We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed again won't return”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fergus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Breadalbane Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Fergus B&B and Inns
Elora, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointed again won't return”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The first visit was to Scozia restaurant looked nice food was horrible waiter did not seem to be concerned that I didn't eat my meal didn't offer a credit or anything dissapointed.

2nd experience went to the pub with friends heard the wings were good so thought ok hopefully better than Scozia. (should stuck to wings I guess)Ordered the nachos with pulled porked the chips were well done dried out on one side of the plate hardly any cheese and the pulled pork was cold so terribly dissapointed. I have I decided I won't return as again. We mentioned to the waiter that the nachos were not very good he says oh should have something right away, but we were so hungry and hoping to just get through them. Too bad for us no credit again so won't be back as well won't be referring this place to any friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lv2Trl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Lv2Trl,

We are very dismayed to learn that we have disappointed you. It sounds like we fell short on both your and our own expectations of what a good quality meal so be, and we apologize for that.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We value all input we receive from our guests and your concerns will be raised with our management team for a review on how we could have served you better.

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    34
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
19
90
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Breadlebane Inn in the McCatty Room last weekend. The suite has a private patio, whirlpool bath, in-room coffee, tea and hot chocolate and THE most comfortable bed. The room was impeccably decorated with huge comfortable chairs and big screen TV. The down comforter was cool during the warm night. We were very impressed. Also the fine dining at the Scozia Italian Restaurant was delicious. Just new this year, Scozia (which mean Scotland) had many entrees I lead a vegetarian lifestyle and have gluten sensitivities. I still had quite the time deciding. There were many choices. We were served our meal on the expansive patio where we were entertained by chipmunks. The next morning, the breakfast was equally delicious. You must try the "gypsy eggs". Our hats off to all the wonderful staff including Trevor Jones and Sandi Hamill who made our stay perfect. Kudos to Sergio and Dennis in the restaurant. We were made to feel "at home" and at the same time very special. Thank you to everyone for their considerable effort. We will have a return visit very soon. Terry & Gayle Sass

Room Tip: We had a peek at all the rooms as the doors are open as you pass through to the restaurant. It woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Terry & Gayle,

Thank you so very kindly for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to our Inn on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you were impressed with both your room as well as your dining experiences with us. Your post will be shared with both our management and service team to pass on your compliments directly to those who took special care of you. We strive to make all who walk through our doors as if they were guests in our own homes and are very happy to hear we made you both feel at home.

Thank you again - we appreciate and value your feedback and we look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent 2 nights there with 4 other couples who get together once per year somewhere in NA to refresh a 45 year friendship. We enjoyed the overall experience and found all of the staff very willing to make every effort to please and delight. We ate a dinner and lunch in the restaurant and found the menu to be interesting and the product to be very good. Service was slow but probably due to the size of our group but since our objective was to visit, it was not a real problem. The Inn has very nice rooms and my wife and I enjoyed the Tippen suite which was roomy and quiet.
Fergus is a beautiful town and close to Elora which provides lots of sightseeing options

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drugb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Drugb,

Thank you for taking a few moments to tell us about your visit to our Inn earlier this week. We were honoured to be the destination for your gathering this year. We were all very delighted to have served your group and are happy to hear that was evident. We do apologize for any timing experiences you experienced - glad to know it wasn't an inconvenience to you.

We hope you and your wife consider visiting us again, perhaps for one of our weekend getaway packages. The fall is a beautiful time in our area with lots more sights to see.

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent one night at the Inn. Enjoyed dinner and Breakfast and everything the Inn had to offer. Regret not hitting the Pub!!!
Walked along the River which was great. The Service and Ambiance made the experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJN00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear JJN00,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to let us know you were happy with your stay at our Inn. We aim to provide an outstanding level of hospitality to all of our guests and are thrilled to hear that we hit the mark and made your experience with us memorable. We hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future and will have the time to visit our Fergusson Room Pub where you'll find the same excellent quality food and service.

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I stayed one night May 21, 2014. It was partly business in the area for him and 100% pleasure on my part. The Breadalbane Inn is welcoming, friendly, and calming. We were greeted upon check in with a glass of champagne and sat in the outdoor patio to sip prior to settling into our room. We stayed in the Cardinal Suite. It was roomy and comfortable. The adequately sized bathroom included all amenities including a towel warmer. We dined in the Scozia restaurant. The food was amazing and very reasonably priced. We felt very relaxed and were able to linger over dinner. Our breakfast was included with our stay and we were once again served in the dining room. My husband had a traditional breakfast of eggs, toast, hash browns, and bacon. I opted for the eggs Florentine. Both were excellent. Thank you Breadalbane! We hope to stay with you again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenity250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Serenity250,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review for our Breadalbane Inn & Spa! We value all of the feedback we receive and appreciate your positive comments. We are so pleased you found us to be welcoming, friendly and caring as that is exactly what we strive to be to all of our Inn and dining guests. Sounds like you both had an enjoyable visit and we too hope you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I took my parents out for a joint mothers/fathers day celebration tonight to the Italian restaurant, Scozia, in the Inn. It was excellent from arrival to departure. The staff were very friendly, the Maitre'd Denis was particularly helpful in guiding us through the menu and making suggestions for each of us. The pizza was excellent and we shared one as an appetizer. It was quite large enough that we all could have been finished eating at that point and been comfortable. For entrees my parents both had Haggis alla Scozia (cannelloni stuffed with haggis in a cream sauce), which was a new experience for both of them and both loved it. I was impressed with how many options they had for gluten and dairy free and was able to have a dairy free entree without altering the dish! If I hadn't been so full there were dairy free dessert options as well. The atmosphere is welcoming and inclusive. There was a couple celebrating their wedding in full wedding attire and at the other end a group wearing tshirts and slacks and no one seemed out of place. Beautiful building, the room has an excellent view of the gardens. Definitely a place to see and experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Shelley,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed such an array of our menu offerings, and that you found something just right that accommodated your dietary preferences. We hope to see you back again soon – and don’t forget to save room for dessert next time!

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

After reading the positive reviews we were looking forward to a pleasant stay BUT were disappointed. Hopefully this was a one-time/night blip. Food was OK in the pub. Dining room menu on-line was not what was available. Breakfast service was not welcoming and there were no choices. Room could be better serviced. (better mirrors in bathroom, more places for towels etc.)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Canadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne C, Manager at The Breadalbane Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear 4Canadians,

We are sorry to hear that your recent visit with us was disappointing. We too trust it was a one-time blip as we strive to provide a most excellent experience for our guests from arrival through to departure. We are taking into consideration all of the points you mentioned and are looking into ways we can improve within those areas. Thank you for taking the time to bring them to our attention. We would love to welcome you again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly to make those arrangements.

Kind regards,
Marianne Crawford, Manager
519-843-4770
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fergus
3.0 mi away
The Village Inn Elora
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fergus Hotel
18.6 mi away
Millcroft Inn & Spa
Millcroft Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Alton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
0.4 mi away
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
#4 of 8 in Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breadalbane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breadalbane Inn

Property: The Breadalbane Inn
Address: 487 Andrew St. West | Centre Wellington-Fergus/Elora, Fergus, Ontario N1M 1P2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fergus
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Breadalbane Hotel Fergus
The Breadalbane Inn Fergus, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing