We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crockerton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crockerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crockerton House
Ranked #1 of 4 Crockerton B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed here on Friday 9th Decemeber for a special occasion and to visit Longleat the following day. The website had clear directions helping us find the property easily. We were greeted by Chris who was very friendly and welcoming and showed us around the property and our room, providing us with a list of local recomended pubs/resturants accompanied with a map. The room (The Heytesbury Suite) was very spacious with a walk through corridor in which the toilet and bathroom were off. The room had lovely features and gorgeous views.

We ate at the Bath Arms in which Chris recommended and was only a 2 minute drive (too dark to walk). The food was lovely, fresh local meat, with a friendly atmosphere. On our return Chris greeted us asking how the food was, seeing if we needed anything and wishing us a good night.

Had a very good nights sleep, house is far back from the road and therefore very quite, with a comfy bed. The only slight dissapointment was the lack of a DVD player, however the website does not state that there is one. The breakfast was lovely, Chris and Enid were very accomodating. We had fresh fruit salad provided, a choice of tea/coffee and freshly squezed orange or apple juice from their garden. The meat was all fresh and very tasty, kept you full all morning. As much white/brown toast was offered as wanted. My partner only wanted bacon and sausage instead of the full english offered, Enid kindly cooked him double the portion.

We had a lovely stay! Very friendly and accomodating landlord and lady, a lovely house and would definately return if we are in the area. We also viewed the cottage, which we would be very interested in staying in, in the future, as it is in a private setting and very homely. Longleat was a 5 minute drive. We would both thoroughly recommend to anyone looking to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    34
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
139
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk res
Level Contributor
297 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is a lovely renovated house going back to the 1760`s. Out room was spacious with a well appointed bathroom and a comfortable be.Mine host was especially courteous and welcoming. Great breakfast .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I was looking for something a little different from the usual Premier Inn type of accomodation. This fitted the bill perfectly and at a similar price range but way above in quality. The room was very nice and the breakfast was perfect.The owners were a very friendly and kind couple. I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheerness
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had the officers room, with the bathroom and toilet in hall way. The plus and minus, we had a lovely large bathroom, but not so keen on the toilet being end of hall, especially at night, wasnt a massive problem. Room very big, clean airy, loved it. breakfast on the small side for my husband, but very tastey, with fresh fruit salade, homemade bread and marmalade, and fresh apple juice from the garden. We like to stroll to local pubs, but unable to do this, very dark roads. We were welcomed with tea, and our hosts a very friendly, kind couple.

Room Tip: two rooms have en-suite,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smileysylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Booked the biggest room for one night to crash in after a friends party and it was enormous. Didn't realise how lovely it would be and wished we had booked for two nights. Such a beautiful house with beautiful gardens. Very friendly owners who were quietly accommodating and cooked a lovely breakfast. The smell of woodfires and bacon took me right back to my childhood staying on a farm. The room was bright and clean and the bed enormous and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I booked a room there for my parents who came over for one week end. They really enjoyed staying at Crockerton House. Their comments were:
- Really friendly people
- Great breakfast with a wide choice
- Beautiful house and garden
- Bedroom really comfortable and quiet.
I would recommend this place to anyone who's looking for a comfortable and high standard B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here in July 2011
The room was ok. The reviews seemed a lot better than the actually real thing.
Friendly owners. Again, breakfast was ok! Everything was very boarderline average.
Not much to do in actual Crockerton. Longleat safari close by.
Quite disappointed overall. Not value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natsy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisrichmond, Owner at Crockerton House, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Two thirds of our reviews are 'Excellent' and this review from ‘Natsy1981’ (anagram of ‘nasty’), which has taken about two months to send, is vague and doesn't make sense. Crockerton has four accommodation providers and there is no indication that they are referring to 'Crockerton House'. Their overall rating is 'Poor' yet four out of five categories are rated ‘Average’ and they say the room and breakfast were 'OK' and the owners 'Friendly'. Also, what do they mean with the heading 'Pictures do it justice'?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crockerton
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 26 in Warminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#9 of 26 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.8 mi away
Somerset Arms
Somerset Arms
#1 of 3 in Maiden Bradley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#2 of 4 in Crockerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockerton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockerton House

Property: Crockerton House
Address: Crockerton Green | Warminster, Crockerton BA12 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Crockerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crockerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crockerton House Hotel Crockerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing