We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff”
Review of YHA Beer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YHA Beer
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A wonderful hostel, location and exceptionally well run hostel by friendly and helpful staff and manager, Jon. I spent a couple of days here and really loved the breakfast and delicious dinner which came as a surprise, expecting the usual self catering only hostel facilities. The only points to note however, for me I prefer female only toliets and shower areas to relax and pamper and I didn't like the fact that no alcohol was permitted and instead there was a bar which didn't serve the local cider for example. I felt this went against the spirit of hostelling and was an unusual experience for me. All in day, a lovely building, great facilities and comforts and a great location to explore Beer and beyond.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
4
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Tucked away above and at the back of the village of Beer. The Youth Hostel has a flat grass garden, great for the kids. With views across rolling hills and the town. Making the large arts and crafts house a great place for group parties and events. Events that can be self contained or to supply a base for trips out to the wider area. 5 mins walk to the centre of its idylic fishing village, cove and coastal path.

What makes this place great is being able to book the whole place out using the trained and friendy staff to make it great. We took a sound system and a bouncy castle. The friendly team helped organise food, directed us with local knowledge supplied extra facilites and made the whole place safe and sound. We had a great party with as many kids as adults... Brill people... brill place... I would go back with just my girlfriend - or for another group party.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good, from what people in the party said. If youve got kids, that you can keep an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just returned from a 3 night break in this lovely hostel and will be returning at the next opportunity. Jon and his team were excellent hosts, great with the kids (pumpkin carving) and the adults ( wonderful Exeter brewery beers ). The wonderful building had an art display from Sidmouth based artist Rebecca Greenwood, so without the fear of the children smashing a £400 bowl in a gallery, you can take in the pictures over breakfast or a coffee in the lounge. Needless to say I managed to squeeze the largest painting over the kids heads in the car on the journey home and we can all look out over 'Beer Cove' on a daily basis.
Would recommend this hostel to all and would be ideal for those who have never stayed in a hostel before. An excellent break - I agree with all of the other positive comments from the reviews.

Room Tip: No 7 was spacey for the 5 of us. Our first trip without en-suite and it didnt matter at all. The kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is the best hostel we have stayed in. Beautiful house, clean & tidy. Great food and the best host/manager, John. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

As a group of 18 children and adults mountain biking around Devon we had a wonderful stay at Beer. John and his staff were very helpful indeed, fitting us in despite us messing up our booking. The house was extremely clean, smelt fresh and was well maintained. We enjoyed excellent food served very efficiently. We would love to book the whole place for a weekend with excellent mountain biking to be had around and beaches close by. Full marks guys - you all work really hard and thankyou.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Beer YHA is in a lovely spot easily walkable from Beer village. John (and his staff) are very welcoming and the facilities are very clean.
We tried the food (dinner and breakfast) and these were both delicous and good value. Has a nice atmosphere and feels very safe. Nice outside space and child friendly.
Have given 4 stars (rather than 5) as the self catering kitchen is small, there aren't any reading lights in the bunks and parking limited. My enjoyment wasn't curtailed by this/ would stay here again, but may be important (depends on your priorities).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntyjojoJanuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I where in Youth hotel in Beer, Devon UK.
The hotel was full.
John the manager make a lot of phone to find an accomodation for me and a friend.
And he give us a lift to the next to village.

Many thanks John.
If you are in this area, You really have to go to this YHA in Beer.

Pierre-Alain Wenger from Switzerland

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#6 of 9 in Beer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harepath Holidays Ltd
Harepath Holidays Ltd
#17 of 25 in Seaton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Beer

Property: YHA Beer
Address: Bovey Combe Townsend, Beer, Seaton EX12 3LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Beer 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your YHA Beer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Beer Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing