We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Benque Resort: a Quiet Get-Away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benque Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Benque Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Benque Resort: a Quiet Get-Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Two of us spent two days at the Benque Resort and Spa; we were the only guests at the time. Benque itself is a sleepy little town, and the places of interest can be seen in a couple hours at most. The town is an excellent base from which to visit Guatemala, the nearby Xunantunich ruins and the town of San Ignacio. If you want excitement and activity, this is NOT the place for you. If you want to relax and unwind, delicious vegetarian meals cooked from scratch, challenging yoga taught by one of the strongest instructors I've ever encountered, this IS the place for you. Our hosts, Laine and Evan, were gracious and accommodating and worked hard to make us feel comfortable and welcome (and were super supportive when I lost my cell phone).

Okay, so the hot water took a while to get to the shower---if you want instant everything, predictability and everything just like back home-- go stay in a Hilton or Marriott and leave the charming, interesting, unique places for the rest of us to enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Solatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    9
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
16
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

It was relaxing and peaceful being with there, almost like I was one of the family! Located beside a beautiful green river (clean) they (Laney, Evan or Morgan if she is there) will show you the best swimming hole (complete with rope swing) and not only that but they will join you for a swim along with Morgan's ukele and Laney and Evan's didgeridoos !! When you are there also ask them about a trip to the cave which was just discovered in 1989 or a trip to the waterfalls (made the cave but not the falls) Ask them also about the story i wrote for Morgan (Space Cadet). Best place to stay on mainland Belize the rooms are clean and beautiful and the price is right!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank qpid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Beautiful setting with nice view of river. Charming and magic atmosphere. Amazing woodwork. The hosts and friendly and accomodating. Great yoga classes every morning, massage, healthy gourmet dining....Rooms and all the spaces are clean and welcoming. Highly recommend. Something wonderful for everyone and it is affordable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san Ignacio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

So I have lived in San Ignacio, Belize for a while now (it's the next town over from Benque) and I had stayed at the Benque Resort before and it was nothing special, but as of Oct. 2011 it's got been taken over by some awesome people.

I stayed for 3 nights and it was great. They've started a yoga school there and the new owner Laine is one of the instructors and perhaps Belize's best cook. One night we had some sort of grilled cheesy, tomatoey, bowl of goodness and a starfruit crisp for dessert. She uses locally raised meats and can also do vegan, vegetarian and raw.

The hotel is super clean, quiet and you always feel welcome. I live here so i didn't do much with the tours (i've already done them all), but they can book all those too.

All in all, if you are looking for a relaxing time, in a clean place, with some great people go here.

Room Tip: If you are going for budget, they have some dorm rooms that are always clean. The nicest room thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Minkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This must be the best dorm in Belize. Really lux dorm.And for 20 belize each! Very clean with wonderful wood and carved doors. If you dont want to stay in dorms they have beautiful private rooms too with own veranda. It's in new management now and the food is absolutely superb! So so good! All homemade and its served on their veranda. We were just going to stay one night before heading over to Guatemala but decided to stay another because it was so relaxed and beautiful and rejuvenating environment here compare to so many other Belize hotels. They also have massages, sound therapy and yoga. We took an excellent yoga class in the morning. Very friendly and sweet staff with excellent service and smiles. They also have laundry service and pick up service. The toilets and showers are also beautiful with mosaic and they do have hot showers available! We really recommend this place and its also really close to Xunantunich as well as the border. So if you want a clean, spacious, homefeeling, warm atmosphere come here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

This gem of a hotel is like coming home. The staff are friendly, helpful and always smiling. Along with fountains and flowers, the hotel is decorated with beautiful woodwork and ornately carved doors, doorways and furniture. The well appointed rooms are open and spacious with high vaulted ceilings, extra large shower and very comfy beds. Lovely sitting chairs and a substantial table and chairs (all in native hardwoods) furnished our balcony where we could sit and return e-mails as we looked out on the Mopan river, colorful flowering trees and even some parrots flying overhead! A massage and facial in the spa were so very welcomed after a long day of hiking and touring the many Maya ruins in the area. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Belize this winter.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanadayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

This is a nice building and would be awesome if they actually had staff to clean and supply the rooms. No hot water, no air conditioning as promised.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank joe_traveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benque R, Manager at Benque Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Our best is up for offer at Benque Resort and Spa, so come by today and see why!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benque Viejo del Carmen
7.9 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
5.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benque Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benque Resort and Spa

Property: Benque Resort and Spa
Address: 14 Riverside Dr, Benque Viejo del Carmen, Belize (Formerly Benque Guest House)
Region: Belize > Cayo > Benque Viejo del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benque Viejo del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated with luxury suites and Skydeck with view of Xunantunich pyramid ruins. Suites have River-view balconies, luxury beds, exotic hardwoods, 12 ft high ceilings, Wifi, safe and a/c.Nestled on the beautiful Mopan River, guests may inner tube the river to Xunantunich ruins from the hotel.This is the closest hotel to the ruins of Xunantunich and also a good location for caving, jungle tours and cultural festivals.SPA in premises available great value on massage. We are in the center of all the most popular attractions.Most visitors stay here because of the central location to all the attractions. There are 125 attractions within 60 minutes or less from the Hotel.Great rates $20 to $50 ENJOY LUXURY ACCOMODATIONS AT ECONOMY RATES!!!!!!! Why pay taxis and transportation, we are in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Benque Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benque Resort And Spa Belize/Benque Viejo Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing