We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crockerton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crockerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crockerton House
Ranked #1 of 4 Crockerton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Crockerton House early November and had a wonderful time. Chris was so kind and super helpful and recommended great places to have dinner in the area. Extremely hospitable, lovely house and room, highly recommended! Many thanks, Daphne and Udi

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaphneSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    34
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
139
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at Crockerton House on our way back from a visit to Bristol in late November. Upon arrival, we received a warm welcome as well a lovely hot cup of tea and home-made shortbread.
Christopher and Enid are the proprietors of this charming, stylish and historic house, having had many years of experience of running an hotel in Devon before moving to Wiltshire.

The house, in it's one and a half acres, is set back from a fairly busy road, although this doesn't interfere with the tranquillity of the place. A beautifully large, well kept lawn at the front of the house with it's stepping stones to the entrance, enhances the setting.

We had the Heytesbury suite, with it's large, delightful room and own corridor, bathroom and separate toilet. Tea facilities were available, with fresh milk! We had views of both the front and back gardens. The king sized bed was really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep.
In the morning we had a delicious breakfast, with fresh apple juice from the orchard. The food is mainly organic and locally sourced.

We were able to look around the back, kitchen garden, and in particular, to have a look around the old 19th century stable at the bottom of the garden which has been cleverly and tastefully converted into a holiday stay cottage with a wonderful view overlooking the countryside. This can now be rented and would be ideal for any season of the year. It has original features including the roof beams which were sandblasted to give a new, fresh look. It has a well fitted kitchen and lounge area with a wood burner for when the weather gets colder. There is a good sized bedroom with a large bed and wet room facilities. Just the place to unwind and enjoy the peace of the countryside and the surrounding attractions it has to offer.

Situated in the Wylye Valley, Crockerton is an ideal centre for exploring Wiltshire, Somerset and Dorset. It is only a couple of miles from Warminster and 4 from Longleat. The village of Crockerton gets it's name from when it produced pottery. From the 15th century to 1894 it had a cloth mill, which later changed to silk. It has quite a few listed buildings, including two chapels and a church.

Crockerton House itself dates back to 1669 when it was part of the Marquess of Bath's, Longleat Estate. In 1707 it was leased to Thomas Croome, a Wool Stapler when the annual rent at that time was 5 shillings and eight pence, one capon and six chickens. It then passed on through various people and in 1915 a photo of Belgian refugees can be seen in residence. In 1919 , Lt. K. Mountstephen Wills of 2nd Battalion, Australian Imperil Forces was there. The property at that time was known as 'The Green House,' at which time six months rent cost £40. The interesting history goes on, until November 2005, when the property was sold to the present owners, Christopher and Enid Richmond. In 2007 it opened as a bed and breakfast after 12 months restoration.

I would certainly not hesitate to recommended stay at Crockerton House.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We are a young couple who stayed at crockerton house for a weekend trip to Longleat.

We arrived to a warm welcome from Chris, offering to assist us with our bags.

We were shown to our lovely room, we stayed in the suite and it was a large room, perfectly clean and tidy with plenty of amenities, including fresh milk and homemade biscuits. (Which were delicious!)

We were invited to afternoon tea and cake by the fire when we arrived and it was delicious.

The following morning we went down for breakfast and had the most delicious bread, and local produce for breakfast. Everything cooked fresh to order.... Could have eaten double!!

A very pleasant stay and a lovely warm feel.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We recently stayed for one night at Crockerton House after a day at Longleat and it was the perfect place on a frosty autumn night. Chris was so welcoming and looked after us incredibly well while Enid's home cooked food was delicious and warming. Breakfast was pretty special too.
We didn't use the gardens much as it was cold and we were only there for the night but they looked lovely and the views form the house are stunning.
Very well run and comfortable house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a two night break at Crockerton house and it was absolute bliss! We were met with tea by the log fire and had a very comfy spacious room to ourselves. The gardens looked beautiful (through the pouring rain!) and would be lovely to spend some time in; as it was we were more than happy inside in the warm. Longleat was minutes away and a great day out, Chris and Enid made us feel very welcome and were a huge help with local knowledge to make the most of the weekend. Delicious breakfasts, the best poached eggs i've ever had!

Room Tip: (I have just ticked the 'Fitness centre' by accident and now can't get rid of it! To my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopeSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Crockerton House. Chris and Enid were both very welcoming and helpful. The room was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. Breakfast at Crockerton was delicious with apples and pears straight from the garden. We would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SianandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have just had a very pleasant few days at Crockerton House. We were made most welcome and anything extra we required was willingly provided. Our room was spacious and very pretty. The only down side for anyone with a mobility problem is the walk from the car park across the lawn on a narrow path to the front door. Fortunately Chris was a wiling helper with bags and baggage. We would happily use The George Inn (about a mile away) again for dinner- food good and staff very pleasant.

The very large garden was well maintained and very attractive.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with en suite both very attractive. Third room has very good private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robelaine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crockerton
2.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
822 reviews
1.2 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#7 of 25 in Warminster
297 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 25 in Warminster
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#2 of 4 in Crockerton
137 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Weymouth Arms
The Weymouth Arms
#4 of 25 in Warminster
139 reviews
4.8 mi away
Somerset Arms
Somerset Arms
#1 of 3 in Maiden Bradley
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockerton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockerton House

Property: Crockerton House
Address: Crockerton Green | Warminster, Crockerton BA12 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Crockerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crockerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crockerton House Hotel Crockerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing