We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Low quality of food!”
Review of Iolida Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iolida Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Low quality of food!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great hotel for family vacation. It is better not to opt for the all-inclusive or half-board since the food quality is below average. Although we paid for it, we used to go out for dinner. The wi-fi connection was poor as well. The location of the hotel is great since there is a super-market next to it. Our room and balcony were spacious with a great view to the pool and the sea. We were very satisfied with the quality of the room and the amenities offered. Everything was very clean and newly furnished. Apart from food quality, I would definitely suggest this hotel to families with young children.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor and up have the greater view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    106
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
117
100
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel with my family in June 2013 only to discover the air conditioning was faulty. We normally would persevere without it though the room felt like a sauna and thats no exaggeration. We were told that their were no rooms available. After a bit of complaining they managed to relocate us in another room. Apart from this minor issue I really only have positive comments to say about this hotel.

The room was clean and regularly serviced. The hotel staff were helpful. There was an abundant of food. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was great. We had the all inclusive package included which I recommend (breakfast, lunch, dinner & drinks-including alcoholic).

The pool area was spacious which kept the kids entertained for hours. The bar pool was nice. The hotel offers a Greek dancing show on Fridays and also a show preformed by a magician for children on Sundays.

It's only a 5-10 minute drive the Chania or you can catch the bus if you prefer. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AK99779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Iolida Beach is located in Agia Marina, 10km from Chania Old Town and around 20 km from airport. The hotel is located in two buildings - first one with reception is situated close to the beach, second on the other side of street. Buildings are connected together by a bridge above the street. Swimming pools are close to each building - a smaller one close to the beach, a bigger one with a nice pool-bar on the other side of the street, close to the second building. The restaurant for both buildings is located almost on the beach, most of tables are on terrace with beautiful view on the sea. The staff is very friendly, smiling and helpfull. The beach close to the hotel is rather narrow, but sandy, without stones. An umbrella with two sunbeds cost 5EUR per day, the hotel is offering towels for sunbeds. We stayed in second building on the other side of the street, on 5th floor. We had beautiful view on the sea and an an Theodorai island. We had two bedrooms, one with flat TV, small, well equipped kitchen annex, and a nice bathroom with shower. Beds were very comfortable. Rooms were very clean, maids every day prepared a nice animal from towels. My daughter loved it and asked the whole day, what kind of a towel animal we will have in the room. The restaurant offered a very tasty food, we could choose from a big offer of meat, vegetables, fruits and deserts. The hotel is located on the main street of Agia Marina, full of restaurants, shops and other attractions. You can go to Chania by bus (a bus stop is close to the hotel) or by taxi (14EUR to the Old Town). Animations in the hotel are not available, the hotel offers the dancing show on Fridays and the magican show for children on Sundays. We really liked this hotel, we spent wonderful holidays here and we can recommend it for others, who looks for quiet location on Crete.

Room Tip: Crossing the bridge between buildings requires overcoming stairs. You can go also cross the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrzej67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Iolida beach hotel was very nice. Clean room, quick service, very kind staff members and value for money stay. It combines sea side (Chania bay) with pools. Fantastic sea view opposite Agioi Theodori island. My family has spent a week there and had a very pleasant time. I'm planning to book again in this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stychr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nykobing Mors, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very high standard at this hotel, wich gave us a great relaxing holiday. The 2 pool areas made it possible to play with kids at one plays and relax at an other. great food, great rooms, great service, no complains!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne-aka-Tyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Traveling in Crete and especially during July and August is not an easy matter. Sometimes the traffic or the overloaded infrastructure can make a travellers life complicated. When somebody wants to see things also in the vicinity and not stay all day in his hotel, than certainly many things are more important than a very good hotel.
Iolida is indeed a wonderful hotel in a very strategic location. Out of Chania City, on the beach and still close enough for visiting the city with bus, taxi or even the local street train.
The rooms are very spacious with a big bathroom, very ergonomic, they have a big tv, small oven, refrigerator, big closets and generally are perfect also for long stays. Breakfast is more then luxurious. Nevertheless living in the region can lead you to long nights, since the vicintiy is full with bar, restaurants and all possible things that could attract somebody going to bead early in the morning. So you might need to sleep until 12:00 and have a good breakfast - lunch at your balcony with a wonderful view at the Cretan See. Room service is possible but having something prepared at you own small kitchen maybe a better and cheaper solution. It is amazing, that the rooms are so quite and you really can't even think that you are living so close to all that happening during the night.
The room is by far in the luxury class, service is exceptional and fast, facilities, (pools, restaurant, reception, lobby, elevators) are well maintained, clean and nice designed.
Ending my review I would like to mention the low price we received without any special greek methods. The price was so low that we were thinking that something is or would go wrong. Bad guess and everything was perfect. Really amazed from the room, services and location without any kind of problem or disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

In some of brochures this hotel have changed even its name for IOLIDA BEACH RESORT HOTEL. Hearing it you may expect; spacious hotel with a nice, long and rather wide beach. No, no! You are wrong! There is only app. 70 metres long narrow strip of sand and another strip of grass between pool and the beach. Imagine for the four hundred guests such a small place. Gym with rather devastated and not complete machines, and to make it even worse is located in the cellar without AC. There is no more (except the sea and corwded pools) attractions at all. But if you do not care for attractions, especially if you have small children or you have some of disability, try to take room in the older part of the hotel, than you will have all at once (beach, pool and restaurant).

Room Tip: Try to avoid this hotel if you plan to spend your holiday actively.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Medard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.3 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
797 reviews
1.4 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#8 of 31 in Agia Marina
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 110 in Chania Town
533 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iolida Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iolida Beach Hotel

Property: Iolida Beach Hotel
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#6 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Iolida Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iolida Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iolida Beach Hotel Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing