We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The owner, Liz, is lovely and very chatty. But the B&B was poor, with unclean sheets, frayed used-to-be-white grey towels and horrible carpet in the bathroom. The room was incredibly cramped and claustrophobic and the furniture really needs updating. Breakfast was okay but it was obviously the cheapest products off the shelf. If visiting the area in future I will be staying elsewhere. I really liked the village and beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SumStar_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

once again after so many years doing b and b , the worst thing i could have done was tripadvisor as you have people come along and want to stay in a palace for a paupers payment, if the room is for b and b then you sleep in the room, have breakfast and what you chose is your choice you can eat as much as you like or least, as for bedding washed and clean every time and towels the same i have never bought white towels in my life as customers dont respect them and cover them in hair dye and other nasty substances, so they are creme caramel colour 100 percent cotton, room s are not cramped and if you decide once again customers choice that you all want to share a room then its not my decision i only accomadate what i am requested to do , so a family room can sleep 4 people or 2 once again your choice , furniture is clean tidy and good standerd, remember its a b and b not a hilton hotel, as not all hotels are up to stratch or would sit up all evening awaiting arrival from people at 11.30 pm nor get up and do breakfast at 6.00 am , we do thats why after 16yrs people come back year after year, cant please everybody and these days everybody just wants to moan , lifes to short,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

I`m not going to make my review sound like I am slagging the owners off from Ashdale B+B, I`m hoping that it is taken as a positive, and they try and sort it out. Its in such a fantastic location, but our experience wasn't good, my first impression was I could smell dogs and our room no 3 was so over crowded, the bathroom seemed grubby and everything was so worn and dated. The bedding may need to be washed separately as we found hairs!(not really sure but they seemed like dog hair).This is why we just couldn't stay and we just had to leave. Speaking as an ex B+B owner this could be a wonderful little B+B, with some money and time spent on revamping and de- cluttering it would go a long way. Also breakfast on a Sunday at 8.30am people are looking for a bit of a lay in, its time they usually want to relax, maybe do a bit of a window 8.30 til 10. I`m sorry about the poor!! but really do think you can do so much better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

didnt stay here so another made up review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

well what can i say a wonderful little bnb in beer.
i have stayed here a few times over the years and shall be comming back next year!!!!!
rooms are a great size with all the extras you need.very quiet and peaceful with wonderful owners who can not do enough to help.i think the other negative comments are from other guests are from idiots with no clue on what a bed and breakfast should be, and i encourage others to go there for a friendly stay with wonderful clean rooms and great food. thankyou liz see you next year

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank henry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

nice to see you again thanks for the positive comments and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have just had a 4 night visit to Ashdale which was very pleasant, Liz couldn't do enough to help us. A lovely trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

hi again neil thanks again for your input its a shame that there are so many idiots out there who write stupid comments but as you have been coming to stay with us for years we value your review and once again it was great to see you all , and also you have been to us again last week the 100th beer regatta 2013 august with your sister and family, thanks and glad aston villa won there match for you regards liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Having stayed at your establishment in August 2011 was extremely surprised to see you are
still there and trading under a new title namely Ashdale House B & B. Why the change, do you
hope dissatisfied customers think you have left and new owners have taken over. Wish I had read the gentlemans from London's comments before we stayed, totally agree with what he said. Your web site now shows a slightly revamped Holmesdale, but sorry new pictures will not make your rooms inviting. The sheets were very grubby, the tv did not work, the towels were not changed throughout our visit, the toilet/shower was not cleaned (only by myself, as you left cleaning products on the toilet!!) And the policy of no cheques/credit cards and only cash!! very odd. Sorry cant say will visit again, however Bank House rates 100% and more.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This has got to have been one of the worst B & B's that I have ever stayed in! A room with a tv that did not work because of the rain! A tolet door with no lock, not enough towels, no toiletries, sour milk, mould in the kettle and a very abusive landlady. Frankly we could not wait to leave. How thi sver got a three star rating is beyond me!

Room Tip: don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

firstly how you can commment on my establishment when you cant even write and spell properley is very clever, as i have been in this business for over 15 yrs and have never had someone like you stay is another bonus, how many towels does one need are you that desperate that 2 large bath towels plus hand towels are not enough, toiletries we dont advetise them and its not a requirement for 3 star ,as for the ensuite bathroom , you were in a family room with no access to windows in the ensuite and for health and safety we dont wish for our children staying with us to get locked in which is a problem for many b&bs, t v was working and i dont have control over the stockland hill receiver , as for milks then the cash and carry that they were bought in will have to complain to the manufacturer that you dont like the uht milk, as the date stamp was until january 2012 , mould in a kettle, thats a new one as was the kettle and as for abusive landlady, i always treat customers as friends and everyone the same even when they are loud abusive and swearing when they have had enough drink, so if you go away again go to a posh hotel in london pay 1000 plus a night you might be happy then ,but doubt that , and i can show hundreds of satisfied customers that have stayed with us over the years and all there comments so thanks for yours and i wont take anymore notice of that liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The bed and breakfast was very clean and the owner was very friendly.

The bedroom was clean but needed a very good make over and new beding,i would stay again if the was upgraded.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz s, Owner at Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

thankyou for the comments, as the longest standing b&b owners in beer we believe in keeping our accomodation clean tidy affordable and no frills just a good honest bed and breakfast, as you have to accomodate many guests through the season items can get damaged and so its impractical to upgrade fixtures and fittings to every guest taste but our rooms are updated and refurbished as the need arises, and we had our quality in tourism assessor give us an impromto overnight visit earier in august and she was most happy with the surroundings and stayed in the room in which you stayed in , so thankyou for your comments and they are noted, regards liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#6 of 9 in Beer
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#4 of 9 in Beer
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Beer
YHA Beer
#2 of 2 in Beer
74 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harepath Holidays Ltd
Harepath Holidays Ltd
#14 of 25 in Seaton
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Dolphin Road | Dolphin Road, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EN, England (Formerly Holmesdale B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Price Range: £73 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ashdale house bed and breakfast in Beer, East Devon is a family friendly guest house with 4 en-suite bedrooms catering for couples or families large and small, all rooms en-suite and with 14 years in the hospitality trade we aim to make yours a memorable and enjoyable stay and hope you return as many others do; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ashdale House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashdale House Bed And Breakfast Beer, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing