We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steamers Restaurant Beer”

Steamers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$72
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steamers Restaurant Beer”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at Beer. Steamers was recommended by family friends who live in the area, and on 19/6/2014 we decided to visit. Without a booking, we were just able to get a table. We opted for the set menu and both started with the crab, prawn and melon starter - delicious. My partner had chicken in a lemon and parsley sauce, while I had pork medallions on mash, both served with a wide selection of vegetables. Again delicious. I couldn`t manage a sweet, but my partner thoroughly enjoyed her strawberry and cream sweet. The recommended wine was very pleasant, and the coffee to finish was appreciated.
Ambience - lovely
Service - friendly and efficient
Food - wonderful
Value - very good. £49 for a wonderful evening

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicholas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    84
    22
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Lunch”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I were lucky enough to stumble upon this restaurant which is just a few metres from the main shopping street. We both chose the £18.00 per person three course set menu and enjoyed different dishes from each other at every course. Each dish was well prepared, well presented and a pleasure to eat. Wine was available by the glass which meant that we could both drink our preference. We both very much enjoyed our visit and although we are not regular visitors to Beer, will have no hesitation in returning to Steamers when next in the area. We've already told our friends in Axminster that they must visit as soon as possible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WessexHolidayCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the rest”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Two people, two courses and a bottle of wine, £65.
Nice evening meal and we enjoyed it, but the only table in an almost empty restaurant was the one at the back by the open door? And coffee? Suggested 20 minute wait whilst the coffee machine works....no thanks. So I got the impression you thought we were visitors and maybe wouldn't be back again.
You guessed right.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoro65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Owner at Steamers Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Sorry for your unhappy experience at Steamers. Could you please tell me when you dined? we only use the bottom room when all the tables in the top and middle are full. As for coffee I can only apologise as the coffee machine should be on at all times. Please could you respond as i would like to find out what happened.
Many thanks Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our experience of Steamers. Our thanks to Andy and team. Special thanks to Anna who was attentive, friendly, happy and made the evening fun... Service was excellent and the food spot one... Summary of the food was; soup of the day, mussels & asparagus; sea bream, lamb shank & lemon sole - all perfectly cooked!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely meal. Lovely Service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were a family group of 30 for Sunday lunch. The menu was varied and we all really enjoyed it. Thanks very much. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelikaduparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steamers Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Steamers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing