We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH EARLIER, BAD, REVIEWS”
Review of Thai Lemongrass

Thai Lemongrass
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Southborough
Price range: US$23 - US$38
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Tunbridge Wells, England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH EARLIER, BAD, REVIEWS”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I visited the Thai Lemongrass for my wifes birthday, it was a Thursday and like others have mentioned on their visits, it was quiet. Which is surprising as this place is serves wonderful food in a lovely atmosphere. It's also very 'genuine', being owned and run by a Thai husband and wife team who take pride in what they do. As I say the food is superb, delicately flavoured but with the spicy 'hit' you should get with most Thai dishes. The 'wonderful food' claim is also born out by the high number of takeaway meals they sell, it's just a shame more people don't eat in. We also asked the owner why they don't respond to negative comments on Tripadvisor, and they said that as English isn't their first language, they didn't know how to respond. Such a shame as many are unfounded as they relate to the previous owners. Please try this place, you may be surprised. Thanks

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Astronaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    17
    7
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thai Lemongrass”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This restaurant was suggested to us by our daughter and son in law.
Been here several times now with them and friends.
Food is always good and the service is always excellent.
So much better than some of the other so called authentic thai restaurants that we have been to, all heat and no flavour.
This one is the real deal, food is great fresh and flavoursome. Always a pleasure to eat there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and service”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Staying in the area for two nights and came across this restaurant. Saw it had mixed reviews but thought id give it a go. Glad I did as I found the staff to be very welcoming and the Food was beautiful. Staff recognised we had not been there before and had a lovely conversation with us about where we are from.
Price was reasonable for what we had ordered.
There wasnt many other people dining which I would have expected there to have been as it was a friday night. But I can not fault this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beccilou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbride Wells
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Thai Gem”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Some of the best Thai food I've had in the uk and such friendly staff in the family run business. Will become a regular for me and my gf.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

I had a number of meals here with friends and family I found the meals very tasty and ampul portions
I recommend the Thai fish cakes dim sum for starters !!!
As for Maine courses the menu has a wide selection of traditional Thai cuisine using fresh ingredients
The wine list is quite good as well !!
I found the staff helpful and will recommend a special main course if asked and ask how hot or spicy you like your meal

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Lemongrass also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Southborough, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to Thai Lemongrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing