We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply 5*”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cedars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cedars
Ranked #1 of 2 Bathford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply 5*”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

No surprises to see that every single review is rated excellent given the exceptional standard of accommodation, breakfast and general ambiance of the property. Having said that, I myself work in providing property to people on a short-term basis and it is notoriously difficult if not impossible to attain a 5* rating on such a consistent basis so kudos to The Cedars for doing so. If ever I get the chance to visit bath again I know exactly where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k0r4s3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
104
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is the best b&b we have ever stayed at. The b&b is a new modern building, built in 2010. When we arrived we were greeted by Damian and he was very pleasant and showed us the facilities and our room. We were staying in room 1 which was very spacious with a large bathroom all excellently done and very clean. If you fancied a night in you can use the living room/kitchen with a 40 inch tv and couches. In your room there is a smaller tv with an integrated DVD player and a bookcase of available DVDs to watch. There is also a pub next door which serves good food. The breakfast in the morning is exceptional. The full English will keep you going until dinner. There is other options of fresh fruit and smoked salmon/scrambled eggs with the normal cereals and juice. Nothing is too much trouble. To get into Bath there is a bus every 15 mins going from outside the b&b up until 11.30 at night. The only problem with doing this review is that next time we are going to stay here we will have problems getting in. Thank you Damian and Gilly you have provided a little gem of a b&b.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamiegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wimbledon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were welcomed by the owner who showed us around and told us to make ourselves at home, which we did! The breakfast offered is extensive ~ cereal, fresh fruit, croissant, toast or a full english served with freshly brewed coffee or tea. The beds are comfortable and there are good amenities provided ~ a well stocked fridge, tea/coffee making facilities. The location is excellent, it's a very quick drive into Bath and there is a lovely pub within walking distance which serves excellent food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank camkinWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at The Cedars and we have had a lovely, lovely stay with Damian and Jilly (the very welcoming hosts). Having decided to spend a little time in the Bath area, we looked for accommodation in the city, but were drawn to The Cedars, which is so well placed for travel into Bath by bus - we decided to take this option on one day of our stay and were so pleased we had done. We had a full day sightseeing, ate at Sotto Sotto (highly recommended, by the way) and came back by bus, as they run till late. The Cedars is a lovely new building. Our room was large with a lovely shower room and really comfy bed. Breakfast is prepared and served in a beautiful kitchen/lounge area - it feels very much as if you are part of the family. Everything is delicious and special requests are fully catered for. We ate twice in The Crown next door - a pub which styles itself as a French bistro. The food was good and reasonably priced on both occasions - great not to have to use the car either. Thank you to our hosts for welcoming us into their lovely home. We hope to pay a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joolsEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Fantastic B&B just outside of Bath that offers a great alternative to the offerings in Bath itself which generally tend to be a little cottage-y and dated in style. Rooms are nice and big, bathrooms modern and clean and the facilities are excellent. Great breakfasts offered in the morning with very friendly and easy-going hosts who are happy to help out with recommendations for the day. Cannot recommend this B&B enough!!

Room Tip: Room 5 is the biggest room but closest to the kitchen/dining/TV open-plan area so if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I decided to book a 2 day break for myself and my husband to celebrate his 30th birthday! I was in between two minds when it came to the location, but I was so glad I chose the Cedars. The Journey into Bath only took us 10min max with traffic. This is by far the best bed and breakfast I have ever visited. You get cooked a nice fresh Breakfast every morning, the Salmon and Scramble eggs are yummy! The only small little thing i would change is the pillows.....its very firm and high, I would like a selection of pillows in the room. Other than that, i can't fault anything! These people are obviously doing something right by the sound of it and I would recommend them to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poeksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed for three nights in March and would thoroughly recommend the cedars. The whole place is very clean and well presented. Our room was an excellent size with good quality furniture and a spotless shower room. The breakfast could not be faulted, with options including quality fresh fruit, cereal and tastly sausages, bacon etc cooked to order. Damian and Gilly could not be more welcoming and helpful. The pub next door is worth a visit as it offers good food and some excellent beer.
The Cedars is a few miles from bath by car or via the bus, which stops just outside, however, if you are feeling energetic, we would recommend the walk into Bath via the Kennet and Avon canal. It is about 3-4 miles, but is a picturesque and interesting walk with a multitude of canal boats of all shapes, sizes and colours. There is also a pub and other interesting diversions en-route. Damian will point you in the right direction across the fields and then it is a very easy walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanAirUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathford
2.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
2.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,201 reviews
3.2 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 160 in Bath
1,579 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paradise House
Paradise House
#5 of 160 in Bath
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars

Property: The Cedars
Address: 4 Bathford Hill, Bathford, Bath BA1 7SL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Bathford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bathford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedars 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedars is a 4 star award-winning contemporary family run B&B / Guest House. In the beautiful village of Bathford just 3 miles from historic Bath, it's the ideal place to explore the west country. Every room is en-suite with wi-fi, TV, DVD, tea and coffee. Our locally sourced full English breakfast with fresh coffee and much more will set you up for the day. We look forward to welcoming you here at The Cedars. All our rooms are en-suite and includes breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cedars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedars Bath/Bathford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing