem!!! which was important for me. My room was on the base floor and I had other rooms on top of me. Since 8:00 in the morning the cleaning staff was moving furniture around making tremendous noise that woke me up and these noises kept from other near rooms for several hours!!! Also bad sound proof in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pankosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thionville, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay in this quiet hotel. The hotel is really small compared to all the other surrounding ones but the infrastructures are lovely and quite luxury... and no one is getting up at 6 a.m. to go book a sunbed around the swimming pool ;o) The rooms (and the whole hotel) are very clean. We had a sea front room at the last storey (room 311), I definetely recommend to choose this type of rooms. The food was nice (I loved the Tzaziki) and not the same every day. One little thing I have to complain about, the staff was not that friendly (but still ok), except at the pool bar, the guy there is just great :o)
As for the beach, as in every Cretan hotel, you have to pay for your sunbed :o((( Otherwise the hotel is located directly on the beach which is really long (several kilometers) very quiet early in the morning but really crowed as soon as the sun is high in the sky. But the hotel location (next to some small rocks) kind of guarantees you some privacy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voyager5792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

I cannot describe my stay at SANTA MARINA PLAZA (5*) because it didn’t happen! I made a reservation from booking.com on 3rd of August for the 16th and on my way there (16th August at 12:00) they called me saying that there is no room for me because they were overbooked!! They transferred me to SANTA MARINA BEACH (4* ??) offering me the dinner. I do believe that 5stars must represent also the professionalism and not only the prices. Informing the client one hour before arriving for a reservation made 13 days ago is NOT professional. I have to mention that the personnel in both hotels are very polite.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank DimitrisXyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Santa Marina Plaza. Great pool area, not too many kids (not a very good place for small kids), perfect for a romantic getaway when all you want is to stay in the sun, eat good food and relax. A typical tourist place to stay, so not a great place for long walks and exploration, but for a nice week by the pool it was great. And really good drinks at the pool bar. Its quite expensive (we went in july) but for us it was definately worth it. The food at the hotel was good - better than many of the greek restaurants around in the area at least. We had a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GuestFromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

The Santa Marina Plaza hotel is situated in Agia Marina which is 8km from Chania (a city with an old Venetian harbour which has lovely restauratns dotted around it) and 1km from Plantanias (a more lively resort with lots of bars and restaurants). Agia Marina is fairly small but with plenty going on - there is a Sports bar down the road which we visited to watch the England match and made some super friends - a guy called Mark runs this outside bar and is from San Francisco, USA and you can hear laughing the night away - a real character (his Dad is Greek).

The hotel is modern with a slighly cosmopolitan feel to it. The reception staff were very efficient and always said hello and were happy to help with any queries. The rooms themself were perfect, spacious, clean and modern with all the facilities you need and everything is new. We stayed in a side-sea view room which was lovely although you can pay more for ones directly looking out to sea. Our room was ground level and although we were disappointed at first, we could walk out our patio door to get towels on the sun loungers very quickly in the morning lol!

The pool is a perfect size and has a number of sun loungers around them again which are modern and of good quality. As this hotel doesn't have any kids club programmes going on, the pool was more or less empty every day so if you are after some peace and quiet, you have definitely found the right hotel - it was such a treat not having to hear kids shouting and bawling and hogging the pool, wonderfully blissful if you are trying to relax. There is only a limited number of sun loungers and our rep did say that the hotel will eventually do something about it but in Greece, you know that they can take their time with things. However, saying that we never struggled with this as an issue and always got a couple plus as the hotel is on the beach, you can get a sun lounger on the beach but please be aware, the Government impose a tax of six euros for two sun longers so you do have to pay. There is a pool bar also but be aware, three euros for a coke...... not cheap so buy some stuff and put it in your room or take it down to the beach.

The food at the hotel is fairly good, the breakfasts are the usual assortment of bacon, eggs, sausages, salad, meats and cheeses and the odd Greek dish such as mushroom pie. Plenty of choice and slightly better quality than normal. The evening food is actually pretty good too although we only dined in once as we like to eat out on holiday but if you are on a budget, you won't be disappointed if you eat in. Again, the staff are very helpful and friendly.

As hotels go, this one is ideal if you are looking for a bit of luxury, no screaming kids, a beach and good food. From all my visits to Greece, this was the best hotel I've stayed in and was overjoyed with it, so relaxing plus in an ideal location in Western Crete. It is situated on a main road so there are buses going by every half hour directly to Chania or Plantanias (buy your tickets from the local shops outside the hotel or on the bus).

Outside the hotel, Chania is to your left and Plantanias to your right so stand on the side of the road at the bus stop to go either way (if you get stuck, ask at the shop which if you come out the hotel is on your right). Plantanias is worth a visit for a good meal up the hill - walk up and look for the signs to Vigli, a hill top restaurant with the most amazing views. Word of warning, avoid Cosmos restaurant, a really weird feel and very expensive. Vigli was lovely and run by a family and will take care of you, bringing you complementary watermelon, cherries and ouzo for afterwards mmmmmm......

For trips, don't book with your representative, soooo expensive. Instead hire a car - prebook with EuroCars or Hertz online to get the best deal. Then take your car out and visit the places your rep will tell you about. There is a church inside a cave worth a look at (omg though, the car trip is scary with all the cliffs lol), there is a Botannical Gardens. This is quite interesting as a few years back Crete suffered a major forest fire. Following this, four brothers decided to replant some vegetation in memory of this fire and created these lovely gardens with so many different varieties of fruit and herbs and a really nice thing to walk around. It was only 4 euros and you would be supporting this wonderful park type gardens. There is a modern taverna there too with a purpose built arena and all the food and drink served is made from their own produce so really cool - have a fresh orange juice, they are incredible.

If you are a beach lover, take a drive to Efalonsi. This beach is the most amazing beach I have ever seen, it looks like it belongs to the Maldives which pink soft sand and clear water with fish swimming around your legs - amazing. This area is protected by the Government so there is nothing around this beach, no development at all. There are toilet facilities which are portaloos but very nice ones and they have a collapsable beach bar, again Government owned and is taken away at the end of the season. The beach bar is very reasonable and you won't get ripped off. Go here - you won't be disappointed.

I hope this review has been informative, I really hope you choose this hotel as it is perfect for visiting Western Crete. This side of the island has a totally different feel to it. On the East side you have Malia which is a bit of a Blackpool Abroad with the old 'English pub' thing going on which we just dread - the West side is more authentic and has breathtaking scenery and you will feel more like you have seen some of the real Greek way of life.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Noskibabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nriskin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

this hotel was recommended by staff at the atlantis in herakalion. we went w/o a reservation and stayed 4 nights @120 euros a night in a beachfront room. breakfast was included. room, breakfast, location and reception were great. we were there the last 2 days of june and first two of july. the beach situation was quite nice. we had a car but walked (referred by front desk) to an area about 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nriskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#8 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
78.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
102.1 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#7 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.4 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Plaza

Property: Santa Marina Plaza
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#10 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTA MARINA PLAZA Hotel is built at the sun-blessed beach of Aghia Marina, at a mere 8 kilometers from the city of Chania. It’s looking forward to offering to every visitor of the island, an unforgettable stay in one of its 49 luxurious rooms and 2 Junior Suites.All hotel rooms have magnificent view of the sea and are equipped with a Mini-Bar, Air-Conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, two direct dial telephones, wireless internet line, electronic safe, bathroom covered in marble and a hair dryer. In addition to the above, Laundry service, Childcare service, Room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Plaza Hotel Agia Marina
Santa Marina Plaza Chania
Santa Marina Plaza Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing