We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Knipoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knipoch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Knipoch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My partner, my dog and I stayed two nights in this lovely family owned dog friendly hotel. The outside of the hotel looked freshly painted and very beautiful and charming. It over looks the loch. The inside is very beautiful, charming and clean. Our room was large, clean, bright, and had lovely views from the windows. The staff was very friendly. We even met one of the family owners who gave us and our dog a very big welcome. We ate in the restaurant both nights. The food was delicious with different menu dishes each night. I highly recommend the smoked salmon starter. The smoked salmon was absolutely delicious. The breakfast was excellent as well. The hotel is only about 10 minutes drive from Oban. Dogs are not allowed in the restaurant or the bar area but they are allowed in the very large, comfortable and charming reception area where we were able to have our drinks sitting next to the open fire. Lovely stay.

Room Tip: Even if you are not over looking the loch, the views of the garden is very lovely as well and the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnInnVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knipochhotel, Front Office Manager at Knipoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. For the comfort of other guests we do not allow dogs in the bar and restaurant area and we are happy that you were fine with it.

I am also pleased to hear that you found your room comfortable. We remember you fondly and hope that you will visit The Knipoch Hotel in near future.

Kind regards

Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

If you were looking for a place to stay you would probably drive past this hotel. A tad scruffy outside! But don't drive past....once in the entrance you are welcomed by friendly warm staff. The reception rooms are well furnished, extremely clean and comfortable. The rooms are also clean comfy and spacious. Dining...very little choice but that's good. Menu change daily and cooked fresh to order. We had 2 very good nights here. Views were spectacular. Worth a visit..

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knipochhotel, Front Office Manager at Knipoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are most pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay here.

We are in the middle of painting and renovating the exterior of the building, we were hoping to finish this by the beginning of high-season however the weather situation has not been good and has slowed the process.

We use locally sourced fresh ingredients in our kitchen and the shopping is done daily according to the number of guests each day, therefore we keep our menu limited and we change it daily to provide our customers with more variety.

We hope you return to Knipoch Hotel again.

Kind regards

Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in May 2013. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself was clean and welcoming. We had dinner in the hotel and the food was excellent. There wasn't a huge choice, but there was enough to choose from. We both had halibut, and it was cooked beautifully. Unfortunately, it didn't stop raining, which is hardly the fault of the hotel, but it meant that we had limited options after dinner for a walk so we found the location a bit isolated. The bed was not the most comfortable one that we have ever slept in, but the room was bright and clean, with tea and coffee making facilities

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionajoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed at the Knipoch Hotel from 9 March until 11 March for my big birthday. Myself and my husband had a wonderful time.

The hotel has lots of charm and character.

We stayed in a room right opposite the loch. The room was spacious, well kept, nice and clean. The bathroom was also spotless.

Breakfast was plentiful and very nice. We also had a couple of meals at the hotel, including my birthday meal and they were also very, very nice.

The owner was very informative about places to eat and visit.

The weather was also very nice, which added to the charm of Oban.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the loch, the views wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieReddish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We chose the Knipoch because we were visiting the Isle of Seil (a must) and because it is dog friendly. We stayed Bed and Breakfast for one night. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The hotel was very quiet but the room was fine, breakfast excellent, service very good and it WAS dog friendly with some nice walks from the hotel. All in all recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary-with1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were lucky enough to be invited to a wedding that was held at the Knipoch Hotel this weekend. It was a stunning location, the food was just wonderful and the atmosphere of the house was friendly, comfortable and first class. Very attentive staff (who were mostly family ) a beautiful old building, similar to The Manor House Hotel in Oban but much more spacious and with a view to rival any on the West Coast. First Class. Well Done Knipoch.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

we stayed here on our honeymoon we had an excellent time , a lovely family run hotel friendly staff great views over loch feochan not far from oban only 15 mins , food was marvellous peaceful location good rooms and a fine experience to be had i highly recommend hotel to anyone and everyone we will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Knipoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knipoch Hotel

Address: Knipoch PA34 4QT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Knipoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Knipoch
Price Range: £151 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knipoch Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling beside Loch Feochan in Argyll, Scotland, lays Knipoch Hotel (pronounced neepoch -och as in loch). This four star country house hotel is privately owned and run by the Craig family.We opened Knipoch as a hotel in 1981 when the original building was refurbished with the reception, kitchen and bedroom wing being added.Prior to this it was our family home with a history. In 1592, Campbell, Thane of Cawdor was assassinated here at the "house of Knipoch in Lorne".In England as well as Scotland, hotels vary and individually owned hotels each have a personality. At 22 rooms (including suites), Knipoch Hotel is small enough to care for our guests personally, yet large enough to be a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Knipoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knipoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing