We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mill at Gordleton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hordle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolute gem!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Found this wonderful gem of a hotel through Sawdays and we loved every minute of it. The gardens are beautiful, with the mill pond, sculptures, lots of areas for sitting out with a glass of wine. The rooms are individually designed, with king-size beds ( don't know why more hotels don't do this) and every attention to detail taken care of. The food is also excellent and people come from all over, definitely not just residents. The bar is cosy with comfy leather chairs, papers to read and a fire.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    62
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
82
228
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for a weekend with our 2 daughters, their husbands and a toddler in January to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday. Everything was perfect, the rooms were gorgeous, bar welcoming and the restaurant amazing. Service and atmosphere in the restaurant was first class, food was absolutely delicious and they went out of their way to accommodate our grandson even checking the baby monitor was within range of our table. We all agreed it was a fabulous weekend and are planning to return in the Spring to take advantage of the lovely gardens.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolmunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in the Fallow room, which has a rather nice twin aspect, giving a very light airy feel to this room. Gordleton Mill and it's gardens were great and this was in Winter!, so with the warmer weather hopefully coming soon, would make it an idealic place to stay when you can sit out on the terrace. We were welcomed on arrival and show to our room with minimum fuss and settled in very quickly. We had pre-booked the restaurant, as was recommended and this turned out to be a wise move, as it was full. However, having said that, the restaurant staff were fantastic, I half expected to have to wait with it being so busy, but this was clearly not the case and the setting, having been re-done recently, was very tasteful. The meal was excellent as were the staff at all times, this also included breakfast the following morning. I will be looking to stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ringwood hampshire uk
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Went here for dinner with 20 friends. It was a fabulous night. Great food and service, super atmosphere. It was a Freddie mercury tribute and we had a wonderful time there. Will visit again soon.
Our three course dinner was absolutely delicious. Everyone enjoyed the various meals that were served

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aliwoollacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We went to the mill for afternoon tea and received a Lovely warm greeting from great bar staff on arrival.we spent the afternoon sat in front of a log fire with a fabulous cream tea. We liked it so much we stayed for cocktails. We will be returning to stay overnight next time very reasonably priced & lovely attentive staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brackeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What an amazing new restaurant Liz has produced. My wife was highly impressed to say the least.With that as always came amazing quality of food, service and etiquette by all staff. A special praise to Beth in the kitchen for our amazing fish course she kindly did for us. As ever Liz and the team keep producing quality at the highest level. See you again soon. Malcolm & Chrissy

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We made a group booking for this show and meal to celebrate a birthday.
Liz and the team made sure we were looked after superbly in spite of being extremely busy. The staff were very efficient and courteous and the food was delicious. We opted to stay at the hotel and were delighted with our spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated rooms. The special little touches made our stay so enjoyable.....whoever designed the rooms thought of everything. What a fabulous place for a romantic getaway. We will be back.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindylou1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hordle
1.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
7.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Gordleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Gordleton

Property: The Mill at Gordleton
Address: Silver Street, Hordle, New Forest, Lymington SO41 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Hordle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hordle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mill at Gordleton 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a pretty privately owned restaurant with 7 lovely individually decorated bedrooms, serving gorgeous local or organic food. We try not to be pretentious, preferring instead to be informal and friendly, but we are still totally committed to quality and service. But the best part of all is the river and rambling gardens, home to a family of ducks and if you are lucky you might even spot a Kingfisher! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Mill at Gordleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill At Gordleton Hotel Hordle
The Mill At Gordleton Hordle, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing