We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, food and hospitality”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Heytesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good room, food and hospitality”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked the Red Lion at the last minute after deciding to have a night away from home visiting a couple of attractions in the Dorset/Hampshire area. With 3 children, our challenge is always to find a reasonable priced room/s to accommodate the whole family, and given this was a last minute booking our expectations were not set too high. We were however pleasantly surprised. We were greeted as soon as we stepped into the pub and shown to our room, which comprised a double, single and bunk beds, perfect for our 13, 11 and 4 year olds and a good sized bathroom. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The pub food was of a good quality and satisfied everyone's hunger. Breakfast comprised of cereals, juice, tea, coffee, toast and a full English, which could be tailored to suit your taste. It was wonderful and set us up for the day. We chatted with the owner during breakfast and sensed they had a real desire to make The Red Lion a great place to stay, eat and drink. It was reasonably priced and we would have no doubt about booking again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgina_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna s, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
thankyou for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    44
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was my first visit to The Red Lion, but it was recommended to me, and I will certainly return. I stayed with friends in a family sized room, which very spacious and comfortable with a lovely ensuite. Evening meals were excellent and breakfast was very good. Very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Wilson618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna s, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thankyou so much for recent review it was a pleasure having you stay with us! we hope to see you here again very soon, don't forget to recommend us to your friends and family. thanks again, Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Absolutely love this pub, amazing fresh food prepared and cooked on site, comfortable clean rooms and warm welcoming staff, really does feel like a home from home!
Gorgeous large garden and a chance to sit by the river, I especially like seeing the large vegetable plot that will supplement the menu!

Room Tip: The very spacious family room even boasts a king sized bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdurbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna s, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thankyou for writing such a lovely review on our trip advisor page we are a family run pub and with the help of all members of our family we are able to provide you with the best service we can. we also believe that providing our guests with fresh vegetables that have been well looked after in our garden shows we will go the extra mile in providing an excellent home cooked menu for you to enjoy. As we have only been here two years now we are still trying to make improvements to the appearance and as you can see, a lot has happened so far so watch this space for the latest improvements, it is a pleasure having you stay with us and hope to see you very soon

Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A one-nighter stay, very friendly owner and staff with a wonderful breakfast. The room was very clean and comfortable and great value for money. People eating in the bar looked happy and although we didn't eat would have loved to sample the food.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna s, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
thankyou again for your review, we enjoyed having you stay with us and hopefully next time you stay with us you will enjoy our menu as much as the breakfast in the morning. look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Over the last 3 years, except when it is fully booked up, I have always stayed at the Red Lion whenever I have visited the area on business. Tucked away in the quiet hamlet of Heytesbury, the unremarkable outward appearance of this little gem conceals a friendly welcome, amazing food and quality of service that you won't find in the best hotels. Since the current owners took over the rooms have been redecorated, the bar and gardens have undergone a facelift and the menu has been refreshed. It feels more like a home than a pub / hotel and there is no better way to start the day than a Red Lion breakfast. On those occasions when it is fully booked the owners have been extremely helpful in finding alternative accommodation. I heartily recommend the Red Lion to any visitor but would ask that you save a room for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna s, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
thankyou for your review it means the world to us that you would class our home as yours, you are always more than welcome to come and stay with us as you are a such a pleasure to have. Thankyou again peter and we look forward to seeing you again (we will save a room for you!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I visited the Red Lion for dinner last week after seeing all the fantastic reviews on here and I know now why it gets a glowing report. We ordered the sharing plater for two and the beef burger. The food was beautifully presented and it tasted amazing, it was all fresh home made food and local produce and they do the best onions rings I have ever tasted!
The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We are not from the area and were staying up the road at Bishopstow House but we look forward to returning and also staying here in the not to distant future.

Compliments to the chef and thank you for a pleasant evening!

Sam and Tom from Brighton

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna s, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
thanks again for such a wonderful review we try our hardest to provide our guests with the best, friendly service we can and nothing is too much trouble for us. We will continue to produce fresh homemade food as that is a quality we believe is the best. It was lovely having you here staying with us and just hope that you will return soon and maybe stay the night in our pub. Yet again thankyou for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heytesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The newly refreshed Red Lion continues to make great strides. All the old buildings at the back of the pub have gone and have been replaced by a lovely lawned area with new fence and wall. Lorna and Phil have produced new specials, great liver and bacon, ham, egg and chips, sea bass and more to come. This is a really good, friendly village pub with good value bed and breakfast accommodation. Don't be fooled by some other establishments in the village, they are just living off their reputation. Try the Red Lion!

Room Tip: Try one of new dining booths,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJohnson139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna s, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
thankyou mr DJohnson for your comment it is lovely to here comments like this, the pub is looking better and better and we will always continue to make improvements ( next stage front of pub)we enjoy what we do and the people we meet so Thankyou again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heytesbury
1.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#7 of 24 in Warminster
241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#5 of 24 in Warminster
192 reviews
3.6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westover House
Westover House
#2 of 24 in Warminster
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: 42A High Street, Heytesbury, Warminster BA12 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster > Heytesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heytesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional country pub with home cooked pub food, we have a wood fire set in the middle of the bar and offer a good selection of real ales and lagers at a reasonable price. Although we don't have a separate restaurant our guests are welcome to sit in front of the open fire and dine with us. We are known for our excellent friendly service and welcome everyone here. We have 4 letting rooms that are very clean and spacious, our showers are gravity fed so as long as you have a little patience for the water to get hot , they are fine, but if in doubt we are always here to help. Look forward as always to meeting you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Heytesbury
Red Lion Heytesbury
Heytesbury Red Lion
The Red Lion Heytesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing