We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a masterclass in hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mill at Gordleton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hordle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a masterclass in hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We went for lunch and were immediately impressed by the friendly professional
Welcome by all the staff and the owner Liz. The food was first class, being a hot
Sunny day we were sat outside and were lucky to get a table and this was midweek , the
Mill is obviously very popular.

I would say that the mill is not cheap but then I would be prepared to eat less often if you could guarantee the quality and standard of food which the Chefs at Mill at Gordleton source locally. So often nowadays one goes to a pub or restaurant chain that offers a standard menu with no culinary ambition.

We walked around the grounds and admired the sculptures and the various
Gardens including the secret garden. I was fortunate that when I went to use the facilities I managed to see the beautiful interior rooms.I got talking to Liz the owner who proudly showed me the Mills latest room refurbishment and what a great job they have done. It's very romantic with a beautiful free standing bath.
Even though we only live fifteen miles away, I have this room earmarked for our next special
Occasion. The Mill is a truly romantic and magical place and deserves all the awards that it has received and more.

Room Tip: All the rooms look lovely
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    61
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
78
223
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We came across the Mill by chance and what a fantastic find! Had a lovely Saturday lunch alongside the stream and the magical secret gardens - food and service were excellent and we'll definitely be be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

What a great find thanks to Tripadvisor. This is a wonderful pub with a beautiful garden setting with a stream going through. We sat outside and enjoyed a beautiful meal, lovely wine and good service. Would definitely recommend anyone who is enjoys fine cuisine to eat here. I would suggest you book ahead, we chanced it and we're lucky because we went early. Oh, they also cater for toddlers! Great place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Him&I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Had fish pie, chicken salad and local ale as pub meals on Monday evening 22nd July and can heartily recommend their pub food and service. The lady managing the pub was especially hospitable and wecoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
246 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We booked a table for four in the restaurant and managed to bag a table outside as the weather was so lovely. Attentive friendly service and delicious food. We managed all three courses as the menu was so inviting - something we don't normally do!
Requesting gluten free was no problem what so ever which was a refreshing change and probably the best gluten free bread I have tasted to date.
Well worth a visit.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morag H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the mill for five nights on our summer holiday. The room (No. 4) was small, but we had the sole use of a big roof terrace and it had a super new bathroom.
The food they serve in the restaurant is delicious and we ate there several times. Everybody was really friendly, tried to make conversation with us and was very helpful and attentive.
The garden at the mill with all its sculptures is fantastic - we liked the crocodile best and would have loved to take it home for our garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwall03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Mill is only ten minutes away from where I live, but it is such a beautiful oasis offering the best location south of the New Forest. We love to sit outside to dine in the summer, surrounded by beautiful gardens next to the river. The service and food are always excellent, and special dietary needs never a problem. A few weeks ago my daughter got married there and everything was perfect. The event was run very smoothly and professionally and coped with a grey morning, which meant the service had to be held inside and after a beautiful lunch the sun came out and we could enjoy the surrounding gardens which make a perfect photo backdrop.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hordle
1.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
7.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Gordleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Gordleton

Property: The Mill at Gordleton
Address: Silver Street, Hordle, New Forest, Lymington SO41 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Hordle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hordle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mill at Gordleton 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a pretty privately owned restaurant with 7 lovely individually decorated bedrooms, serving gorgeous local or organic food. We try not to be pretentious, preferring instead to be informal and friendly, but we are still totally committed to quality and service. But the best part of all is the river and rambling gardens, home to a family of ducks and if you are lucky you might even spot a Kingfisher! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Mill at Gordleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill At Gordleton Hotel Hordle
The Mill At Gordleton Hordle, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing