We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere”
Review of The Green Room

The Green Room
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Brackley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a very pleasant couple of hours enjoying lunch. Initial service at the table was slow but once our order had been taken was very good and the food was excellent. Will definitely be back again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    72
    27
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely lunch at The Green Room”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had a lovely lunch today at the Green Room. Delicous warm roasted vegetable and hummus sandwich with thick cut granary bread and a great pot of tea. Lovely relaxed atmosphere and friendly service. The cakes looked good too - must go back for afternoon tea one day. Just what Brackley needed. Well done!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 749Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trying to support local business but......”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just had second visit. First visit was okish as we ordered ourselves from the counter and it wasn't too busy. However, the female owner who was on t floor at the time didn't acknowledge us and seemed too busy tidying up t papers immediately as we left, a smile at least would have been nice!

Went back today, could tell it was busy so wanted to order from the counter when we arrived, but told to sit down and would take our order. This was ok, but took ages for anyone to come over. Lots of staff walking past but not really knowing who was doing what.

Don't sit in the snug unless you want to hear the stress from the kitchen. Someone asked for a bacon sandwich, but they had run out - why didn't one of the many staff just run over to the butchers or Waitrose?

The owner rushed in as we were paying, and seemed to glare at me as I tried to attract her attention simply to get an acknowledgement. She was there too late for the brunch/lunch rush, leaving a poor group of young people to fend for themselves.

Will give it one more go in a couple of weeks

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tea and cake here is not to be missed!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have been to the Green Room twice since it opened and each time I have loved it. I haven't eaten there apart from cake (which have all been delicious and made in Brackley) so I can't comment on the lunches or breakfasts. I've also only had tea so can't comment on cold drinks or coffee.

The tea was served in a gorgeous cup and saucer (and even lovelier teapot when it was for more than one). The decor is vintage, pretty and clean - very pleasant.

Always experienced friendly service and I get the feeling the the owners are really taking people's comments on board and working to make this place perfect.

I will definitely be going in again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lully1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Customer expectation was high but quickly dashed!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

First visit - utter shambles, no polite customer service, food didn't arrive, no apology, no management leadership, staff didn't seem to understand their own roles! Put the chronic service down to just opening, finding their feet! Unfortunately, pretty much the same experience the second and third visits, wrong food arrived, tea cake burnt, chocolate cold, no smile, no good customer service skills evident. Insufficient covers, in my opinion layout of tea room all wrong! Service should flow both behind the counter and front of house. This business comes across as a hobby trying to go commercial but the experience element is missing. We won't be returned even though we do our best to support 'local'! What a shame, it looks wonderful from outside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunnygirl1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Room also viewed

Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Green Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing