We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for couples. Nice staff.”
Review of Santa Marina Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Marina Plaza
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great hotel for couples. Nice staff.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I had 2 fatastic weeks. This hotel lived up to our exspectation and more.
Super breakfast with a great variable selection in a quiet area next to the nice pool.
Very friendly helpful staff - don`t hesitate to ask if you need something. The poolbar manager
Marina (yes - same name as the hotel) is very helpful if you need info about what to do and see in West Crete.
We can suggest :
AFRATA : Small quiet stone beach with 14 sets of free sunbeds + small restaurant. Good spot for diving/snorkeling.(aprox 30 min drive).
LOUTRO. http://loutro.gr/en/ Nice small town with crystalclear water.......very cosy. (aprox 90 min drive to Sfakia and 20 min by boat).
FALASSARNA: Large sandbeach with great waves if the wind are comming from west - very entertaining - we went there 2 times (aprox 45 min drive).
ELAFONISI: The most popular beach in Crete. Nice beautiful beach/lagoon but VERY crowded in july/august. (aprox 90 min drive).
CHANIA OLD PORT: 4season restaurant (locatet in the northwest part).
Some guests had free Wifi included - we didnt. We paided 20 euro for 15 days (fair price) and still connection at the beach.
We had a late flight home, no problem. Checked out noon - left our bags in the reception - stayed at the beach a day - showers/changerooms/toilets in the basement - and icecold beer before leaving 7pm.

Please dont hesitate to contact me for more info.

Room Tip: Room 307-310 on 2nd floor got the best view (dbl room seaview).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smutje1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Smutje1967,

We are all very greatful to read such a nice review from your side!
It was great pleasure of having the chance to meet you in person at our hotel and we are heartfully thanking you for finding our staff and our provided services and facilities of your great satisfaction. With the promise to always continue improving!

We are looking forward to our next meeting!

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    113
    23
    18
    10
See reviews for
63
263
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The staff is very friendly and wants to help. Breakfast (hot and cold) is very good. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, enough beds around it and is located right at the beach. We had a perfect holiday here!!
There are a few rooms located close to the street. This was not to our liking. We asked for a different room and got it the next day (during high season)! They really want you to have a pleasant stay.
There were a lot of guests from scandinavia in the hotel (friendly people), hardly any mosquitos and bees/wasps and there were almost no people on the beach that wanted to sell their sunglasses etc... This altogether made our holiday very relaxing and very very good!
If we go back to Agia Marina, we will stay at Santa Marina Plaza!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms close to the street. This gives noise, even during the night. Ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Ruben D,

Thank you very much for contributing with your review on such a nice way!

We appreciate all of your positive comments and we are looking forward to seeing you again in one of your next visits to Crete.

Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nice hotel situated on te beach, not far away from town Chania. Very easy to drive from the airport.
Very clean, staff is smiley and helpful. The meal in the Restaurant is tasty,
Nothing to complain.
Definitely will be back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natasha080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear natasha080,

Thank you so much for your review and excellent scoring!

Every memebr of the staff is proud to read your opinion about them and we hope that we will see you agin in the near future

Best regards

The managemet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very nice. Only 4 Euros for a coffee! I asked for water at breakfast and they told me to get up and get it myself! Super. The pool is quite and nice. Beach area is super nice and clean. Laundry service cost 65 euros for one load, but they did an excellent job folding my underwear.

Room Tip: Ocean view and pool view are not very different. The pool faces the ocean. So not worth the upchar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vsarikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Vsarikas,

Thank you for your review contribution and scoring!

In regards to your comments about the price of the coffee we would like to mention that the prices are listed on the bar catalogue. In this way the guests are aknowledged about the prices before they order. Same applies to the laundry service, whereas we have a pricelist on a form in the room, which the guests complete and hand in at the front desk. In this way again the guests know in advance and can calculate the cost before they order the service.

In relation to your comment for the water. We shall also mention that during the breakfast buffet-service, we only serve coffe or tea to the tables for our guests. When our guests need some water we offer it at the buffet along with the fresh juices and other refreshments. We believe that the member of our staff just informed you about that.

Anyhow, we have a feeling that overall you had a nice time to our hotel as your scoring is witnessing

Hope to have the chance to see you again at our premises

Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

For travellers having experienced a true 5star hotel service, Santa Marina Plaza would not be recommended.
Lack of professionalism and impersonal service approach are few to describe the level of hotel services in Santa Marina Plaza.
Through our 8 night stay we have experienced various failures that justify our bitter experience; just to name some: wiping the restaurant while customers having breakfast, closing breakfast and picking up all the utensils before breakfast ending time, charging the safe at euros 2.5 per day, requesting us a check-out earlier than the hour agreed.
The hotel has all the necessary facilities to be named after ''luxurious 5star boutique hotel'', nevertheless top management and staff have to make the extra mile to get it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mag_Vag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mag_Vag,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

It is rather unfortunate to read all these negative comments you descrice in regards to our provided service and we apologise that you perceived it this way.

On the other hand, after the various conversations and feedback you were giving us during your stay at our hotel, we never realised such a negative impression from your side. We honestly had an impression that you were satisfied staying here. Furthermore, it would have been greatly appreciated if you had reported any issues arised from the hotels' service such the ones you describe on your review, during your stay. In this way, you would have given us the opportunity to correct them accordingly. However, we believe that the problems that you mention were accidental occasions as they are not standard procedures, otherwise there would have been other guests complaining for the same, which obviously it is not the case.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The friendly and professional staff; the hotel location - directly on the beach; the well maintained rooms and grounds, plus the excellent cuisine made our stay memorable.

Thank you all for a making our stay a treat! I recommended the Santa Marina Plaza for its service, high standards, location and the warmth of the hospitality extended.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisa404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear elisa404,

Thank you for your short but nice review and for your recommendation!

Hope to see you again very soon!

Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It is a good hotel and the majority of the staff very polite, friendly and efficient but our stay was spoilt because we didn't use the hotel safe in our room. My partner had over £200 sterling stolen from the pocket of a garment hanging in the wardrobe. Even if you do use the safe, it is not very nice to think someone is rifling through your things. We booked through Olympic Holidays and I e-mailed them with a letter to forward to the hotel. They replied saying they would do so but more than two weeks have passed and I have heard nothing from the hotel management. So just be aware that there are thieves operating in this hotel, whether staff or opportunist outsiders - I don't know but do use the safe for your valuables.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosa713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#7 of 31 in Agia Marina
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 109 in Chania Town
511 reviews
78.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
708 reviews
102.1 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#8 of 35 in Elounda
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Plaza

Property: Santa Marina Plaza
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#10 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTA MARINA PLAZA Hotel is built at the sun-blessed beach of Aghia Marina, at a mere 8 kilometers from the city of Chania. It’s looking forward to offering to every visitor of the island, an unforgettable stay in one of its 49 luxurious rooms and 2 Junior Suites.All hotel rooms have magnificent view of the sea and are equipped with a Mini-Bar, Air-Conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, two direct dial telephones, wireless internet line, electronic safe, bathroom covered in marble and a hair dryer. In addition to the above, Laundry service, Childcare service, Room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Plaza Hotel Agia Marina
Santa Marina Plaza Chania
Santa Marina Plaza Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing