We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last - a great take away curry”
Review of Dhan Shiri

Dhan Shiri
Ranked #16 of 41 Restaurants in Brackley
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Very attentive staff, Bangladesh and Indian Cuisine. Been 4 times to this restaurant and never had a bad meal. Highly recommended.
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“At last - a great take away curry”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were recommended to try Dhan Shiri by a friend as we had been complaining about a lack of good curry restaurants in our area. We were thrilled with the curry we tried.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank secretsuppersociety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    24
    6
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Food and Exceptional Service”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Very busy on a Saturday night and somewhat spoiled by a very noisy and inappropriate table next to us but the food was great and well paced service. What made it special was that when we asked them to call us a taxi home, one of their staff ran us back themselves. That's service, thank you!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We visited this restaurant on a Sunday lunch time. We chose it as it is near to where my elderly father lives and we wanted to treat him to some Indian food and to cheer him up. Booking was strange as the chap who took my reservation didn't seem too au fait with what we wanted (a table for Sunday lunch for 8 people) and was even reluctant to take my name! I was worried that we would be turned away but my fears were unfounded. The restaurant was clean and brightly decorated and the food was very good. There was no Sunday buffet, although this advertised on the website. It was not a problem as the food was all reasonably priced and there was a huge choice. Our waiter was extremely amiable and gave my young niece a complimentary ice cream at the end of the meal. Best of all was that there was no piped music or din and my dad was able to hear and to take part in the conversation!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bea_K186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Changed”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Have used this restaurant many times and left a very good review a couple of years ago. Felt like the standard has dropped over last couple of visits and this evening felt disappointed with our meal. The starters were not presented well and the onion bhaji was very over cooked! A quite evening in the restaurant but rather than a feeling of attentive service it was more a feeling of can't be bothered by the waiting staff. Feels like a change in chef has led to a drop in quality and overall a different feel to the place. May try others in town now.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tjg_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Takeaways are quicker than eating in”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have been to this curry house on numerous occasions, and have always really enjoyed the food and the service. However, we have noticed lately that the wait for your food that you have ordered is taking a considerably longer time that it used to! We sat in there last Friday evening and watched 8 people come and go collecting their takeaways whilst having a drink during their wait, and we were left waiting to have our main course. The restaurant seems to pay more attention to the takeaway service than people making the effort to go out for the evening and spending more money with them. The food is still really nice and the staff are too, but the waiting around that we have experienced the last couple of times has put us off, so we may leave it a while before returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brucey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dhan Shiri also viewed

Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Dhan Shiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing