We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Recommended”
Review of Anchor Inn Beer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Inn Beer
Ranked #6 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here after a busy 3 days at a family wedding at nearby Huntsham Court.
It was the ideal place to unwind as the hotel is located on a very quiet road overlooking the sea.
Our room was comfortable, not huge, but a nice warm place to relax.
The food was very good, reasonably priced, and the staff, particularly Aisha were polite and attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you so much for your feed back, myself and the team are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Anchor Inn Beer
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at the Anchor last week, we had the same room as the last time, overlooking the sea, just love it. The beds are the best I haven't slept as well in ages. We had dinner in the pub, excellent food, and the breakfast was great. The village of Beer is a great little place, I bought fresh crab meat at the fish shop a stones throw away, fabulous. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view !!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cryyzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Good food, quirky but nice people, excellent location and would stay again. They need to sharpen up their check in procedure, communication skills and clean the bar toilets and pub AFTER breakfast has finished not during.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback and can assure you that all points made have been addressed. We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have been looking at this hotel for quite some time, but it has always been full, so to find that they had vacancies on my birthday weekend with a real treat. We arrived Sunday afternoon and were shown to our room which was on the second floor with a sea view, the room was quite spacious and the bathroom also a good size. We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening and the menu was vast and varied, something to suit all tastes. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We paid 54.00 for a double ensuite room and breakfast, which was a good price, considering that the hotel up the road was charging 55pppn with no view. We would have no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BristolProbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thankyou for your feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your birthday break with us and we look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

the thing that annoys me about the reviews on trip advisor are the ones who expect a 5 star hotel for 2 star prices.the anchor really punches above it's weight,we were in room 5 super sea view,huge bed,tea /coffee etc,large bathroom,working tv etc etc.but most importantly very clean and tidy.
breakfasts had every thing from fresh fruit to kippers or the full English .dinner menu was extensive and the service was really good,all the staff were very attentive and worked with a smile all the time.
all in all a smashing little hotel that tries to bring old world charm into the modern day

Room Tip: pay the extra for en suite and a sea view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fairsyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thankyou for your positive feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Room basic, getting a little tired around the edges with some of the furniture having seen better days, that said it was very comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee, tv and hairdryer. No ensuite, instead a dedicated bathroom over the corridor, very spacious and clean with toiletries available. Other rooms do have ensuites. We slept very well, our room was over the restaurant but we weren't kept up by excessive noise from below.

Good breakfast, lots of choice from continental to various cooked options. We ate at the restaurant both evenings and despite it being a pub chain found the food delicious with no trace of the microwave type meals you sometime encounter in these establishments.

Free wifi, no car parking, public car park about a 5 minute walk away. Staff very attentive from beginning to end of our trip.

Would recommend this picturesque location, it's a great central base for exploring Lyme Regis, Exmouth and other nearby towns and villages.

Room Tip: All rooms come with a sea view, try and get one with an ensuite so you don't bump into fellow gu...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVJ166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thankyou for your feedback, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay, we will look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 3 which had a wonderful view of the sea and an enormous very comfortable bed. Check in was easy and we had a great breakfast in their restaurant next morning. If you are visiting beer you will be hard pressed to find a better view and it is the nearest to the beach and you will meet the local characters their as it is one of their locals

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellersanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thankyou for your wonderful review, myself and the team look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
1.7 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
359 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Beer
YHA Beer
#2 of 2 in Beer
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Beer

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Price Range: £65 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Inn Beer 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Inn Beer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Beer Hotel Beer
Anchor Inn Beer Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing