We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Celebration”
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
honiton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Special Celebration”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Last Sunday, two of our friends ran in the Exeter Half Marathon in aid of the Cystic Fibrosis Trust. Last Sunday also happened to be our wedding anniversary, so we had a celebration meal for six in the Function Room at the Dolphin Hotel. The service was first class and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary meal here with us and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    124
    44
    13
    18
See reviews for
80
146
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Spent three nights there with the family and had a good stay. Good value and a truly outstanding breakfast - bacon to die for - and attentive service by all of the staff. Howard in reception was friendly and helpful on arrival and the restaurant staff were all very helpful too. Nothing seems too much trouble.

Decor? if you're OK with lots of patterned swirly carpet then this is the place for you. Traditional and with a very English feel. An entertaining detail; is the hall of mirrors which my son thought great fun.

Rooms? showing their age a bit but clean and tidy. Our bed was a bit creaky and for a family room it was a bit cosy. My son slept on a put up bed that was shoe horned into the room. He slept well though. The shower in our room was more of a trickle than a shower ( I would replace the shower in there with a bath and shower as there is space).

A real plus is the off street parking - summer visitors will find this a real bonus as parking in Beer is restricted.

Beer is a lovely village and this is good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Beer is an historic English fishing village with a stream running down its main street, lobster pots on its pebbly little beach and a reputation for locally-caught fish and crab. The Dolphin Hotel is a very English establishment with swirly patterned carpets throughout and, it would seem, a reputation for serving excellent food to summer visitors and local business people all year round.
It is family-run. It was probably a daughter of the family who gave us a choice of three bedrooms. (We were the only guests in early December.) Yes, the decor was dated and the plumbing would not impress American tourists, but the room was warm and perfectly comfortable. Good value for the price.
The lounge bar was cosy and welcoming. The restaurant was decorated for Christmas and the Function Room was ready-prepared for a large lunch party the next day. As for our dinner, the crab cocktail was lovely and the Lyme Bay scallops with salty bacon were even better. In true West Country style the portions were extremely generous.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not full, ask to look at more than one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
422 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Went to the Dolphin for Sunday lunch and really enjoyed it. The menu contained several local fish dishes as well as Cauvery standards. It was first rate and I would certainly go again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank davemartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We went with some friends for three days and were delighted by the excellent service and even more excellent food, which was really brilliant. We are used to eating well, but this was as good as anywhere we have ever been. It's a small friendly family-run hotel which doubles as a local pub and restaurant: expect very generous portions of locally caught fish and produce. There's some superb scenery nearby, too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheadleJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We've just spent 3 days at this family run hotel. The staff were very welcoming and the food was great. Huge tasty portions! The hotel is conveniently situated a short walk from the beach. We plan to visit again in the near future

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

i have never stayed at the dolphin, however i have been staying in beer for at least fifteen years and have always eaten here and often more than once. this year i was lucky enough to have two week stay and we ate in the dolphin three times. the food is exellent and we have never finished a meal as there is always too much. i hope to eat there for many years to come.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckycol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals here with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
1.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
153 reviews
6.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Property: The Dolphin Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel is an impressive historic Hotel situated in the beautiful fishing village of Beer on the Jurassic Coast. We have 22 bedrooms, a Restaurant, 2 Public Bars and a Function Room. We specialise in hearty portions of local seafood and home cooked meals. We have our OWN CAR PARK! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Beer
The Dolphin Hotel Beer, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing