We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit spoilt by Noisy morning” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garston Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garston Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Visit spoilt by Noisy morning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our stay was generally as expected, however was spoilt by the owner deciding too embark on a wood cutting exercise all of the Saturday morning. It was directly over our room and a bit discourteous. We did receive an apology, but a weekend away for my wife and I is generally too relax, not engage with DIY. The room was suffice and very comfortable. The breakfast was extremely generous and very good with no complaints. If you stay here and decide to go to Bath, jump on the number 13 bus as it will save you a small fortune on taxi fares.

Room Tip: Make sure the owner isn't doing DIY
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBarrett01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    31
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and would def recommend as the cottage is lovely. The owner Beverley is very welcoming and helpful. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable( room 6) and we loved all the extra little touches provided in the room. Breakfast was extremely tasty and nothing was too much bother.
The hot tub in the garden is a must and was clean and got.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weez1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at Garston even after we arrived past 10pm, Beverly was a very welcoming host and our room was clean and tidy with a lovely view. Breakfast is a bit strange as you come downstairs and sit around a large table with the rest of the guests which makes for awkward social situations, however breakfast was lovely and quick. We was given lots of information on where to go and the best way to get there. We only stayed for the weekend and it was a nice place to rest and sleep after a long day exploring.

Room Tip: Room 8 is just outside the pool room, it was noisy when other guests were in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westyaims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place was in a lovely location, but on a narrow road so parking was a problem. The rooms were pleasant with great views, although not the cleanest we have stayed in..carpets stained for instance. A decent breakfast with fresh fruit alas spoilt with luke warm coffee. The lady owner was pleasant but not over friendly, but for a night's stay it did the job!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in April. I sent an email requesting some information before we arrived which wasn't answered, I then sent it again a few days later. We received a very curt boarding on rude response, obviously too busy to answer. When we arrive late evening in the pouring rain, there was no answer when we rang the door, instead a note telling us to ring a mobile. Turns out everyone was out and we had to let ourselves in. The room was small and sweet at a glance, but when I went into the ensuite, the skirting boards were filthy. The room was covered in dust and was not nice. Neither of us slept due to the room being so hot and the bed being so soft. We didn't enjoy breakfast sitting with everyone else on one table. On a positive note the breakfast was good, but the whole experience was not pleasant for £70 a night!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingJulie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Lovely b&b only 5 mins car journey out of Bath. The landlady is very friendly and accomodating. The rooms and en suite were great. Breakfast really nice. The b&b had lots of lovely little extras too. Would definately recommend this b&b and would not hesitate in staying there again.

Room Tip: Room 5 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our family of four females have just spent one night in the family room at Garston cottage. The room was very comfortable, clean & well equipped. The welcome tray was very well stocked and all toiletries were provided.
The village is lovely only a few miles outside of Bath. We ate our evening meal at the local pub, The Crown which is minutes from the cottage and serves wonderful home cooked food.
Breakfast at the B&B consisted of fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, toast and a delicious full English breakfast. We were made to feel welcome and would certainly recommend Garston Cottage for a comfortable, good value stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathford
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
3.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
9.9 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garston Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garston Cottage

Property: Garston Cottage
Address: 28 Ashley Road, Bathford, Bath BA1 7TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Bathford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bathford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Garston Cottage Hotel Bathford
Garston Cottage Bath/Bathford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing