We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont book in advance if there is any possibility of having to cancel.”
Review of Crockerton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crockerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crockerton House
Ranked #1 of 4 Crockerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Having booked in advance to attend the 40th birthday party of my close friend who is the regimental Sargent major of the regiment currently stationed in Warminster on the 16th may, i was unfortunately unable to attend due to personal matters, i contacted the hotel to attempt to cancel my booking on Monday the 12th of may.
i was informed that if i canceled the booking within 7 days i would be charged the full booking price, i had seen this on the booking conformation so i have no argument.
i feel it a shame that the owner still having 4 full working days to fill the room would not out of common decency suggested reducing the cancellation fee to 25%, 50% of the booking price or even a small discount as a token gesture of good will, i could understand if id cancelled the day before but 4 days notice in my opinion is ample notice to cancel a booking regardless of small print, very disappointed, the term daylight robbery springs to mind.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jaydee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisrichmond, Owner at Crockerton House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

We only have three rooms and no fees are charged on bookings cancelled up to 7 days before date of arrival. In line with most other small providers, if cancelled later or in case of no-show, 100 per cent of the first night will be charged. Unfortunately he wanted to cancel only four days before. We were sympathetic and hoped that he would be able to come. He left it open and we heard no more and waited up till 11pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Crockerton House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

My girlfriend and I visited the marvellous Crockerton House for 2 nights over a weekend. The beautifully furnished house and luxurious bedroom (fantastically comfy beds!), in addition to one of the tastiest breakfasts, made our stay one of the most memorable and comfortable ever. The gorgeous house is located 5 minutes from Longleat, set in a beautiful village location, and still only 25 minutes to Bath. Both our hosts were so attentive and lovely to converse with, and top off this amazing experience. I will definitely be returning as soon as I get the time off work!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ollielobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were here for one night in April. It was wonderful. The house has a lot of character. Chris and Enid put us at our ease, and were charming, welcoming hosts. We enjoyed afternoon tea when we arrived, and had a great English breakfast the following morning. The house is beautifully furnished, and spotless. The garden is beautiful and it's obvious that a lot of work is done on it to maintain its condition. Our room was spacious and elegant. I only wish we could have stayed longer. I recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayEssTeeEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were made very welcome and enjoyed the tea, cake and hot cross buns on arrival. We stayed for two nights and our room was large and very comfortable. It was well equiped and we much appreciated the ground coffee and cafetiere and fresh milk in our room - never been treated to this before! Breakfast was another treat with fresh fruit and a delicious cooked breakfast. The house is beautiful, and so are the gardens that surround it. Chris and Enid are lovely hosts and can't do enough to help. An exceptional B&B experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Run by a very welcoming wonderful couple. They made every effort to make our stay perfect and could not do enough to help! The location and grounds were superb! The cleanliness was to the highest of standards and the house was immaculate with attention to fine detail. Would definitely stay again!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslaRockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a lovely stay for three nights. The house is beautiful and in a great location for trips out to Longleat Safari Park or Stourhead. The room we stayed in was spacious and very comfortable. Chris and Enid are very kind and helpful, and cook a fantastic breakfast (I recommend the scrambled eggs!). They are also very happy to suggest places to visit during the day and places to eat out in the evening. If you're visiting the area, then I highly recommend Crockerton House.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123AlexP321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Crockerton House Hotel is a haven of tranquillity and makes a wonderful retreat from the busy world. Although it is a beautiful, historic building, it also provides modern day comforts and luxuries.
We stayed in The Silk Room which is vast, with a lovely, comfortable seating area and fireplace with coffee table. It looks out over the pretty garden behind the house.This room also has a large en-suite with bath and combined shower. The refreshment tray has pretty china and paper napkins, ground coffee, a selection of teas, fresh milk in a vacuum flask and home made biscuits - perfect! There was also fresh fruit in a bowl.
Everything was meticulously clean and fresh. All of the soft furnishings and furniture are of excellent quality and sensitively chosen to be in-keeping with this beautiful country home. Even our fluffy bathrobes were Polo by Ralph Lauren - luxury indeed!
Chris and Enid were super hosts and Enid's plentiful breakfast is cooked to order - my poached eggs were delicious! Enid also offers a home cooked afternoon tea on arrival, but we arrived too late to sample this. I'm sure it is delicious!
Although we only had the pleasure of staying one night, Crockerton House Hotel is very well located as a sightseeing base for many places including Longleat House and Safari Park, Shaftesbury (with the famous Gold Hill from the Hovis advert of the 1970s/80s), Salisbury, Bath etc.
Crockerton House comes very highly recommended and we would love to return. Thank you again to Chris and Enid.

Room Tip: The Silk Room looks over the garden and has en-suite with bath and shower.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123mward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crockerton
2.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
863 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
594 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bath Arms at Longleat
The Bath Arms at Longleat
#1 of 3 in Horningsham
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Botany Camping
Botany Camping
#2 of 5 in Warminster
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
326 reviews
2.0 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockerton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockerton House

Address: Crockerton Green | Warminster, Crockerton BA12 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Crockerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crockerton
Price Range: £85 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crockerton House Hotel Crockerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing