We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite pricey but overall very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thalassa Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quite pricey but overall very nice”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in July with my husband and another couple. We had very high expectations as we had stayed in three other hotels previously and this was most expensive of all. In general all was wonderful.
The breakfast was perfect. It had more than anyone could ask for. The room was very comfy and had all you need.
The pool area was wonderful. Very relaxing and had stools to sit at the bar while in the water. The staff were all very polite, friendly and professional. You could tell they had proper training.

The only two things that bothered me and prevent me from giving a perfect score are:
1. although the food at the dinner was very tasty and of high quality, the portions were small.
2. We could hear a lot of noise from outside our room. People walking up and down the hall way and the stairs. Its best to request a room far from stairs unless this is a general problem due to thin walls.

Because of the amount we were paying our standards were high. Everything met our expectations apart from the above two points.

I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Naso30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    110
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
344
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 7 night stay at the Thalassa Beach Resort. We chose it after reading many other positive reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.
This small family owned hotel was very well run and well cared for. It was spotlessly clean throughout. Our room was lovely and had everything we needed.The hotel was in a central location with shops, supermarket, bars and restaurants on the doorstep but it still retained a calm and relaxing ambience. The outdoor pool area and gardens were especially nice and very tranquil. There was never a problem finding a sunbed at any time of day. We stayed on a half board basis and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and wonderful evening meals outside on the terrace watching the sunset. We never felt hurried and everything was always well stocked with plenty of choice. The staff were all friendly and helpful and seemed to really enjoy their work. We really cannot fault this hotel and would recommend it for couples wanting a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Pool view and sea view rooms have fantastic views but are not South facing. For afternoon and evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gedved, Vejle, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Have just returned from a wonderful summer vacation at the hotel Thalessa Beach Resort. The staff is super! Participated in Greek cooking and Greek coffee cooking. It was fun and very cozy, where you learned the other guests to know. Furthermore, we participated in pilates on the beach (lawn) next to the restaurant - lovely start at the day. Distinguished from the luggage will be brought to the room and you will be greeted with good morning, good afternoon and good evening every time you walk through the front desk.

When we arrived we were all offered 10 min. neck and face massage, which was to be made within the first few days - it was very nice! At the pool will be served daily melon - super delicious. On the website it says that there is a fitness room, but there are just a few treadmills, etc., so it is not worthwhile to pack the large equipment of fitness apparel, and ventilation must unfortunately see far behind.

We had a junior suite which should be suitable for 4 people, we were told. We think, however, that it was too small for 4 adults. The reception staff were very helpful when we, for example, asked if we could make us of trips. We lacked a little input / inspiration in the form of brochures / leaflets or other. The breakfast took place in the restaurant, but there was unfortunately only a few tables outside for up to 4 people, so we always ended up sitting indoors.

Unfortunately the breakfast staff not so bright as to administrative experience and desire. We had to repeatedly ask for cups, cutlery and coffee before it arrived. And slat planets in kaffekanderne were the eyes of all the guests poured from pitcher to pitcher. Extra coffee cups were lined up on a high wall behind us, the staff continually went behind our table!

Although it is only for adults - wonderfully relaxing and very cozy with pool bar where you sit in the pool and drinking drinks. Our room 602 had a beautiful view of the pool and the goat island. There were piano and jazz evening tonight! However, we believe that with the audience represented, a Greek night of dancing or else would be more maintenance plan.

A nice little surprise - when ordering drinks at the pool bar you also get a bowl of chips - it's cool!

A word of advice - hop in the pool a little before half past four, otherwise there is not availability - have fun! (the jacuzzi is very cold)

We had a wonderful and delightful vacation on a small piece of paradise ...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I trust TripAdvisor enough to choose my vacation according to the numerous reviews of its members. This time I was a bit disappointed with the choice of this hotel. I should have looked at Google map to check the hotel location. Alias Marina is an unattractive little seaside resort full of tavernas, cheap shops of all kinds and some traffic, and the hotel is situated right in the city. The beach is sandy but there are large sheets of flat rock which provide a ramp into the water. ( I thought it was made of concrete but it is a natural flat rock ground)
The hotel itself is attractive and comfortable, and the breakfast was absolutely great as I appreciated the choice of Greek specialities on top of normal breakfast food. The rooms are nice and clean, some giving onto a lovely garden, some with sea view, some with no view at all. The prices of rooms are different according to your choice.
Nice and helpful staff.
The spa is beautiful and the treatments highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Decent hotel grounds and lovely staff but..... Firstly, breakfast is ok. Filtered coffee is terrible so my husband and I ordered a cappuccino and latte, we are prepared to pay extra for good coffee. they didnt know what a latte was, even though it is served at the hotel bar, right by the breakfast area. they asked me how it is made? anyhow when it finally came... it was terrible... no where near as good as when I had it at the bar. Holidays need a good coffee to start they day off. We stayed during the beginning of the world cup football. On saturday night Greece was playing. At the bar it was advertised that there would be a tv with football coverage. We wanted two watch both games so we were there from 8pm and wanted dinner whilst watching. However they wouldn't allow us to order from the hotel restaurant. the person in charge of the restaurant wouldn't allow it, no exception even though world cup was on. what was the point of advertising we could watch the football at the bar but without food? so we had choice of club sandwich or pizza. luckily half way through the night the girl at the bar came up with an idea and allowed us to order room service at the bar. by no means did we want a 3 course meal, but some simple meze to accompany our raki/beer. i mention again the staff are wonderful... management needs working on. would it have hurt to order 2 meals from the restaurant? We should have booked a table at a taverna to watch the football. And finally 1 day before check out, we asked if we could have the room for another 2 hours. first it was yes, then it was no, then it was yes - if we payed an extra 30 euro, etc. We informed them that we would pay the extra 30 euro to have the room until 6pm (we only needed another 2 hours). Upon check out they told us that the room was no longer available and that we would have to leave at 12:00. Anyhow after a fuss they gave us the room for another 2 hours without cost. started out our holiday on a happy note, only to leave on a sour one. lack of logic and very inflexible. there is a lack of training to staff and they are unable to handle one of situations like the football, etc. not service orientated. to the owner's credit, after my husband completed the feedback survey, she did meet with us for live feedback so they can improve. we wouldn't stay here again, although the no children clause was wonderful. there are better hotels in chania to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annoula1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for a week last fall. Good location, located in Agia Marina, close to Platanias. Great breakfast and they also had good food at the beach/pool restaurant. Comfy beds, great bathroom, big rooms. Clean, safe and big hotel. The hotel also have an age limit, so it was always quiet with no small children running (and screaming) around.

The only cons was that the beach was not too sandy, the pool was a little too cold for my taste, and unfortunately we had not so much luck with the weather while we were there. On the plus side; great staff, good food, good stay and many good restaurants and supermarkets close by as well.

I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHaRTaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow - Paris
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

A small hotel with a wonderful service and facilities.
We had a garden view room that was very clean, modern and with a very good quality bed.
Breakfasts are ok with most of the classics you can desire, however a little bit of variations from time to time could be appreciated.
Spa is very good.
Reception service is just beyond excellent, helpful and professional.
We ate at the hotel for lunch, that was good and the prices are really competitive comparing to restaurants nearby. However a buffet dinner we had once was really disappointing. Better go outside, there is a big choice of nice taverna and if you have a car, go to Chania directly.
Swimming pool is ok, a lot of good quality sun beds, so there is a place for everybody. Sea is transparent and beautiful, however be aware of the rocks that may be slippery.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank yilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.1 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 110 in Chania Town
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
798 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#8 of 31 in Agia Marina
538 reviews
42.3 mi away
Sensimar Royal Blue Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Beach Resort

Property: Thalassa Beach Resort
Address: 249 Agias Marinas Street, Agia Marina, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#3 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalassa Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thalassa Beach Resort lies in front of one of the most beautiful beaches of Chania,on the island of Crete,with breathtaking view of the sea and Thodorou island. It is an adults-only hotel, specializing in offering romantic services to couples! Luxury, sophisticated design and atmospheric combinations are features which dominate in this hotel.Visit in Thalassa Beach Resort:Thalassa Spa: with indoor swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and special packages for couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thalassa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Beach Hotel Agia Marina
Thalassa Beach Resort Crete/Agia Marina, Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing