We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mill at Gordleton
Ranked #2 of 3 Hordle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

In need of redecorating. Food was good but very expensive for what it was. Staff, the manageress in particular, were on the whole rather rude and dismissive. Seemed more interested in polishing cutlery than in the customers themselves,
I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for The Mill at Gordleton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had dinner a few years ago at The Mill and had not been back for a while but it still is that idyllic spot you approach over the mill stream. At night it is quite magical. The dinner we had this time was a quiet birthday celebration and a very enjoyable evening. The staff are very efficient and welcoming and soon had us seated with a delicious nibbles board and drinks. Not a huge menu and all the better for it, delicious scallops for me and smoked salmon and prawns for my wife were just superb. Main courses were tasty and well presented, duck with bubble and squeak and cod with crab, the vegetables were also delicious and different. Puddings of sorbet and chocolate and candied orange followed, with a really good expresso in a beautiful cup to finish. A very enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Olsier54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Found this wonderful gem of a hotel through Sawdays and we loved every minute of it. The gardens are beautiful, with the mill pond, sculptures, lots of areas for sitting out with a glass of wine. The rooms are individually designed, with king-size beds ( don't know why more hotels don't do this) and every attention to detail taken care of. The food is also excellent and people come from all over, definitely not just residents. The bar is cosy with comfy leather chairs, papers to read and a fire.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for a weekend with our 2 daughters, their husbands and a toddler in January to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday. Everything was perfect, the rooms were gorgeous, bar welcoming and the restaurant amazing. Service and atmosphere in the restaurant was first class, food was absolutely delicious and they went out of their way to accommodate our grandson even checking the baby monitor was within range of our table. We all agreed it was a fabulous weekend and are planning to return in the Spring to take advantage of the lovely gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolmunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in the Fallow room, which has a rather nice twin aspect, giving a very light airy feel to this room. Gordleton Mill and it's gardens were great and this was in Winter!, so with the warmer weather hopefully coming soon, would make it an idealic place to stay when you can sit out on the terrace. We were welcomed on arrival and show to our room with minimum fuss and settled in very quickly. We had pre-booked the restaurant, as was recommended and this turned out to be a wise move, as it was full. However, having said that, the restaurant staff were fantastic, I half expected to have to wait with it being so busy, but this was clearly not the case and the setting, having been re-done recently, was very tasteful. The meal was excellent as were the staff at all times, this also included breakfast the following morning. I will be looking to stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Went here for dinner with 20 friends. It was a fabulous night. Great food and service, super atmosphere. It was a Freddie mercury tribute and we had a wonderful time there. Will visit again soon.
Our three course dinner was absolutely delicious. Everyone enjoyed the various meals that were served

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank aliwoollacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We went to the mill for afternoon tea and received a Lovely warm greeting from great bar staff on arrival.we spent the afternoon sat in front of a log fire with a fabulous cream tea. We liked it so much we stayed for cocktails. We will be returning to stay overnight next time very reasonably priced & lovely attentive staff.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brackeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hordle
1.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
742 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,594 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
7.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Gordleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Gordleton

Address: Silver Street, Hordle, New Forest, Lymington SO41 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Hordle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hordle
Price Range: £88 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mill at Gordleton 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 12 lovely individually decorated bedrooms, serving gorgeous local or organic food. We try not to be pretentious, preferring instead to be informal and friendly, but we are still totally committed to quality and service. But the best part of all is the river and rambling gardens, home to a family of ducks and if you are lucky you might even spot a Kingfisher! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mill at Gordleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill At Gordleton Hotel Hordle
The Mill At Gordleton Hordle, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing