We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad location, cold pool”
Review of Santa Marina Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Marina Plaza
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The hotel is far from lovely Chania old town and harbour and also far from all the fun in Platanias. We visited early October, and Agia Marina was very quiet. If you wanted nightlife, you had to take a bus or cab. One thing I do not understand: why have an outdoor pool that is simply a decoration? The water was icy. And we had a room with a non-view: a roof and a wall, if you really stretched yourself you could spot the sea behind a tree.
The breakfast was nice. And so were the beds.

Room Tip: Do not accept a low number, 01 or 02
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meiju M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Meiju M,

Thank you very much for taking this time to comment us on Tripadvisor.
The location of our Santa Marina Plaza is clearly on our official web site and on any web site that somebody can make a reservation from. It is 8 kilometres or 15 minutes drive to Chania city centre and about 2 kilometresor5 minutes drive to Platanias. We do not believe that is distance can be characterised as to be far. Anyway, we believe that you should choose a hotel to Platanias or into the city of Chania, and this is something that the hotel cannot take any blame of as it was your choice to visit Santa Marina Plaza which is clearly locatd in Aghia Marina.
The outdoor pool is not for a decoration. Any of our guest can swim and they actually do so until today. Maybe the atmosphere temperatures during your stay was not too high as it can be the case in autumn sometimes. Due to this fact, the temperature at water in the pool dropped down. In any case our swimming pool has fresh water and is not advertised as a heated one. So, again you knew about this in advance.

regarding your view from the room it is something that is quite objective. Some guest are requesting from us these rooms on the groundfloor. If you were not totally happy with the room, you could have given us a chance to change it, however we did not receive such an information from your side.

We would like to thank you once again for your comment and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Santa Marina Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Firstly, I would like to refer you to my review "Perfect Holiday" from my previous visit, 7th to 21st June of this year, please read this prior to continuing.

After reading the above, I can continue,in that, both my wife and I looked forward to a further two weeks holiday at the "Plaza" and we were not disappointed.

On our arrival at the "Plaza", on 20th September, we were greeted by the staff as if we were "old friends", who had been away and had now returned. They were wonderful.

I can only describe the "Plaza" as an "Oasis", for no matter what hassles there are at the front of the hotel, as you walk through the front door's, you walk into a quiet tranquil area with "friends" around you.

On entering our room, it was well presented and had a bottle of wine and fruit on the table to greet us. I must admit, at our request, it was even the same room which we occupied in June.

The meals again were very good, with choices from both Greek and an international cuisine.

The "a la carte" menu was still being served on the beach, which was wonderful, and the selection was superb. I believe that we attended one of the last to be served on the beach for this season.

Although there were many nationalities at the "Plaza" during our stay, their greetings were pleasant, even with the language barrier.

May I yet again, thank the management and "all" of the staff for their personal touches to make this another holiday to remember.

All in all, I can only say that this was another "Perfect Holiday"!!

Penny and Barrie

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Barrie S,
Thank you very much for comment again on Tripadvisor.
First of all, we would like to inform you that we are really happy when we are welcoming repeating guests to our Hotel.

The best reward for us is the satisfaction and the pleasure of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel next year.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the service we received. Everyone was so helpful and welcoming and had a positive attitude which seemed so genuine and not fake.
We liked our room which had a lovely garden view and was so near the sea; the sound of the ocean was breathtaking and we had all the privacy we wanted.
We did a lot of walking and found the reception staff great at helping to organise a trip for us.
The cleaner was exceptional at keeping on top of our mess from the hiking.
The location is great with busses in all directions of Western Crete and the sea on your doorstep.
We liked breakfast and dinner; they do a dope roast chicken.
When things go wrong usually my husband writes the hotel review. This time he has got none to say hence I am stepping in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear CCB186338,
Thank you very much for your excellent scoring on Tripadvisor.
It is great to hear that you enjoy your stay and all of the facilities of our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel.
Thank you for all your compliments! We really appreciate it!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel on your next visit at Crete.

Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Reading the recent reviews I can only say that we agree on the positive reviews: A very nice, quiet and tidy hotel.
A great effort was always shown from the staff to keep the hotel area nice, clean and tidy. This includes the restaurant, the beach area, the pool area and the rooms. The staff was very polite, friendly, helpfull - and smiling. The buffet had a good selection. We had at room with 180 deg seaview - and a spacious balcony. I find the beach to be the best in the area. The hotel is located in an area with a lot of small shops ( majority souvenirs) and cafes/ restaurants. A supermarket is next door. A bus stop is very close - it takes app 30 minutes to go to Chania

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview are excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bodil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Bodil S,

Thank you very much for your review.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very nice Clean hotel, Lovely room with with wonderful sea view. The staff was allways helpful and very kind, as a guest you could feel the warm atmospher between the staff. Breakfast and dinnerbuffe had a good selesction and tasted very good. The dinner at the beach was wonderful and magical.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_Britt_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Eva Britt,

Thank you very much for your wonderful email. We feel very greatful for your recognition.

We wish you a nice winter! Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is the third time we are visiting Santa Marina Plaza, and it will not be the last time. The hotel is fantastic, all is very clean og the staff is very, very friendly. The hotel is situated near to the sea, and the beach is so excellent as possible. We were at the hotel in two weeks and we loved every day. We really are coming back to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Tone T,

Thanks once again for your visit to our hotel! All of our staff and the management really appreciate your wonderful words!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel very late in evening due to flight delays feeling very tired. Were given a lovely welcome at reception and we were very impressed with our room, plus they had left us a salad each and some fruit, which we were very grateful for.
We absolutely loved our week's stay in the hotel. Our room and all of the hotel was exceptionally clean. Our room was a lovely size overlooking the pool and the lovely beach was just a short walk away. Everything was excellent - the service, cleanliness, food and staff. It was also being an adult only hotel very peaceful. We loved the extra touches in our room of bath robes and a kettle for tea and coffee. We would definately stay in the hotel again if we visit Crete.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Shelagh P

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel is the ideal hotel for people who looking for peace and relax holidays.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit at Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
554 reviews
78.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,972 reviews
0.4 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
426 reviews
102.1 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#9 of 35 in Elounda
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Plaza

Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#10 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range: £73 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTA MARINA PLAZA Hotel is built at the sun-blessed beach of Aghia Marina, at a mere 8 kilometers from the city of Chania. It’s looking forward to offering to every visitor of the island, an unforgettable stay in one of its 49 luxurious rooms and 2 Junior Suites.All hotel rooms have magnificent view of the sea and are equipped with a Mini-Bar, Air-Conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, two direct dial telephones, wireless internet line, electronic safe, bathroom covered in marble and a hair dryer. In addition to the above, Laundry service, Childcare service, Room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Plaza Hotel Agia Marina
Santa Marina Plaza Chania
Santa Marina Plaza Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing