We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Knipoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knipoch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Knipoch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Forgandenny, Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holiday bliss”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at Knipoch Hotel last week, the weather was glorious, the food out of this world, and the Hotel everything it promised. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, what a wonderful atmosphere there is in the Hotel, we met lots of very interesting people, had a trip to Mull and Iona on a calm sea (a bonus for my husband who does not like boats), and a couple of days just exploring the area.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite, a wonderful bonus of booking online, the rooms were large and airy and very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Knipoch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review on Knipoch Hotel, for which we are very grateful.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and explored the area. We hope to welcome you back to Knipoch Hotel in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    59
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
97
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed in this hotel in early May 2012 with a group of 12 on a bike tour. Hotel and staff were extremely helpful and we enjoyed great food and hospitality. Will definitely return on my next trip. I would recommend this hotel as it is a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biketrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Knipoch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about us. Than you for your nice comment on the staff. your nice review makes our staff feel appreciated. We are glad to hear that the group is planing to come back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Knippoch overlooks Loch Feochan, a few miles south of Oban. It is a friendly family run Country House hotel with extensive classic dark wood panelling, fireplaces, etc in foyer , dining rooms, etc. Food is very good. I have stayed here often in recent years, and like it a lot. Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swimboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed in the Hotel for 4 days (participated in a residential), and had a wonderful time. The staff were extremely helpful, warm and nice. The food was perfect! I would recommend it to friends and colleagues for rest and business type events!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFiserM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knipochhotel, PA at Knipoch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us . We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Knipoch hotel. I have shown your review to all the staff and we all appreciate your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back to Knipoch Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

wow for the food
wow for the service
wow for the experience

will be booking shortly for my wife and i to get away for a couple of days

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonerinScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

A charming old style country hotel..right down to the creaky floors. Warm and cosy with modern luxuries. A wonderful respite after a long journey. The views over the loch are breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller48915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Great old style Scottish hotel with roaring open fires.

Top quality food, rooms overlooking the loch.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knipoch
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
4.7 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,674 reviews
4.1 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
778 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
614 reviews
14.3 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knipoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knipoch Hotel

Property: Knipoch Hotel
Address: Knipoch PA34 4QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Knipoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Knipoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knipoch Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling beside Loch Feochan in Argyll, Scotland, lays Knipoch Hotel (pronounced neepoch -och as in loch). This four star country house hotel is privately owned and run by the Craig family.We opened Knipoch as a hotel in 1981 when the original building was refurbished with the reception, kitchen and bedroom wing being added.Prior to this it was our family home with a history. In 1592, Campbell, Thane of Cawdor was assassinated here at the "house of Knipoch in Lorne".In England as well as Scotland, hotels vary and individually owned hotels each have a personality. At 22 rooms (including suites), Knipoch Hotel is small enough to care for our guests personally, yet large enough to be a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knipoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knipoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing