We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub and inn”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Heytesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orono, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub and inn”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Arriving here on a bicycling trip, this place was like a great oasis. We had two nights of meals and both were excellent! The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating. I would heartily recommend this place to anyone eating in the area. Reasonable prices and fresh home cooked food!
B. White

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank darnley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    45
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
56
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at end of April. Stayed with a friend in the twin room.

Staff were amazing, couldn't be more accommodatiing, food was excellent.

Room was lovely and very clean. I was informed they are decoarting the rooms to be more modern, however I did not feel it was needed, rooms were fine just as they were.

Had a walk around the area and it was very pretty, made me want to move the country side.

Would reccommend and would stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessMisery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My family and I stayed over for one night. The food was delicious, good value and service was excellent. The rooms were very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and I would recommend the Red Lion to anyone.

Donovans

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Two tasty meals - one smothered chicken,chips and veg and the other salmon, new potatoes and veg served in a lively atmosphere. The service was good and the experience a good antidote to the gloom of a rainy evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ret0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights. We found the rooms to be dated yet comfortable. The walls are thin and there was some noise from the bar however this did not ruin our stay! The staff were really welcoming and the pub had a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. There was a good selection of wines and beers. The food was good and was reasonably priced and they were very generous portions! The breakfast was tasty as well :-).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Lunched here this Saturday, a disappointment after eating at the excellent Angel, just down the road, the previous week. Beer and wine were good and reasonably priced. Food, though was quite insipid.

There seemed to be no heating, even though a fire was laid in the Heath. We had been there an hour, growing colder, when a party of four arrived. They had obviously booked a table by the fire and the landlord, seeing them arriving in the car park, quickly put a match to the fire - what an insult. Clearly no tip and no recommendation to our friends.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna s, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
we have recently contacted this member to apologise for any bad experience they may have felt. We recently took over this establishment and are doing our very best to provide an excellent service, We do not compare ourselves to the angel as we offer a completely different style of menu, proving traditional, home-made, good value pub food, but we do aim to offer a high standard of customer service, and if the concerns were raised during their visit we would have done everything we could to rectify the problems. We send our sincere apologies to the people and hope in time they will come back and give us a second chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heytesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Have recently had a couple of meals at the Red Lion. The Fish Pie was very good - full of flavour and piping hot. Yesterday the Smoked Haddock Pie was very tasty, the smokiness of the fish coming through beautifully. Three bitters on tap, two ciders and a selection of good lagers and wines. All in all the Red Lion does a much better job then the Prince Leopold in Upton Lovell which is supposed to be a gastro-pub!

Room Tip: The family room is great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJohnson139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heytesbury
1.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
854 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
577 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#11 of 24 in Warminster
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
197 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#5 of 24 in Warminster
201 reviews
3.6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: 42A High Street, Heytesbury, Warminster BA12 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster > Heytesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heytesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional country pub with home cooked pub food, we have a wood fire set in the middle of the bar and offer a good selection of real ales and lagers at a reasonable price. Although we don't have a separate restaurant our guests are welcome to sit in front of the open fire and dine with us. We are known for our excellent friendly service and welcome everyone here. We have 4 letting rooms that are very clean and spacious, our showers are gravity fed so as long as you have a little patience for the water to get hot , they are fine, but if in doubt we are always here to help. Look forward as always to meeting you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Heytesbury
Red Lion Heytesbury
Heytesbury Red Lion
The Red Lion Heytesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing