We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location”
Review of Anchor Inn Beer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Inn Beer
Ranked #6 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This Pub/Hotel is located at the lower end of Beer High Street, right by the harbour. It is a really lovely location, and just a very short stroll down the hill to the water's edge. The hotel is clean and smart and the rooms are comfortable. Most, if not all, rooms have a sea view. The bathrooms are modern and clean, and plenty of fluffy white towels are provided. Tea and coffee facilities are provided in the room and a good wi-fi signal is available free of charge. The pub and restaurant has several seating areas, and has a pleasant 'local pub' atmosphere. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Beer is a very busy village in summer, but out of season is a very pleasant place to visit, with some lovely coastal walks right on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a good sea view, room 5 is one of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripperUK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your feed back, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    94
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
51
193
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Booked a stay at the Anchor in Beer, as my husband had got a business trip down in the area.
I knew the village from holidays there as a youngster, and thought it was about time we revisited!
The staff were marvellous, the room was lovely, quite spacious with a nice sea view. We ate in the restaurant, and the food was beautiful.
Breakfast was plentiful, and the creamy porridge was a real winner!
Would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawny2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, the team and I are so glad you enjoyed everything with your stay and we will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Ok I admit it we have been coming here for many years and I have kept stom about this unspoilt haven in North Devon,It's set on the hill over looking the beach where you can hire self drive boats or even do some chartered deep sea fishing. Old fashioned cafes supply any thing from breakfast to cream teas.
It's just beautiful, the high street has really good restaurants, including seafood and a cracking Indian. The Anchor Inn restaurant is very good, offering great locally sourced produce and top seafood, lunch time why not just sit outside in the garden which is on the cliff over looking the beach and enjoy a crab sandwich, what more could you ask for.
This is not a swanky glass and steel hotel it's not plush, the facilities are lacking in some areas because of its wonderful location, by this I mean no hotel parking,no pool, no lifts and not every room has its own bathroom, it's a pub old style (although not small) clean nicely furnished and very comfortable for reasonable money with great food and wonderful hospitality.
We came back from a trip to South Africa where swanky hotels were the order of the day but after a while it gets on your nerves, the artificial tugging of the forelock, filling your cup up every 5 seconds etc etc so this hotel is run like a tight ship but you never see the crew running around, the rooms are cleaned breakfast is ready flowers are out, its as if ninja warriors are at work.
We often request the room with out its own bathroom ensuite (it's just 10' across the landing) because of its views. I don't really care if I have to dash across the landing in my best PJ's I feel sorry for the unfortunate passing fellow guest but I'm sure with the correct lengthy therapy they will make a partial recovery.
My final comment and sincere thanks go to the proprietor Jim and his very trustworthy staff, I stupidly left a gold bracelet that my wife had made for me, in my room when we checked out, it had fallen on the floor. On the way home I realised it was missing and called the Hotel, they had a been given the bracelet, the room service found it and no problem they would mail it to me ASAP .
The Royal Mail managed to lose it then sent it to a holding point and then eventually back to the hotel, this took weeks of chasing. Eventually Jim had to send it again and success, customer service beyond the call.
Go enjoy this hotel be sure to book in advance or and keep it a secrete.

Room Tip: Room with out ensuite the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stingclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, myself and the team are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We absolutely LOVED our stay at The Anchor Inn. The room had a lovely view, it was clean and warm and welcoming with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. Chelsea could not have been more helpful. All the staff are so kind and welcoming, it really feels like a little piece of heaven and nothing is too much trouble for them. We ate there too and the food was absolutely lovely. We had crab, whitebait and lamb dishes and they were lovely. Proper mashed potato and roast potatoes and yummy fresh vegetables cooked just perfectly. Even though we were continuing on to another place on our holiday break, we simply did not want to leave!! THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Room 1 has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinevisitors2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thankyou so much for your feedback, myself and the team are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Anchor Inn, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here after a busy 3 days at a family wedding at nearby Huntsham Court.
It was the ideal place to unwind as the hotel is located on a very quiet road overlooking the sea.
Our room was comfortable, not huge, but a nice warm place to relax.
The food was very good, reasonably priced, and the staff, particularly Aisha were polite and attentive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you so much for your feed back, myself and the team are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at the Anchor last week, we had the same room as the last time, overlooking the sea, just love it. The beds are the best I haven't slept as well in ages. We had dinner in the pub, excellent food, and the breakfast was great. The village of Beer is a great little place, I bought fresh crab meat at the fish shop a stones throw away, fabulous. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cryyzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Good food, quirky but nice people, excellent location and would stay again. They need to sharpen up their check in procedure, communication skills and clean the bar toilets and pub AFTER breakfast has finished not during.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback and can assure you that all points made have been addressed. We hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colebrooke House
Colebrooke House
#2 of 9 in Beer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Beer

Property: Anchor Inn Beer
Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Inn Beer 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Inn Beer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Beer Hotel Beer
Anchor Inn Beer Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing