We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have just come back from 2 weeks all inclusive at Santa Marina Beach. I travelled with my husband and 2 children aged 15 and 12. Our room was on the side where the pool is. It was very small for four of us but then again you are hardly in your room when on holiday. The room was cleaned everyday. The animation team were fantastic, Samuele made us feel very welcome and Alessandra had us doing water gym most days. My family joined in with a number of activities that were organised. Across the road which you can reach by a subway is the main restaurant where all the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Katerina. You sit at the restaurant with views of the sea. The sea is shallow for quite a way, very calm when we were there, ideal for young children and is very clear.
We got on a bus to Chania which was only 12 euros return for four of us. Chania is very pretty, lots of souvenir shops and you can get 1 hour glass bottom boat trips from the harbour. We also had a couple of trips on the fun train.
This is lovely hotel, with friendly staff in the restaurant, pool bar and reception. We had a relaxing holiday and met some nice people. The only problem is the lack of sunbeds around the pool area, they go very quickly but there could be more sunbeds made available. Sometimes you just had to sit on chairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelacolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Angelacolton,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your excellent scoring.
It is great to read that you and your family had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you enjoy all of our available facilities such as the food and the animation program.
Regarding your notice about the sunbeds we would like to inform you that the total number of them be determined by the Greek Law of the exploitation of the beaches.
The management and the staff of our hotel wish to you and your family all the best, and they are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    206
    79
    24
    15
See reviews for
176
190
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

very good hotel. located at aprox 10-15 minutes with public transportation to Chania town, a bit more (with taxi) to the airport. The hotel has buildings on both sides of the main street crossing the seaside resort. On the beach side they have the restaurant, reception, and some guest rooms (i counted aprox 10, on second level having good seaview), while on the other side of the street you can get through a tunel and they have there several buildings with guest rooms, minibar, giftshop, outdoor pool. The great majority of guests come from northern europe. Buffet meals with choices for everyone, indoor and outdoor restaurant, sandy beach in front of the hotel. - the goods: the personel, from front office to restaurant and maids = very good. The beach consists of powder fine sand, the water cristal blue, no waves, no winds, like a huuge swiming pool = excellent. The meals are tasty and plenty. aaand,...- a few minuses: the wireless internet is against charge, and does not work fine, low signal, takes a lot to connect, etc. (but you do not go on holiday to surf the net) . The safe in the rooms is against charge. (but there was no problem of security of belongings). The sunbeds and umbrelas on their own private beach is against charge. (but this is common in Greece). If you go to the beach at 9 a.m. you'll find all sunbeds empty, but reserved with towels by individuals... ( yes, that was really anoying) . On the beach there is a team of 4-6 or even more massage therapists who offer you their services,.. even if not asked. (but you can pretend you sleep or simply say "no thank you"... repeteadly). And the bathtubes are strange...narrow and long, difficult to shower in, no curtains, each time half of the water was sprayed all over the bathroom. (but there is daily maid cleaning, so... ). Overall, fair and good 4* hotel, convinced us to recommend it to others and even to re-visit if given the oportunity in the future. There is a particular thing i would recommend the hotel management, if they read this: in the garden, they have a wonderful spot, the armchairs and sofas in the shadow of the olivetrees. Magnificent place, but just one... for all the guests. Some of the guests extended the bad habit to "reserve" even this place with their towels, like the sunbeds. Maybe the hotel could use the whole garden to install this kind of shadowed sofas, so more guests could enjoy the relaxation outside even at noon, when the sun is way to hot to stay exposed.

Room Tip: main building, second floor, aprox 10 rooms that have nice sea view over the olive trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank forised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear forised,
Thank you so much for you lovely review.
We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay at our hotel. Regarding your notice about the massage therapists who were on the beach, we would like to inform you that we have already hired a security person on the beach in order to keep all these therapists away of our guests.
It is great to read that you enjoyed the shadow of our trees at the garden area. Your notice is already forwarded to the management in order to make this spot bigger.
Finally, we would like to thank for all of your compliments about our food, rooms and the beach area, and for your recommendation of our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our Stay in this very homely friendly hotel was great thanks to Filio Mylonaki who made it even more special on my birthday.Thank you.!Rooms, beach, food , staff all EXCELLENT.kind, friendly and just a home away from home.Wonderful.

Room Tip: Garden room more than adequate if one doesnt want to be near noise of pool.spacious, large balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear amanda c,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for all of your kind words.
We are really proud to read your review description “home away from home”.
It will be our pleasure to gives us the chance to celebrate your next birthday again with us.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Santa Marina hotel is a hotel with excellent amenities and extraordinary service. First of all, our accomodation at the fully equipped rooms with a view to the wonderful green garden and the sea was an exhilarating experience and created a really cozy and relaxing atmosphere. Not to mention the helpful and polite staff, always willing to offer their services. Apart from that, it has an animation team which rocks!
The location is ideal, since it is so close to the city centre and one can have a very easy access to it and to other places around the area. Generally, Agia Marina is a place which offers everything, from small local shops for souvenirs to cafes and restaurants as well.
I highly recommend that you organize your holidays at this wonderful resort!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Emily J,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, for all of your compliments, and for your recommendation of our hotel.
We are really proud to read that you had a pleasant and memorable stay at our Hotel.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again on your next visit at Crete.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Santa Marina Beach 4* has a really good location stretching across the Cretan Sea. It's situated in the heart of Agia Marina where are small shops and traditional Greek tavernas offering great dolmades and musaka. Platanias (about 3 km) can be reached within walking distance, also it's advisable to go to the old capital of Crete - Chania (about 8 km). Just there, your eyes are invited by beautiful harbour, long piazzas and by the way romantic wide streets with their unusual spirit.
However, you can buy nice souvenirs there, starting from fashionable bags and ending on olive soaps and tapenade. The tiny shop Agora in the centre is the place which must be visited cause of the good prices and the high quality.

More about the hotel... Recently I've read that the rooms are not okay, even dirty. To be honest me and my parents got a nice one, number 603, located in the second building close to the swimming pool area. Actually we had to go to the sea and the restaurant by passing the tunnel but I think the beautiful views around were worth it. The rooms were not so big but still spacious and well-furnitured. We had a small terrace overviewing neighbouring buildings and a street.

The swimming pool area was big enough, I reckon. Although sitting there and drinking days and nights is not my cup of tea, I enjoyed it. There were animations there and congratulations for the animation service with friendly, bright-eyed Samuele and Alessandra (Italy) and Edita (Lithuania). Love you, guys. Near the swimming pool you can take something from the bar (of course, if u have an all Inclusive) like snacks, soft drinks, juices and more and more. The same bar is near the reception and on the restaurant area (main building).

Now, it's the high time to talk about cuisine. Good, various food with an amazing fresh orange juice at the breakfast time. You can try something Greek, Italian, French (/Mediterranean) or continental. The stuff working near the restaurant is friendly and helpful (greetings for Nikos and Dimitris). The people who have all Inclusive can take one/two courses a la carte (vine, 3 delicious meals). It'll be in the white restaurant with nice surroundings.

The best thing of this hotel is not only the location but also people. Many thanks to charming Filio working in the reception who showed us the bright way of life. We miss you already.
I think this hotel is worth recommending. If you wanna be close to Chania, have fun, sample great food, meet amazing people and admire nice landscapes around the hotel, you must go there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Klaudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Klaudia K,
Thank you very much for your fantastic description of your stay at our Hotel.
The management and the staff of our Hotel are already informed about your kind words and they wish you all the best.
It was pleasant for us to welcome you at our hotel and we will be very happy to see you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were 8 persons staying at the hotel for 2 weeks with all inclusive, all af us was very pleased with the hotel and the staff. The rooms was very clean and the food was eccelent

Stavros and the others in the pool bar performed an eccelent service for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Kaare L,
Thank you very much for taking time to review us on tripadvisor.
We are really proud to read that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our Hotel.
It will be pleasant for us to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassjo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The location of the hotell was awesome close to the beach and close to some small shops, just 5 minutes by buss and you were at the bigger city where they had resturants and clubs and also shopping. The best part of the hotell though must have been the staff, always being nice and happy and the animation team was awesome they had activites every day so creed to Samuele and his team. Would love to go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oekblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Oekbland,
Thank you very much for your review and for your preference to our Hotel.
As you are already mentioned, the satisfaction of our guests is the first priority of the management and the staff of our Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#6 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#4 of 22 in Stalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Beach Hotel

Property: Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Address: Aghia Marina Beach, Agia Marina, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#5 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Beach Chania
Santa Marina Beach Hotel Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing