We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, lovely staff, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Rossdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely location, lovely staff, good hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We spent a glorious week here in June with a couple of other families. The room was a little on the small side, the decor slightly tired, but the view out over the seafront was wonderful. We chose to go all-inclusive and it really paid off with fresh salads and tasty fruit alongside the Greek specialities and ever present chips ;-)
Everyone at the hotel was very helpful, incredibly friendly and made us feel completely at home.
Our kids had a great time, we had a wonderfully relaxing time, need I say more?

Room Tip: Opt for a beach front room and ask for a mattress topper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOPS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Mops6,

Thank you very much for your really nice review and recommendation for our beautiful hotel!

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the all Inclusive scheme as well as the served food and the provided service!
It is our first priority to maintain and provide the best possible service for our guests in order to be able to meet their expectations!
In your case it looks like we have suceeded!

Looking forward to seeing you once again next season!

Best regards,

Te management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    211
    82
    24
    15
See reviews for
184
197
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My husband and I were upgraded to this hotel from their sister hotel and we really didn't know what to expect. However, we very much enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in one of their beach front rooms, which had a private terrace that you could hear the waves from- something we really enjoyed. The breakfast and dinners they offered were also very good, and included fresh squeezed OJ every morning. The beach is sandy and great for a swim. It's also very close to Chania and other parts of the western island. We did not know what to expect from this hotel- and we were very impressed with their service, room, and location. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Bri B,

Thank you so much for your excellent scoring on your review!

We are really proud to read that you enjoyed our served breakfast as well as the served dishes during the dinner. The hotel as you mention is ideally located in a very cosmopolitan and lively area same time being near to the city of Chania and the attractions and shops.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Santa Marina Beach hotel is by far the biggest hotel we ever stayed in, with approximately 188 rooms, but we had a great time! The hotel is within Agia Marina, but away from all nightclub noises, which made it ideal for us. The beach is right by the hotel with lovely clear and shallow water. Perfect for children!
We had a slight issue with the bunkbed in our room, but it was swiftly resolved. All the staff were very friendly and helpful! Our room was cleaned daily by Crete's nicest Maid and all other areas of the hotel were equally clean!
They serve buffet style meals with a huge selection of salads and fruits. Even our fussy youngest daughter found something she liked every day!
I have read negative reviews about the divide of the hotel to both sides of the main road, but to be honest, it was never an issue for us, as you can access both parts savely via an underpassage.
Overall we had a fabulous holiday and we can only recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the pool side of the hotel are slightly bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Angela R,

Thank you very much for taking this time to review us and for your excellent scoring!

Cleanliness is very important to us and we are thanking you for mentioning that our hotel was excellent on this part. We are sorry for the little problem with your room, however as you also mention we did our best to correct it as soon as possible. We are really happy that the served food variety and flavors have met your expectations and it is also very important that you refer to the underground tunnel which connects the two parts of the hotel!

Looking forward to meeting you again at our premises!

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Santa Marina Beach offered us a great experience, especially that this was our first time in Crete. The food was really diverse and tasty with lots of local specialties, the room was really good and the stuff excellent. We will be back there, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Alexandra C,

Thank you for your beautiful comments about our hotel, after your first visit experience in Crete! We are all very proud that through our hotel service and facilities we managed to offer you such a nice impression of our island Crete!

We all hope to see you gain very shortly,

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I am so satisfied of my stay at Santa Marina Beach Hotel in Crete. From the moment we arrived, the hotel staff was very friendly to us and always there to help us with anything as much as they could. The location of the hotel is great, as there are many shops and restaurants around and it's not very far from the city of Chania. The beach was great and so was the food. Overall we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Irina J,

Than you very much for such a nice review!

Aghia marina, where our hotel is located as a well-known cosopolitan area with many retail shops, restaurants, mini markets, suvenir shops ets. around same time not being far from the city of Chania and Platanias! The beach is sandy and the waters are very clean!
The staff has already been notified for your nice comments and thay all wish you the best!

Thank again for your excellent scoring,

Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a room right on the beach which was handy for morning runs/walks and great clear water for swimming. Breakfast offered a great selection as did the dinner meal. The bar tender was very good and quite knowledgeable of drinks and the kitchen staff was very expedient offering speedy service. Coffee needs to be relocated away from juice as there was always a traffic jam there every morning. Great relaxing vacation and great local restaurants nearby especially Taverna Lemonia across the street. Owner met and talked with us giving us samples during our lunch visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 65buickguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have just come back from 2 weeks all inclusive at Santa Marina Beach. I travelled with my husband and 2 children aged 15 and 12. Our room was on the side where the pool is. It was very small for four of us but then again you are hardly in your room when on holiday. The room was cleaned everyday. The animation team were fantastic, Samuele made us feel very welcome and Alessandra had us doing water gym most days. My family joined in with a number of activities that were organised. Across the road which you can reach by a subway is the main restaurant where all the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Katerina. You sit at the restaurant with views of the sea. The sea is shallow for quite a way, very calm when we were there, ideal for young children and is very clear.
We got on a bus to Chania which was only 12 euros return for four of us. Chania is very pretty, lots of souvenir shops and you can get 1 hour glass bottom boat trips from the harbour. We also had a couple of trips on the fun train.
This is lovely hotel, with friendly staff in the restaurant, pool bar and reception. We had a relaxing holiday and met some nice people. The only problem is the lack of sunbeds around the pool area, they go very quickly but there could be more sunbeds made available. Sometimes you just had to sit on chairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelacolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Angelacolton,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your excellent scoring.
It is great to read that you and your family had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you enjoy all of our available facilities such as the food and the animation program.
Regarding your notice about the sunbeds we would like to inform you that the total number of them be determined by the Greek Law of the exploitation of the beaches.
The management and the staff of our hotel wish to you and your family all the best, and they are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 109 in Chania Town
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iolida Beach Hotel
Iolida Beach Hotel
#10 of 31 in Agia Marina
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Beach Hotel

Property: Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Address: Aghia Marina Beach, Agia Marina, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#5 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Beach Chania
Santa Marina Beach Hotel Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing