We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't We Have A Lovely Time- More than lived up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta do Barranco da Estrada
Certificate of Excellence
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Didn't We Have A Lovely Time- More than lived up to expectations”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had the best week ever staying at the Quinta in Alentjo . We wont forget the experience in a hurry. The first thing I noticed was the scent of flowers everywhere and the views.
The hospitality and kindness modestly and humour of the owners Frank and Danielle just made the holiday. Their daughters were great fun too and as for their family pets we met them all!. Frank and Daniella know so much about the wildlife and share their knowledge with a light touch. They took time to show us everything, the bird trip was amazing, we saw numerous birds including little owls and an Imperial eagle, we ate delicious food and stayed in a delightful room. I'm missing it already and cannot wait to go again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually furnished, mine had antique bird paintings, a beautiful quilt and smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
156
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pewsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

After floods and endless rain in the UK we wanted to find sunshine but it had to be sunshine with attitude – i.e. not sitting on a beach. When we found the Quinta online we were attracted by the bird-watching on offer and the majestic remoteness of the region.

When we arrived we were immediately welcomed by Frank and Daniella, their family and the four dogs all of whom were to become our friends. We had dinner together every day –often with other guests, and Daniella could not have been more thoughtful, catering for a restricted diet.

On the days we stayed “at home” we wandered along a path beside a brook among the cork oaks coming across birds, lizards, frogs and wild boar tracks, or we sat on the terrace or in the exotic terraced garden with magnificent views across the lake nearly always accompanied by at least one dog.

Our holiday was 10 days during which we booked three days out “birding”. These days were the highlights of our visit. We never could have found all the places we were taken to – often quite exciting off-road driving – nor would we have seen approx. 100 different species without Frank’s immense knowledge and skill. The very first bird we saw, a Spanish Imperial Eagle sitting on a rock will not be forgotten.
Nor will we forget the warm hospitality we received and, needless to say, fully intend to book a return visit.
A magic place with or without the birding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

First heard about 'Paradise in Portugal' at Birdfair - then read the reviews, and our recent stay was all too short. Be prepared for the 4km drive down a rough track to reach the Quinta, but our hired Fiat Punto was able to cope!
Superb hospitality provided by Frank, Daniella and family. Location, in the middle of nowhere, was peaceful and relaxing and a good base for birding, walking, etc. Our day out with Frank (in his "Tank") was well worth the pre-dawn start to get our first views of Great Bustard in the mist to start a memorable day's birding. It's now on our 'must revisit' list!

Room Tip: Our en-suite room was unheated, without A/C or television - but that was all part of the charm of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Having just been prompted by an online article about the Alentejo, I suddenly remembered the idyllic 10 days my wife and I spent at this place in May 1996!! I am delighted to see that the 'Quinta' is thriving and is clearly continuing to elicit the praise that it surely still deserves.
My wife was recuperating from major surgery and the care and attention we received from the owners (I am sure it was Frank and his wife) was fantastic. Other highlights: the lively repartee around the communal dinner table, the stories of Frank and his family arriving in Portugal by an ex-London bus (??), my first sighting of a bee-eater, the glorious night-time scent of jasmine, the sight of massive toads on the lawn after rain and my first capture of a large-mouth bass from the lake. I could go on. (Trip Advisor wants me to indicate when in the past year we travelled here. I've put in May 2013 even though we haven't been here for 18 years.)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessiesdad39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
algarve
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This delightful retreat is not just for birdwatchers as I do not know the difference between a buzzard and a bustard yet had a wonderful stay at Frank and Daniela's Paradise. This lakeside domain truly is one of the most calming and inspiring locations for those who need to chill out for a few days and breath in the clear air of the Alentejo.

The apartment/cabin we were in was well thought out, comfortable and the bathroom rather luxurious. After nearly 3 decades the owner is of course a fund of useful and often surprising local knowledge about birds and wildlife of course, but other matters also such as how to deter wild boar without actually shooting them.

I have already booked for next season and already imagine myself on the jetty with a cold beer and a good book...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It had been 16 years since we last spent time at Quinta do Barranco da Estrada and it did not disappoint. Frank and Daniella were perfect hosts. The food, views and company were excellent and we hope not to leave it so long before our next visit.

Room Tip: Lovely rustic rooms with wonderfully views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Feeling very lucky to have been able to visit the Quinta for a 2nd time, having loved it so much 2 years ago. Great to be back as it gets better and better. So glad Harry the parrot is still entertaining us! Everything else as wonderful as ever - just the place for peace and quiet with the beautiful gardens and stunning lakeside views. Always fun and interesting to chat with other guests at meal-times. Frank and Daniela, with family and staff, looking after us so kindly. We thank you all, see you soon!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PenguinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara a Velha
24.0 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
268 reviews
18.5 mi away
Macdonald Monchique Resort & Spa
16.4 mi away
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sao Teotonio
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Herdade do Touril
Herdade do Touril
#1 of 12 in Zambujeira do Mar
359 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casas de Saboia
Casas de Saboia
#2 of 2 in Saboia
9 reviews
2.0 mi away
Herdade Do Azinhal
Herdade Do Azinhal
#1 of 1 in Santa Clara a Velha
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Barranco da Estrada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Barranco da Estrada

Property: Quinta do Barranco da Estrada
Address: Quinta do Barranco da Estrada, Santa Clara a Velha 7665-880, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Santa Clara a Velha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara a Velha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta do Barranco da Estrada 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of the Quinta is a small, intimate, holiday retreat for peace and relaxation. It boasts a blend of traditional hospitality, "International home-cooking" cuisine and a friendly atmosphere with excellent, friendly service.Set in a beautiful lakeside location, the Quinta is surrounded by unspoiled countryside with a wide variety of wildlife and rare birds in its gardens and surrounding countryside. In short it's Paradise in Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta do Barranco da Estrada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Barranco Da Estrada Hotel Santa Clara a Velha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing