We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK accommodation at lower end of price range” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marion Motel and Apartments

Marion Motel and Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marion Motel and Apartments
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marion
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“OK accommodation at lower end of price range”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

You pay for what you get at the Comfort Inn Marion.
We have stayed at this motel twice now and not been dissappointed either time. However, a word of warning, you get what you pay for. This motel is pretty ok for the price you pay and they do have bigger & better rooms at the higher end of the price range.

Room Tip: Book direct and ask about the room if you expect to get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The location was central, but the room lacked basic services and was run-down. The telephone didn't work, the motel information booklet was missing and the bathroom sink looked very unhygienic due to numerous gouges. Very expensive for shabby accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marion hotels

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

After a long trip from Palmerston North in NZ via Auckland and Melbourne I found the entrance into here confusing with the sign for reception resulting in having to drive around the block again.
The lady on the counter was doing her very best and was pleasant and found a solution when the booking had not come through (despite a booking reference number)
Room was very small and boarded on 'pokey' (the 'desk' being in the cupboard hole with no plug socket near it)
Biggest frustration was no internet. I had to go and sit in the reception area to get internet access (where I then got to hear how the staff had made a mistake booking a client into a non-spa unit, how another person wanted a bigger room without going up the stairs, staff banter and office talk)
That all said the room was clean, the team were doing keen to help and the pool area was lovely. I think if I had been there with my kids this review would be more positive but from business perspective I found it a frustrating 2 days. I am back in two weeks with a room booked with internet access so will see how that all pans out.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 4 rooms above reception as you will then get internet access. Also when parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We have stayed at Comfort Inn on Marion Road a few times now. We choose here because it is a good price and has enough bedding for everyone as their family rooms sleep up to six. It is clean and comfortable although it could do with some freshening up with. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. and also the cleaning staff. The grounds are well kept and having the pool and tennis court provided some entertainment for the kids. The main problem was with the water and also the air conditioning. The water temperature was not what it should be, even after running the hot tap in the shower for 15 minutes the water wasn't even lukewarm and it never did improve. Also it was hot when we stayed and so we needed the air conditioning but it was so loud that it kept everyone awake. This has the potential to be a great motel but it needs maintenance and an overhaul.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

My husband and I travel frequently,and this would be the worst room, and the least helpful staff we have ever met.We checked out after 1 hour of checking in,the walls were so thin we could hear everything said in the rooms around us,there was a gap between the door frame and the wall that enabled us to see outside,the room smelt so bad that my husband was almost ill.We left a cooler pack in freezer and went back to collect it to be told it wasn't there,but on my husbands insistance it was there the pack was found.We sent a letter to the motel regarding these matters to which we got no reply.Room was relet but no refund offered.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
412 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It is in a dingey red light area south of Adelaide on a main road. Strip joints/XXX shops across the road. I thought I was going to get mugged when I arrived at 10.30pm. I felt like I was staying in a set from a horror movie.

I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, with 1 double and 2 single beds. Air conditioner (small one in the wall) did not work, and the fan was very noisy. Double bed very small and uncomfortable (the electric blanket controls were hidden under the sheets and woke me up a few times during the night when I rolled on them).

Bathroom smelt of raw sewerage, even with toilet seat shut. Shower was very good, but that was the only positive in the whole trip.

No wireless internet, only dialup through the phone line! TV has FOX SPORTS and a few other FOXTEL channels, but extremely poor reception (some channels unwatchable) with 2 channels (discovery and FOX Sports 1) not working at all.

Breakfast prices a complete rip off. Hotel staff failed to answer the phone for 30 minutes. I eventually got through after about 10 calls.

No gym on site, you have to pay to use the one nearby. Likewise, no restaurant, Dominos pizza next door.

Broken curtains so sun came in in the morning early.

Location is terrible, far from Adelaide city, long way from the airport and on a major road which is noisy.

I would never stay here again, even for the price. I would only recommend this place for families with many kids because it is cheap.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

Booked in here in the middle of a heatwave - 7 consecutive days above 36 degrees C. Thankfully my room faced south so no direct sun, there was a pool and the air conditioner was fantastic, also a ceiling fan in the bedroom. Not a great part of Adelaide but half way between the city and Glenelg so nice and close to everything. There is a bus outside the front door.

Motel has secure free undercover parking with swipe card access. The spa suite was small-ish, separate bedroom plus a single bed in the lounge, no lounge suite but a table and chairs. Extremely clean however, Foxtel channels included on TV, spa was lovely but seemed quite noisy! Water pressure average but that's an Adelaide problem not the hotel! Also had an outdoor setting on the communal balcony (not private, all rooms come off it).

Kitchen facilities provided including tea & coffee stuff, breakfast available or kettle & toaster provided (although I did think $10 for baked beans on toast was a bit pricey! I had Macca's 5 mins drive away on Anzac Hwy :-)) There is a notice in the bathroom which I thought was good saying if you leave your towels on the floor they will change them, if you hang them up they won't - good way to save water.

Position - great. Cleanliness - great. Room size - so so but they do have various configurations of suites, family rooms etc. Pool & air con - great. Overall a good stay.

There is also a charcoal chicken shop not far down Marion Rd southwards called Captain Chicken which has huge serves, good prices and is obviously very popular with the locals.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skybeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
2.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
2.5 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
2.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Anzac Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marion Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marion Motel and Apartments

Property: Marion Motel and Apartments
Address: 540 Marion Rd, Marion, South Australia 5038, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn on Marion)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Marion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marion Motel and Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Marion Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Marion
Marion Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing