We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrambled eggs are the way forward”
Review of The Cedars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cedars
Ranked #1 of 2 Bathford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Fantastic little b&b. Rooms were immaculate and service was great. Ate at the pub next door - good food. Gilly's scrambled eggs are amazing - the best I've ever had. Would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yovitha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

What a fantastic place. Brilliantly designed/built, great location on outskirts of Bath, better than many hotel options in the same price bracket. Pub next door was also great for an evening meal, could not have expected anymore for a short stay in Bath. Would not hesitate in recommending for anyone wishing to visit Bath that requires a funky place to stay without any chintz!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowsfieldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is the best B&B we have stayed in to date. It is really convenient for travelling to Bath by bus (they run until 11pm and the stop is right outside!). The pub next door is excellent, well worth a visit.
Our hosts, Gilly and Damien were really friendly and welcoming, and cook an AMAZING breakfast!
We have never stayed at the same place twice, but would make an exception for this B&B. All in all a great experience at an unbeatable price considering Bath is somewhere where things tend to be overpriced. Well done guys!

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank endantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is the best b&b we have ever stayed at. The b&b is a new modern building, built in 2010. When we arrived we were greeted by Damian and he was very pleasant and showed us the facilities and our room. We were staying in room 1 which was very spacious with a large bathroom all excellently done and very clean. If you fancied a night in you can use the living room/kitchen with a 40 inch tv and couches. In your room there is a smaller tv with an integrated DVD player and a bookcase of available DVDs to watch. There is also a pub next door which serves good food. The breakfast in the morning is exceptional. The full English will keep you going until dinner. There is other options of fresh fruit and smoked salmon/scrambled eggs with the normal cereals and juice. Nothing is too much trouble. To get into Bath there is a bus every 15 mins going from outside the b&b up until 11.30 at night. The only problem with doing this review is that next time we are going to stay here we will have problems getting in. Thank you Damian and Gilly you have provided a little gem of a b&b.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamiegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were welcomed by the owner who showed us around and told us to make ourselves at home, which we did! The breakfast offered is extensive ~ cereal, fresh fruit, croissant, toast or a full english served with freshly brewed coffee or tea. The beds are comfortable and there are good amenities provided ~ a well stocked fridge, tea/coffee making facilities. The location is excellent, it's a very quick drive into Bath and there is a lovely pub within walking distance which serves excellent food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camkinWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at The Cedars and we have had a lovely, lovely stay with Damian and Jilly (the very welcoming hosts). Having decided to spend a little time in the Bath area, we looked for accommodation in the city, but were drawn to The Cedars, which is so well placed for travel into Bath by bus - we decided to take this option on one day of our stay and were so pleased we had done. We had a full day sightseeing, ate at Sotto Sotto (highly recommended, by the way) and came back by bus, as they run till late. The Cedars is a lovely new building. Our room was large with a lovely shower room and really comfy bed. Breakfast is prepared and served in a beautiful kitchen/lounge area - it feels very much as if you are part of the family. Everything is delicious and special requests are fully catered for. We ate twice in The Crown next door - a pub which styles itself as a French bistro. The food was good and reasonably priced on both occasions - great not to have to use the car either. Thank you to our hosts for welcoming us into their lovely home. We hope to pay a return visit!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joolsEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Fantastic B&B just outside of Bath that offers a great alternative to the offerings in Bath itself which generally tend to be a little cottage-y and dated in style. Rooms are nice and big, bathrooms modern and clean and the facilities are excellent. Great breakfasts offered in the morning with very friendly and easy-going hosts who are happy to help out with recommendations for the day. Cannot recommend this B&B enough!!

Room Tip: Room 5 is the biggest room but closest to the kitchen/dining/TV open-plan area so if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathford
1.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,307 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#17 of 155 in Bath
977 reviews
4.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 155 in Bath
810 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#18 of 155 in Bath
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars

Address: 4 Bathford Hill, Bathford, Bath BA1 7SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Bathford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bathford
Price Range: £73 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedars 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedars is a 4 star award-winning contemporary family run B&B / Guest House. In the beautiful village of Bathford just 3 miles from historic Bath, it's the ideal place to explore the west country. Every room is en-suite with wi-fi, TV, DVD, tea and coffee. Our locally sourced full English breakfast with fresh coffee and much more will set you up for the day. We look forward to welcoming you here at The Cedars. All our rooms are en-suite and includes breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cedars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedars Bath/Bathford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing