We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close enough to the beach to walk off a huge meal!”
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Close enough to the beach to walk off a huge meal!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the Dolphin hotel with our children, the family room had a separate twin bed area where the children could go to sleep. The whole experience was lovely although quite a big hotel it still has a homely feel, the breakfasts were top and Dannys Steak Pie stands alone and could win awards! Great Sunday carvery and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter when the function room is not in use. The front rooms over look the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    122
    42
    13
    17
See reviews for
79
143
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Dolphin. This time I and 7 other friends went down on our motorcycles. The Dolphin benefits from the fact that it has its own car park to the rear. My room was comfortable and recently refurbished. It came with a shower cubicle (but then I didn't want a bath) and the staff were very accommodating especially as we all checked in rather late. The bar staff were charming and breakfast was more than adequate. I will, no doubt, visit Beer again and if I do, I'll stay at the Dolphin again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, I am glad that everyone enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stopped here at random and were welcomed in with good advise about the rooms, a friendly meal and a comfy bed.
In the morning we had a pleasant full breakfast and left feeling good
thank you
we will visit again

Room Tip: The room we had was large but over the long bar. However we did not get much disturbance and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s.a.m.England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We didn't sleep at the hotel but had dinner there. Decent size portions, and lots too choose from. Food ok but what really put me off were the Flys flying around, and what made matters worse was they had a sticky fly trap on a mirror, and it had loads of dead flys on it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lonyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleasd that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments we will make sure that the matter is seen to at once. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from The Dolphin, have been staying here for over 20 years when visiting relatives and it never disappoints. The bedroom refurb was needed and has been done very tastefully. I work as a manager in a 5 star resort and so know what to look for.
Just some points which need addressing but are not worth rating deductions -1. Ask the chefs to stand away from the back entrance,right under guests bedrooms. I know better than most that the breaks are an absolute necessity, but the fowl language isnt, and we and children above in those rooms shouldnt be subject to hearing it from staff. 2. Meals in the restaurant are outstanding quality & value, however WAY too big! Who really needs half a whole chicken in their chicken salad meaning the other accompanments need a whole separate plate? And a whole portion of veg involving 8 potatoes for a toddler? Im just thinking of your waste really. I dont want this comment to take away from the meal enjoyment though, great quality.
Please take our advise and visit the antique centre opposite, enjoy the gorgeous cliff walks and enjoy a prawn sarnie overlooking the beach. Its a must, Beer is a delight!
Thank you, see you next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleasd that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments we will make sure that the matter is seen to at once. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Went to stay in the Dolphin. Booked two nights here because they could take the dog.

Room was shabby and very cramped - furnishings cheap and dated (communual carpets need a good clean too). Window overlooked the Long Bar back entrance which had a late license until 1am, and the smokers stood opposite the window and regailed each other - and incidently us - with their exploits until the bar closed.

Was woken indecently early as the curtains were pale and thin, ok if you want to read the paper in the morning without getting out of bed or turning on a light. The paper thin walls and door (I thought fire doors were a lot thicker than that) meant that we could track our fellow residents as they moved along the corridor outside from 7am on, and could not help but overhear their conversations as they passed. Our room was opposite the maids kitchen meant we heard all the gossip and banging around once they came on duty. We knew someone was having toast - because the smell filled our room.

No shower - hand held for hair only. Bathroom door would not shut - carpet runner obstructed it.

So down to breakfast.
A disappointing affair. Might have expected fruit or croissants, yogurt maybe - but had to settle for milk and cereal and cooked breakfast.

We checked out - couldn't face another night with only 5 or 6 hours sleep.
To the receptionists credit, we were refunded the fee for the second night and half the fee for the poor night we'd spent there-the manger was absent and owners were abroad and not available for comment.

Marks out of 10 ? - I'd rather take the tent and sleep in a field.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre. Tip: If staying in Beer stay in The Anchor Inn. (Very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Ten of us travelled to the Dolphin for a long weekend stay. We arrived late but were warmly welcomed and shown good comfortable rooms. Easy off-street parking behind hotel. Good English breakfast available served by cheerful, friendly staff; we did not eat in the restaurant in the evenings because it looked very dark, dingy and old fashioned. We will be back

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank michaelashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
1.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
7.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#6 of 9 in Beer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colebrooke House
Colebrooke House
#2 of 9 in Beer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Property: The Dolphin Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel is an impressive historic Hotel situated in the beautiful fishing village of Beer on the Jurassic Coast. We have 22 bedrooms, a Restaurant, 2 Public Bars and a Function Room. We specialise in hearty portions of local seafood and home cooked meals. We have our OWN CAR PARK! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Beer
The Dolphin Hotel Beer, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing