We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Benque Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Take the time to see the real Belize
Our host Steve was very colorful with his stories and his knowledge of the area was great
gorgeous wood working throughout this quaint little B&B
the price was right

we will definetly go again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msaunders4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    9
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
16
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kitchener
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Remember there are no taj mahals in Belize but this quaint cool hotel is one of the neatest places to stay. You are in walking distance to everything. Great view of the Mopan river (i think its the Mopan). there are so many cultural things to do in the area, the manager will arrange some of the coolest tours in Belize and is a wealth of knowledge.

If you want to see Guatemala, stay here and go for the day, there is a ton of things within a short distance, but safety of Belize for your stay.

A must to stay at in my eyes.

Room Tip: they have 3 with balconys with a super view. also ask to go to the roof top sunning area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captainkrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

It was the charming view of the resort online that fooled me. Making reservations weeks before I had intended to arrive at the Benque Resort and Spa I felt all was going to be well. Oh how quickly that changed I was notified upon arrival that the price of my room had change, because the room that I had initially book was given to someone else, this of course posted a problem because I was traveling on a tight budget. When asked for a reason as to why this occurred the Manager/ Owner was unable to give adequate reasoning and kept brushing me off which I found rather rude and very irritating. I immediately left and found another place to stay with the similar amenities. I still awed at the poor customer service at the Benque Resort and Spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IntTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENQUE R, Manager at Benque Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Here at Benque Resort and Spa, we enjoy everyones opinion and reviews both good and bad.

Reviews are what allow the hotel industry to improve their customer experience,

We have always taken the policy of the customer is Always right, and do everything to accomodate them , no matter what.

But in this case I can clearly say the customer was WRONG.

The customer made a phone inquiry for a luxury room. No reservation was made, no deposit was made at all. Normally if a reservation is made, an email confirmation goes out, confirming details and rate, and balance, check in times etc. This is industry standard.

The customer arrived at the hotel, and wanted to pay a single person rate but cram a large number of people into the same room. The customer wanted a luxury suite, with one Queen bed, but wanted to pay a single person backpackers rate.

Our policy as I am sure all hotels are the same. Rates are based on double occupancy, and children are free. If the customer wishes to pull a "sneaky" and jam 11-12 adult people into one single room, with a single bed. Probably not going to happen.

We wish all our guests to enjoy their stay with us. As you can see by the pictures and reviews, our guests expect a certain level of comfort and tranquility with us. We enjoy giving that high level of service, value and cleanliness , And travellers have rewarded us in turn, with returning again and again, year after year. We conform to occupancy bylaws as our customers deserve the best, and we want them to enjoy the best, with a normal, customer to room ratio.

I as the acting Manager that took your inquiry and also showed you the room. I am sorry that we were not able to accomodate your housing needs, at this location.

But we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our sister hotels amenities and accomodations for your group. And that we were able to provide adequately for your party over there.

I still as Manager wish to extend the olive branch, and make sure EVERYONE is happy, no matter how difficult that may be to accomplish.

And offer you a 50% discount on our best suite for you, and will also throw in a FREE spa treatment for you also.

We thank you for choosing Benque Resort and Spa for your accomodations.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at resort and spa :). Charming views, sounds and smell. The setting on the hill truly makes this place a gem. To top off the beauty, we enjoyed the company of Harry and loved the Gevalia Coffee. Please provide us with the website where you order it from!


- Meghan and Lucas
November 2012

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonkeyMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodBirdman, Investor and purchasing at Benque Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. To order the coffee you can call from the US 800-GEV-ALIA or order at gevalia.com.
Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here on a trip from Belize to Guatemala... The accommodations were terrific (e.g. great coffee, pristine rooms, classy bathroom amenities). The service was great and its proximity to archaeological sites, local bars, and the Guatemalan border was a big plus for us. We also got to meet Harry the Parrot and got some tips about what to anticipate upon crossing over to Guatemala.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodBirdman, Investor at Benque Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I just learned that we are only 1 hour by helicoptor to El Mirador the largest Pyramid by volume in the world and in complex that has over 1,000 structures that is larger than downtown Los Angeles. We hope you come see us again soon .
We have just put together a list of 125 attractions near us. We lots for you to see and do on your return visit.
On behalf of Steven, staff and management of The Benque Resort and Spa and Harry the Parrot
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We took a trip to Benque for a school project. The hotel managers were great, very fun, we had a very good time hanging out on the patio and the roof. The rooms are great for a large group, our room had 5 twin beds. Breakfast was great. We had a great time in Benque and staying at this little hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodBirdman, Investor at Benque Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Thank you very much for your 4+ star review. We have done many upgrades since your stay that enhance guest comfort and our housekeeping standards have gone from very good to excellent.
I welcome you stay with us again our goal is to to earn a 5 star rating from you. Were listening to you our guests for areas we can improve to serve you better.
Pleasant journeys from Steve & the staff at the Benque Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The room was spacious with high ceilings and a lovely balcony with view of the river. They had a massage therapist on call and I was able to get a wonderful massage every night just prior to bedtime, slept like a baby. Coffee in the morning was excellent and the gentleman that runs it most gracious.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and do get a massage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank myrna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benque Viejo del Carmen
7.8 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
622 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
747 reviews
5.7 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
269 reviews
10.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
227 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benque Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benque Resort and Spa

Property: Benque Resort and Spa
Address: 14 Riverside Dr, Benque Viejo del Carmen, Belize (Formerly Benque Guest House)
Region: Belize > Cayo > Benque Viejo del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benque Viejo del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated with luxury suites and Skydeck with view of Xunantunich pyramid ruins. Suites have River-view balconies, luxury beds, exotic hardwoods, 12 ft high ceilings, Wifi, safe and a/c.Nestled on the beautiful Mopan River, guests may inner tube the river to Xunantunich ruins from the hotel.This is the closest hotel to the ruins of Xunantunich and also a good location for caving, jungle tours and cultural festivals.SPA in premises available great value on massage. We are in the center of all the most popular attractions.Most visitors stay here because of the central location to all the attractions. There are 125 attractions within 60 minutes or less from the Hotel.Great rates $20 to $50 ENJOY LUXURY ACCOMODATIONS AT ECONOMY RATES!!!!!!! Why pay taxis and transportation, we are in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Benque Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benque Resort And Spa Belize/Benque Viejo Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing