We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took me back in time”

Marion Motel and Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marion Motel and Apartments
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marion
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed here recently as part of a group on a cricket trip. Had an interconnecting room and while it was OK it was simply just out of date. The sink in the en suite was cracked and the microwave did not work. Carpet was grubby and we all were not pleased with the bedding. Would not have stayed here had we had a choice. The only saving grace was the receptionist, Sarah who went out of her way to help with anything.
The rooms were dark and the ground floor windows were screwed shut so you could not open them to get fresh air.
The garden was manicured and was a pleasure to sit in but the pool was dirty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

I spent a week in a Standard room on the ground floor. 1 QS bed and one single. Beds were super comfortable. The bathroom was large with a big shower, good pressure and lots of hot water. No bath.

The staff were more than accommodating with any requests but for things that shouldn't have to be requested, like cleaning the pool, raising the tennis court net, cleaning our room and putting an 'out of order' sign on the washing machine.

We found what could be the best Chinese food ever down the road at Ginling and there is a very handy shopping centre across the road with a butcher, bakery, IGA, hairdresser and fish and chip shop to name a few. Dominos pizzas is right next door also.

I'm not sure if I would stay again.

Pool was great once clean and the BBQ is good too. Lock up car park is a bonus and the garden is beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicknlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I agree that you get what you pay for. At $100 I think it is a bargain! The room was clean and comfortable. Great wall mounted flat-screen TV. Good size work desk. 2 comfy arm chairs and a well stocked fridge of basics. I haven't come across a bargain like this for a while and there is no competition in this area.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank wolfsbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

You pay for what you get at the Comfort Inn Marion.
We have stayed at this motel twice now and not been dissappointed either time. However, a word of warning, you get what you pay for. This motel is pretty ok for the price you pay and they do have bigger & better rooms at the higher end of the price range.

Room Tip: Book direct and ask about the room if you expect to get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The location was central, but the room lacked basic services and was run-down. The telephone didn't work, the motel information booklet was missing and the bathroom sink looked very unhygienic due to numerous gouges. Very expensive for shabby accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

After a long trip from Palmerston North in NZ via Auckland and Melbourne I found the entrance into here confusing with the sign for reception resulting in having to drive around the block again.
The lady on the counter was doing her very best and was pleasant and found a solution when the booking had not come through (despite a booking reference number)
Room was very small and boarded on 'pokey' (the 'desk' being in the cupboard hole with no plug socket near it)
Biggest frustration was no internet. I had to go and sit in the reception area to get internet access (where I then got to hear how the staff had made a mistake booking a client into a non-spa unit, how another person wanted a bigger room without going up the stairs, staff banter and office talk)
That all said the room was clean, the team were doing keen to help and the pool area was lovely. I think if I had been there with my kids this review would be more positive but from business perspective I found it a frustrating 2 days. I am back in two weeks with a room booked with internet access so will see how that all pans out.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 4 rooms above reception as you will then get internet access. Also when parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThinkRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We have stayed at Comfort Inn on Marion Road a few times now. We choose here because it is a good price and has enough bedding for everyone as their family rooms sleep up to six. It is clean and comfortable although it could do with some freshening up with. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. and also the cleaning staff. The grounds are well kept and having the pool and tennis court provided some entertainment for the kids. The main problem was with the water and also the air conditioning. The water temperature was not what it should be, even after running the hot tap in the shower for 15 minutes the water wasn't even lukewarm and it never did improve. Also it was hot when we stayed and so we needed the air conditioning but it was so loud that it kept everyone awake. This has the potential to be a great motel but it needs maintenance and an overhaul.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
2.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
2.5 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
786 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Anzac Highway
2.2 mi away
Tonsley Hotel Motel
Tonsley Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Tonsley
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marion Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marion Motel and Apartments

Address: 540 Marion Rd, Marion, South Australia 5038, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn on Marion)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Marion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marion
Price Range: £74 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marion Motel and Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marion Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Marion
Marion Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing