We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the New Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mill at Gordleton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hordle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the New Forest”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We have just returned from our second visit to the Mill and would have no hesitation in recommending it. In fact we have already done so. The food is excellent, the Mill is very relaxing and in a beautiful setting. Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alf68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    62
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
81
228
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chiggort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Speaking as someone with (so i'm told) neurotic minimalist tendancies I found the afforementioned attention to detail and interior design way over the top for my tastes. The whole place is so overpoweringly girlish and chintzy it's like a second hand upholstery showroom for the WI. I was even more annoyed by this when I noticed various baubles and knobs have started falling off the beds/walls/cushions/indescribable wall mounted chintz exhibits. You won't need to worry about any noise from downstairs as you won't be able to hear it above your curtains. No criticism here though, but I would have preferred not to have been forced into walking through an old multi coloured shag pile carpet.

The whole crispie duck saga is so blatantly a marketing ploy I actually felt more sorry for the duck than I did for myself, even the toy crispies (which are everywhere, they seem to have taken over reception and are holding the receptionist hostage, there is never anyone there apart from them) have been cursed by the chintz.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiggort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I simply can not understand how anyone could have a bad thing to say about this place. This is the most beautiful and peaceful location in this area, with an attention to detail which is second to none. We have been going here for a few years and recently had our wedding here. The staff were amazing and could not do enough to make our day fantastic. The food is outstanding, excellently cooked, even when catering for a big event like a wedding. I would urge anyone who is thinking of visiting or staying to go, and don't listen for a minuite to any of the negative comments that have been written, they are utter rubbish - this is the best place I have ever visted and eaten at.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charfoxmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

On sunday 25th July we stopped at this establishment for Sunday lunch- it was a cool day so we asked to have a table in the resturant but they we full but we were offer a place in the small bar area which we accepted. We were just entering when we notice a golden retiever laying on the floor which my mother in law (who has difficulty in walking due to MS) had to step over to get to our table - the owner commented about the dog being old- We were perusing the menu when in strolled a women with two dogs in tow -a black and white small dog and a huge big fluffy mountain dog whose head could have rested his head on the table. The dogs greeted each other with the normal growl. the big fluffy dog was wet and smelt like a wet dog. Were we supposed to have lunch in a kennel. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We left the bar area because of the dogs and the bar tender non plus attituded. DISGUSTING.
At door of the resturant a young lady who asked why were leaving aplogised and found us a table on the side of the resturant were i must say we had a good lunch well served and very tasted.
Dog should not be allowed into a small pub area were food is served - Its not right!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeTownFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This hotel is a delightful experience. Reading the reviews on this site I thought I must add mine. Yes, there was a septic tank smell in the front carpark but hey, look where the treatment system was located. Right outside the front door of the hotel. It couldn't be situated anywhere else because of the river. You are in the country down here. No mains sewerage anywhere near. The hotel is just great. The metal sculptures of dragonflys and fish divine, although rather expensive! The room we stayed in on the front of the hotel had some problems with hot water and the water pressure was not great. No "Power" shower as you might find in a modern hotel. The floor creaked as well but what do you expect from an old building like this. The floor boards are probably 400 years old!

The resturant is just lovely, overlooking the well laid out gardens and the river. Food was exceptional. A great selection of local produce and wine to die for.

Enjoy what you are here for: A great country hotel set in the heart of the New Forest with a great resturant and quirky features.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurstpierpoint
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I travelled down to the New Forest and stumbled across this amazing venue. From the first moment my partner and I walked through the door we were enchanted. We were shown to our room overlooking the garden and river by very friendly and welcoming staff.

Before we had our meal we had a lovely drink in the bar and all the locals made us feel very welcome. We sat by the river for our evening meal which was delightful and the food was outstanding.

10/10 in my opinion. Well worth a visit. I would recommend this hotel to any visitors to the New Forest. An incredible place.

KC, Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ccccHurstpierpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We were booked to stay two nights and the first thing we noticed was the terrible smell, but we put this down to being near the water etc, but it was actually sewage! When we got to the room it looked okay at first glance and then I went to the bathroom and discovered it had black mould growing up the walls and all around the bath. When we turned on the lights you could see the room hadn't been properly cleaned for a long time and everything was covered in dust and grime. The kettle was once white but was now covered in dirty marks. The food in the restaurant was appalling and the tables in the restraunt were dusty and the salt and pepper pots were sticky and dirty! The final straw was when we were served a breakfast that was not cooked, a raw pork sausage and barely warm black pudding and so on. We left after one night although booked for two -and just phoned around until we found a B&B at a fraction of the cost, which was very clean and didn't smell of poo and they actually cooked the breakfast in the morning. We did complain both verbally and in writing after some debate got the previous nights dinner removed from the bill. This hotel is a complete rip off.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sebastian75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hordle
1.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
2.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
7.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Gordleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Gordleton

Property: The Mill at Gordleton
Address: Silver Street, Hordle, New Forest, Lymington SO41 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Hordle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hordle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mill at Gordleton 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a pretty privately owned restaurant with 7 lovely individually decorated bedrooms, serving gorgeous local or organic food. We try not to be pretentious, preferring instead to be informal and friendly, but we are still totally committed to quality and service. But the best part of all is the river and rambling gardens, home to a family of ducks and if you are lucky you might even spot a Kingfisher! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mill at Gordleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill At Gordleton Hotel Hordle
The Mill At Gordleton Hordle, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing