We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just magic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mill at Gordleton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hordle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just magic”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Probably my favourite place to eat around Lymington. The setting, alongside a river and its beautiful garden, full of interesting art and sculptures is perfect and the food and service excellent. Relaxing by day and magical at night when the garden is tastefully illuminated. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindenhouse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    62
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
82
228
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I brought my husband here as a birthday treat as had heard great things. We were not disappointed. We enjoyed a delicious meal with attentive service, the choices were great and the atmosphere just lovely. Our stay over night was very comfortable and relaxing in a wonderful setting. Breakfast was pretty special too-we will be back. Thank you to the staff for such a great night away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amye_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We just wanted to take the chance to put in writing how amazing the entire weekend was for our best friends wedding at the Mill! Every team member was perfect, so attentive, friendly and professional, nothing was too much for them throughout the whole weekend. The housekeeping team was so attentive, the breakfast staff joyous, the waiting team super professional and the bar staff.....what can I say!!!! Liz is really something special and took on board all the nitty gritty decor and special touches so we didnt have to worry. The food was so delicious, everyone commented on how nice it was.

Our room was divine and we had a perfect night sleep. We got a sneaky peak in a few of the other rooms and all the individual decor was beautiful. Our mattress was heaven and the little touches like proper china mugs, shortbread and local guides were fantastic.

Our standards are stupidly high at times but Liz and the team at the Mill certainly exceeded them!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This was a farewell to a daughter returning to Canada and a husband off to France for a weeks sailing so needed to be something a little special. It was.
A good atmosphere in the bar and restaurant, relaxed friendly welcome and service followed by good food in a really special setting. Everything considered reasonable value for the experience and quality of food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaLoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

we recently attended a friends 60th birthday held at The Mill, nothing was too much trouble, we had an excellent 3 course lunch which was extremely tasty, there was 30 people in the party and everyones meal came out at the same time and was hot, the staff were polite and well organised, later in the day we had supper, which was also beautifully presented and very tasty, the staff were very attentive and pleasant. We were lucky to have a beautiful, warm, sunny day, so to sit in the garden was a bonus. The metal sculptures in the garden were amazing and was very pleasant to walk around discovering them and then to sit next to the river watching the wildlife with a cool glass of wine. I would thoroughly recommend The Mill, the food and atmosphere is always good, I visit regularly with friends for the odd lunch or function and have never had a bad experience, all in all an excellent choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

What a wonderful place - the gardens, the food, the staff - a truly wonderful, magical place, very relaxing enjoying a delicious meal by the river, listening to the bird song - cannot fault it. The Menu is vast and will suit all tastes and appetites. The gardens are a pure joy with original and interesting Sculptures amongst the plants, trees and scrubs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudette22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We booked The Mill after reading some excellent reviews for it and were NOT disappointed! probably one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in.
From the moment we arrived we were looked after - nothing was too much trouble, and everything is run in a very smooth manner. The staff are all really friendly, helpful and know completely what they are doing.
Our room (The Fallow room) was stunning with great views and we enjoyed relaxing in the bar too - a really cosy and welcoming atmosphere. little touches like homemade shortbread in the room just really made it extra special.
The food was also great in both the restaurant and the bar.
There is not really anything within close distance but the hotel is so perfect that it makes for a great base to just chill out in and soak up the atmosphere, food and drink! there are lovely walks to be had if you drive a bit, but we didn't rate Lyndhurst or Brockenhurst really - not really much to do or see, and not as lovely as The Mill!

Room Tip: The Fallow Room was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hordle
1.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
7.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Gordleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Gordleton

Property: The Mill at Gordleton
Address: Silver Street, Hordle, New Forest, Lymington SO41 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Hordle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hordle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mill at Gordleton 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a pretty privately owned restaurant with 7 lovely individually decorated bedrooms, serving gorgeous local or organic food. We try not to be pretentious, preferring instead to be informal and friendly, but we are still totally committed to quality and service. But the best part of all is the river and rambling gardens, home to a family of ducks and if you are lucky you might even spot a Kingfisher! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mill at Gordleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill At Gordleton Hotel Hordle
The Mill At Gordleton Hordle, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing