We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above & Beyond”
Review of Crockerton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crockerton House
Ranked #1 of 4 Crockerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above & Beyond”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

As stated above Crockerton House exceeded all expectations! Chris & Enid made us feel extremely welcome and 'at home' from the moment we arrived, serving us homemade scones and jam in the garden. Chris was exceptionally helpful in telling us nice local restaurants and days out.

The grounds of Crockterton House were beautiful and very well maintained. The rooms are extremely spacious & the beds were very comfortable. Homemade biscuts and fresh fruit in the rooms was a nice touch.

The organic breakfast is extremely nice and was always hot, home poached peaches in cinnamon were a favourite

I would most definitely recommend Crockterton and we will be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    34
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
140
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed in one of the three lovely rooms available for guests. Beautiful home and gardens with very kind and nice hosts.

Rooms were very comfortably furnished and large; with mine overlooking the garden at the rear of the house. Windows were adorned with heavy curtains which helped block out the early daylight in order for us to sleep in. Room were also furnished with comfortable seats and a coffee table.

There is also a lovely separate sitting area for guests where one could relax with a book; if one needs to get out of the room.

We were served tea and biscuits on our arrival; and breakfast was lovely.

Some other useful points which maybe useful:
- there is a double bedroom cottage at the bottom of the garden available for slightly longer lets (3-4 days). Found out from the owners only when I was
- Location is convenient for Longleat, Stourton Gardens, even Stonehenge...

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fluffyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I often have to visit Warminster on business and I always go back to Crockerton as its run by a very lovely couple who ensure you have a very comfortable stay. The beds and rooms are very comfortable and they make an amazing breakfast in the morning. I will of course be coming back :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It was a real treat to stay with Chris and Enid at Crockerton House.
They were really conscious of assisting/meeting my dietary requirements.
Lovely afternoon tea and breakfast with homemade bread.
Lovely room, bed and facilities.

Room Tip: We had the Heytesbury suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Having booked in advance to attend the 40th birthday party of my close friend who is the regimental Sargent major of the regiment currently stationed in Warminster on the 16th may, i was unfortunately unable to attend due to personal matters, i contacted the hotel to attempt to cancel my booking on Monday the 12th of may.
i was informed that if i canceled the booking within 7 days i would be charged the full booking price, i had seen this on the booking conformation so i have no argument.
i feel it a shame that the owner still having 4 full working days to fill the room would not out of common decency suggested reducing the cancellation fee to 25%, 50% of the booking price or even a small discount as a token gesture of good will, i could understand if id cancelled the day before but 4 days notice in my opinion is ample notice to cancel a booking regardless of small print, very disappointed, the term daylight robbery springs to mind.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisrichmond, Owner at Crockerton House, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
We only have three rooms and no fees are charged on bookings cancelled up to 7 days before date of arrival. In line with most other small providers, if cancelled later or in case of no-show, 100 per cent of the first night will be charged. Unfortunately he wanted to cancel only four days before. We were sympathetic and hoped that he would be able to come. He left it open and we heard no more and waited up till 11pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My girlfriend and I visited the marvellous Crockerton House for 2 nights over a weekend. The beautifully furnished house and luxurious bedroom (fantastically comfy beds!), in addition to one of the tastiest breakfasts, made our stay one of the most memorable and comfortable ever. The gorgeous house is located 5 minutes from Longleat, set in a beautiful village location, and still only 25 minutes to Bath. Both our hosts were so attentive and lovely to converse with, and top off this amazing experience. I will definitely be returning as soon as I get the time off work!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollielobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flatts Village, Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were here for one night in April. It was wonderful. The house has a lot of character. Chris and Enid put us at our ease, and were charming, welcoming hosts. We enjoyed afternoon tea when we arrived, and had a great English breakfast the following morning. The house is beautifully furnished, and spotless. The garden is beautiful and it's obvious that a lot of work is done on it to maintain its condition. Our room was spacious and elegant. I only wish we could have stayed longer. I recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayEssTeeEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crockerton
2.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
855 reviews
14.4 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
713 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
322 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bath Arms at Longleat
The Bath Arms at Longleat
#2 of 3 in Horningsham
618 reviews
2.0 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockerton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockerton House

Property: Crockerton House
Address: Crockerton Green | Warminster, Crockerton BA12 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Crockerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crockerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crockerton House Hotel Crockerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing