We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Patio Dining”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fergus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brew House On The Grand B&B
Ranked #5 of 8 Fergus B&B and Inns
Fergus, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant Patio Dining”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have enjoyed the historic Brew House three times recently, with visiting friends and family from overseas. Everyone has loved the patio area, overlooking the Grand River, and the cosy atmosphere of the terrace snuggled between the large stone buildings. The menu is varied and caters to all tastes, food quality is top-notch, and portion sizes can be challenging! Service has been consistently good on each visit, with friendly, prompt attention and valid guidance on menu choices. Best for lunch-time visits, only because the setting sun shines directly into the patio late in the day, and the table umbrellas can't provide adequate shade. Take sunglasses in case you're facing into the sunset! A pleasing location with good food at reasonable prices. We'll certainly go again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beaglebreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine B, Owner at Brew House On The Grand B&B, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for bringing more people to the Brew House! We always enjoy helping patrons entertain visitors from out of town. So glad to hear everyone had a great time!
I very much appreciate your report and the time it took to write it.
Thank you again and I hope we'll see you again soon on the patio (the season will last as long as the weather does!).
Cheers!
Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    24
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

During a little family trip weekend, we stopped at the Brew House on the Grand for a lunch. The restaurant is actually a B&B with 2 rooms a nice restaurant room and a patio with the view right on the Grand River.

A nice welcome at the bar with good pint of fresh beer, in waiting to get the best spot in the patio right above the river.
A few minutes later, Kendra our waitress invited us to seat on this best spot. She was very kind to clear the table quickly from the previous patrons and we started to enjoy an amazing sunny and warm day tempered with a nice little breeze.
We ordered the Fish & Chips and the chicken pie. Delicious both!
We had a bit of room to get the dessert and Kendra strongly recommended us the ``Ooey Gooey Goodness`` Sticky Toffee Pudding as it says on the menu (see picture).
S T U N N I N G ! Alert to all sweet teeth people ! Don't miss the pudding ! I won't describe it here but next time you have a meal there, you better not miss it !

A great and relaxing lunch in such lovely town of Fergus that we will remember for a long time. Thanks Kendra for the nice service and we will be back !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine B, Owner at Brew House On The Grand B&B, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your enthusiasm. We always love to hear about great experiences at our little pub/b&b. We really appreciate that you took the time to write.
Hope we see you soon.
cheers!
Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

For a few days get away our first stop was in Fergus. My husband went to look for accommodation while I looked in the shops. He found the Brew House and decided this would be a good place. The staff are very friendly and laid back. Very easy to talk to. We had dinner on the patio overlooking the Grand River. The back room was very comfortable and quiet even though the hotel is on a busy road. A continental breakfast is provided--muffins, bagels and cereal. There is a small bar fridge with milk and juice plus a coffee maker and toaster. Also jam and butter in the fridge for the bagels. Definitely a good alternative to a mundane chain motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachglassgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine B, Owner at Brew House On The Grand B&B, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write about your trip.
Hope we see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarington, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We started out on our bicycles in Orton and rode to the Brew House. What a beautiful patio they have. A perfect destination for a ride. Great selection of draft and great food and service. Being Father's day it was quite busy but the service was very good. We(12 of us) weren't in any rush so it worked out very well. I guess if we had been in a hurry we could have told them but it really didn't matter. I would highly recommend the Brew House and their Caesar's.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine B, Owner at Brew House On The Grand B&B, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Donald,
Thanks for your comments. Your time and review are greatly appreciated.
Any time you and your friends want to get on your bikes, just let us know and we'll be ready and waiting to take care of you!
Cheers!
Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant with a great patio overlooking the Grand River. Lots of selection on tap for beer and quality food at a very decent price. Friendly atmosphere with live music, and nice rooms if you choose to stay the night. Definitely check it out if in Fergus !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveActive86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine B, Owner at Brew House On The Grand B&B, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear LiveActive86,
Thanks so much for writing. Many people are pleasantly surprised by our lovely rooms upstairs. Your comments are much appreciated since now they don't have to take my word for it!
Stop by any time -- the beer is always cold and the view is always great!
See you soon,
Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My family and I went for brunch on mother's day and sat on the patio by the river since the weather was so nice. We had such an amazing server and the food was so delicious. I would recommend this place to everyone. It was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine B, Owner at Brew House On The Grand B&B, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Nicole,
I'm a bit behind, but I do like to thank everyone for writing in with their reviews so "Thank you!"
We work hard to make special occasions extra special -- so glad we came through for you.
Hope we see you again soon.
Sincerely,
katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I had a window seat in this century old pub set beside the Grand River.
The food was reasonably priced and delivered fast by our server Toni..
She told us Katherine Brasch and her husband Jim bought the struggling Inn 3 years ago,they did extenssive renovations and have made this is the place where the locals hang out.
The pub features 18 types of beer on tap.
The view from our window table was of a fast flowing Grand River.
There are two guest rooms above the Inn that seem to be always occu[pied.
We'll come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine B, Owner at Brew House On The Grand B&B, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi George,
So sorry for the delayed response, we've been busy getting the patio up and running for the season!
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your great experience.
We'll see you soon.
Cheers!
Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fergus
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Fergus Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Village Inn Elora
0.1 mi away
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
Van Galis Cafe & Inn
#4 of 8 in Fergus
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Riverwood Bed & Breakfast
12.3 mi away
Norfolk Guest House
Norfolk Guest House
#1 of 5 in Guelph
161 reviews
12.8 mi away
Western Hotel & Executive Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brew House On The Grand B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brew House On The Grand B&B

Property: Brew House On The Grand B&B
Address: 170 St David St S, Fergus, Ontario N1M 2L3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Fergus
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fergus
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Brew House On The Grand B&B Fergus, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing