We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fergus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Breadalbane Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Fergus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Breadlebane Inn in the McCatty Room last weekend. The suite has a private patio, whirlpool bath, in-room coffee, tea and hot chocolate and THE most comfortable bed. The room was impeccably decorated with huge comfortable chairs and big screen TV. The down comforter was cool during the warm night. We were very impressed. Also the fine dining at the Scozia Italian Restaurant was delicious. Just new this year, Scozia (which mean Scotland) had many entrees I lead a vegetarian lifestyle and have gluten sensitivities. I still had quite the time deciding. There were many choices. We were served our meal on the expansive patio where we were entertained by chipmunks. The next morning, the breakfast was equally delicious. You must try the "gypsy eggs". Our hats off to all the wonderful staff including Trevor Jones and Sandi Hamill who made our stay perfect. Kudos to Sergio and Dennis in the restaurant. We were made to feel "at home" and at the same time very special. Thank you to everyone for their considerable effort. We will have a return visit very soon. Terry & Gayle Sass

Room Tip: We had a peek at all the rooms as the doors are open as you pass through to the restaurant. It woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Terry & Gayle,

Thank you so very kindly for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to our Inn on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you were impressed with both your room as well as your dining experiences with us. Your post will be shared with both our management and service team to pass on your compliments directly to those who took special care of you. We strive to make all who walk through our doors as if they were guests in our own homes and are very happy to hear we made you both feel at home.

Thank you again - we appreciate and value your feedback and we look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent 2 nights there with 4 other couples who get together once per year somewhere in NA to refresh a 45 year friendship. We enjoyed the overall experience and found all of the staff very willing to make every effort to please and delight. We ate a dinner and lunch in the restaurant and found the menu to be interesting and the product to be very good. Service was slow but probably due to the size of our group but since our objective was to visit, it was not a real problem. The Inn has very nice rooms and my wife and I enjoyed the Tippen suite which was roomy and quiet.
Fergus is a beautiful town and close to Elora which provides lots of sightseeing options

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drugb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Drugb,

Thank you for taking a few moments to tell us about your visit to our Inn earlier this week. We were honoured to be the destination for your gathering this year. We were all very delighted to have served your group and are happy to hear that was evident. We do apologize for any timing experiences you experienced - glad to know it wasn't an inconvenience to you.

We hope you and your wife consider visiting us again, perhaps for one of our weekend getaway packages. The fall is a beautiful time in our area with lots more sights to see.

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent one night at the Inn. Enjoyed dinner and Breakfast and everything the Inn had to offer. Regret not hitting the Pub!!!
Walked along the River which was great. The Service and Ambiance made the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJN00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear JJN00,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to let us know you were happy with your stay at our Inn. We aim to provide an outstanding level of hospitality to all of our guests and are thrilled to hear that we hit the mark and made your experience with us memorable. We hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future and will have the time to visit our Fergusson Room Pub where you'll find the same excellent quality food and service.

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I stayed one night May 21, 2014. It was partly business in the area for him and 100% pleasure on my part. The Breadalbane Inn is welcoming, friendly, and calming. We were greeted upon check in with a glass of champagne and sat in the outdoor patio to sip prior to settling into our room. We stayed in the Cardinal Suite. It was roomy and comfortable. The adequately sized bathroom included all amenities including a towel warmer. We dined in the Scozia restaurant. The food was amazing and very reasonably priced. We felt very relaxed and were able to linger over dinner. Our breakfast was included with our stay and we were once again served in the dining room. My husband had a traditional breakfast of eggs, toast, hash browns, and bacon. I opted for the eggs Florentine. Both were excellent. Thank you Breadalbane! We hope to stay with you again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serenity250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Serenity250,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review for our Breadalbane Inn & Spa! We value all of the feedback we receive and appreciate your positive comments. We are so pleased you found us to be welcoming, friendly and caring as that is exactly what we strive to be to all of our Inn and dining guests. Sounds like you both had an enjoyable visit and we too hope you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I took my parents out for a joint mothers/fathers day celebration tonight to the Italian restaurant, Scozia, in the Inn. It was excellent from arrival to departure. The staff were very friendly, the Maitre'd Denis was particularly helpful in guiding us through the menu and making suggestions for each of us. The pizza was excellent and we shared one as an appetizer. It was quite large enough that we all could have been finished eating at that point and been comfortable. For entrees my parents both had Haggis alla Scozia (cannelloni stuffed with haggis in a cream sauce), which was a new experience for both of them and both loved it. I was impressed with how many options they had for gluten and dairy free and was able to have a dairy free entree without altering the dish! If I hadn't been so full there were dairy free dessert options as well. The atmosphere is welcoming and inclusive. There was a couple celebrating their wedding in full wedding attire and at the other end a group wearing tshirts and slacks and no one seemed out of place. Beautiful building, the room has an excellent view of the gardens. Definitely a place to see and experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Shelley,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed such an array of our menu offerings, and that you found something just right that accommodated your dietary preferences. We hope to see you back again soon – and don’t forget to save room for dessert next time!

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

After reading the positive reviews we were looking forward to a pleasant stay BUT were disappointed. Hopefully this was a one-time/night blip. Food was OK in the pub. Dining room menu on-line was not what was available. Breakfast service was not welcoming and there were no choices. Room could be better serviced. (better mirrors in bathroom, more places for towels etc.)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Canadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear 4Canadians,

We are sorry to hear that your recent visit with us was disappointing. We too trust it was a one-time blip as we strive to provide a most excellent experience for our guests from arrival through to departure. We are taking into consideration all of the points you mentioned and are looking into ways we can improve within those areas. Thank you for taking the time to bring them to our attention. We would love to welcome you again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly to make those arrangements.

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager
519-843-4770

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here this weekend for one night. Mary Ann greeted us at reception and we had the friendliest service we have seen anywhere. We loved her. Dinner portions at the Fergusson Pub were very impressive, we had the Pork Schnitzel. Very inexpensive. The inn was beautiful and the bed in the Tippen Room was so comfy. The staff at the pub were so nice and took great care of us despite being very busy. Quaint little town of Elora and Fergus was a nice change, would love to go back again one day. Vicky & Dave

Room Tip: Tippen room was nice at the Carriage House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vick652001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Vicky & Dave,

Thank you so very much for your lovely note, and particularly for pointing out the friendly service you received from our staff. Thanks too for the great pictures you uploaded, especially the one of one of our iconic dishes - the schnitzel. We too would love to have you back again one day, hopefully soon! Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fergus
2.9 mi away
The Village Inn Elora
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Fergus Hotel
0.4 mi away
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
#4 of 8 in Fergus
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Riverwood Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Breadalbane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breadalbane Inn

Address: 487 St Andrew St W | Centre Wellington-Fergus/Elora, Fergus, Ontario N1M 1P2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fergus
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with 10 rooms. Each one has it's own unique charm and characteristics. While staying with us at the Inn you can have the choice of dinning in 1 of our 2 restaurants on site. If you feel like a burger and a pint, try the Fergusson Pub which offers our own in house made burgers and a variety of domestic and craft beer offerings. Looking for something a little more upscale? Then try Scozia, which is our pasta, steak and wine bar. All steaks are sourced locally and are raised with out antibotics or hormones. Pair up any of our dishes with one of our many delicious wines. Also don't forget about dessert. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Breadalbane Hotel Fergus
The Breadalbane Inn Fergus, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing